Backup Copy Job Stacking

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Backup Copy Job Stacking

Veeam Logoby rleon » Thu Jun 15, 2017 8:22 am

Hi all,

I would like to know if it is possible to design a layered/stacked Backup Copy Job workflow?
First of all, I understand that I can create 2 additional copies of a backup like this:
BackupJob1->RepoA
BackupCopyJob1: Source=RepoA, Target=RepoB
BackupCopyJob2: Source=RepoA, Target=RepoC

However, I do not want traffic to have to come out from RepoA twice.
Is it possible to design the data path such that RepoC could get its copy from RepoB?
E.g.:
BackupJob1->RepoA
BackupCopyJob1: Source=RepoA, Target=RepoB
BackupCopyJob2: Source=RepoB, Target=RepoC

If possible, then now many layers could this go? (E.g., BackupCopyJob3: Source=RepoC, Target=RepoD... and so on)

Thanks in advance.

RLeon
rleon
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2017 8:10 am
Full Name: RLeon

Re: Backup Copy Job Stacking

Veeam Logoby PTide » Thu Jun 15, 2017 3:40 pm

Hi,

First of all, may I ask you how are you going to use the second copy of your backup chain? Do you want to keep it for long-term archiving purpose, or something else?

Thank you
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3079
Liked: 252 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Backup Copy Job Stacking

Veeam Logoby rleon » Thu Jun 15, 2017 11:26 pm

Hi PTide,
The 2nd copy will likely be given a longer retention.
Another reason for wanting to do this is the need to have multiple copies of the same backups at different geographical locations.
Some of our customers do this with their other backup software.
Back to the main question, can jobs be layered/stacked in the way described in the opening post?

Thanks for your help.

RLeon
rleon
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2017 8:10 am
Full Name: RLeon

Re: Backup Copy Job Stacking

Veeam Logoby PTide » Fri Jun 16, 2017 9:56 am 1 person likes this post

The 2nd copy will likely be given a longer retention.
That's what we have GFS retention for. If you want to keep incrementals as well then you should either stick with File Copy Job or use some custom post-job scripts to copy the chain offsite and update it every time the job is finished.

Back to the main question, can jobs be layered/stacked in the way described in the opening post?
However there is a workaround provided by Tom:

Tom Sightler wrote:Backup Job is configured to backup to Repo1

Backup Copy Job 1 is configured to use Backup Job as selected object (I don't think this matters could use Infrastructure, Job, or Backup to select the objects), and then the "Source" button is used select only "Repo1" as the source repo. The job copies restore point from "Repo1" to "Repo2".

Backup Copy Job 2 is configured to use Backup Job as selected object just like BCJ1 (once again, don't think this matters), and then "Source" button is used to select only "Repo2" as the source repo. This job copies the points from "Repo2" to "Repo3".

This configured seems to work in light testing, so I think the question is whether there are any issues that might be a problem with this configuration.


Thank you
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3079
Liked: 252 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Backup Copy Job Stacking

Veeam Logoby rleon » Fri Jun 16, 2017 10:04 am

Seems that the key is to use the "Source" button to pick a specific repository.
Looks like the plan would work. (Still need to test it eventually.)
Thanks!
rleon
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2017 8:10 am
Full Name: RLeon


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests