Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Freekr
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Freek Rubens

Backup fileserver 4TB - best practise?

Post by Freekr »

Hello Guys,

I'm new to Veeam since this year, and from what i've seen so far i love it!
I'm not sure about the backup job i've setup for our vm file server containing about 4TB of data and growing.
I've setup an incremental job with 20 restore points and enabled the 'Synthetic full backup' every sunday. So every week i have a full backup file. The problem i experience is that the synthetic full backup runs for about 3 days... Not ideal.
This triggered me to reevalutatie the strategie and i would like to gain some advise on what is best practice for a larger fileserver.
I also would like to backup to tape mayby once a month so from what i've read a reversed incremental backup is not the best choice. What are my options here?

Many thanks for any advice.

Best regards,
F
Vitaliy S.
VP, Product Management
Liked: 2719 times
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Backup fileserver 4TB - best practise?

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hello Freek,

What is your backup storage? If it is a dedupe device, you may consider running active full backup instead of creating the VBK file synthetically. As regards the backup to tape job, then if you just need one restore point on tapes once a month, then reversed incremental backup mode can also be used.

Thank you!
foggy
Veeam Software
Liked: 2115 times
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Post by foggy » 1 person likes this post

Freek, could you please tell us a bit about your target storage and how do you add it to Veeam B&R console as a repository? Probably it is not capable of the double I/O load that synthetic activity puts on it.