Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Steve1978M
Influencer
Liked: never
Full Name: Steven Milne

Backup Destinations in 2021 NAS or other

Post by Steve1978M »

Hello all,

I am relatively new to Veeam. been using it for about 3 months. in short... What type of device do you backup to? particularly in VMware.

In Long..
I have a 3 host environment with around 10Tb used space, I have around 150Gb of transferring data per day, and it takes under 30 minutes. My servers and my SAN are 10 GBE connected to a pair of switches and I also a 2x 4 bay QNAP TS-1277XU NAS drives with 4 12 tb drives in Raid 5 giving 36TB usable.

I am getting a new SAN and I have a bit of budget left over for a new backup destination. My current ones don't really give me the RPO that i am after so looking for something with more space. When i backup the bottleneck is always the Destination (NAS). So this got me thinking, should i just get another NAS, one with some NVMe Caching... or should i do something else?

How would you design this?

Thanks
HannesK
Product Manager
Liked: 2890 times
Full Name: Hannes Kasparick

Re: Backup Destinations in 2021 NAS or other

Post by HannesK »

Hello,
the recommendation is a server with internal disks and a proper RAID controller (with write cache & battery). By doing that, you can use REFS with block-cloning which is impossible on NAS (or unsupported).

Consumer NAS systems (like the one you mentioned) are the number one reason in Veeam support for data loss.

Best regards,
Hannes
Steve1978M
Influencer

Post by Steve1978M »

Ok thanks, that gives me some reading material. As I use VMware, I use Veeam installed with repository servers, one on each host.

Does it matter what spec the destination server is? as I think I am going to require around 50 TB of usable disk space do you have any pointers in what to look for in regards to disk shelf, any must have items?

Would something like a QSAN be sufficient?
HannesK
Product Manager

Post by HannesK »