Backup Copy: Initial copy did not complete

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Backup Copy: Initial copy did not complete

Veeam Logoby infused » Mon Feb 20, 2017 8:21 pm

I randomly seem to be getting this on some jobs:

Code: Select all
Initial copy did not complete, and will resume on the next copy interval


I'm assuming a copy is not made for this period and will complete next time. What I'm not sure about is why this happens (no other jobs running). The backup job is at 12am, copy job at 4am, but it's set as continuous.

Any ideas?
http://www.infused.co.nz - My Blog.
infused
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 91
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2013 9:25 am
Full Name: Hayden Kirk

Re: Backup Copy: Initial copy did not complete

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Tue Feb 21, 2017 6:19 am

Hi,
What is your backup copy interval and start time? If you edit the job, you should be able to see that at the JOB tab of the wizard at the bottom (see here for example: https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... tml?ver=95)

Thanks
Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3089
Liked: 359 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Backup Copy: Initial copy did not complete

Veeam Logoby infused » Tue Feb 21, 2017 11:45 pm

Copy every 1 day @ 4am
http://www.infused.co.nz - My Blog.
infused
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 91
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2013 9:25 am
Full Name: Hayden Kirk

Re: Backup Copy: Initial copy did not complete

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Wed Feb 22, 2017 7:08 am

I assume that the backup copy job does not complete in the interval and therefore fails. If it is the first one, then this is sometimes expected and we advice people to set the interval to a longer period and then change it back. If it is not the first one, then there might be other problems.

Can you confirm it is not the first one? If so, please log a support call so our engineers can (hopefully) find where the bottleneck is. Post the case ID here and the follow-up after that also

Thanks
Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3089
Liked: 359 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Backup Copy: Initial copy did not complete

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Feb 22, 2017 11:07 am

Any ideas?

The specified interval is not enough for a backup copy job to finish processing. It might be a good idea to start with investigating bottleneck statistics to find the weakest spot in your deployment.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13075
Liked: 949 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 11 guests