Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
vanderfield
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 28, 2010 3:44 am
Full Name: John Vandersee
Contact:

Backup or Replication or both

Post by vanderfield » Aug 16, 2010 3:46 am

Noob question,

What is the significance of performing a backup if you have replication or vice versa? Would a backup only or replication only be sufficient? Please educate me.

Alexey D.

Re: Backup or Replication or both

Post by Alexey D. » Aug 16, 2010 10:52 am

Hello John,

These topics might be useful to answer your question: Backup vs. Replication Scheme? and Backup or Replicate. Hope this helps!

slidek9
Enthusiast
Posts: 44
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 20, 2010 5:00 pm
Full Name: Leon
Contact:

Re: Backup or Replication or both

Post by slidek9 » Aug 16, 2010 10:53 am

Replication is to a DR site for DR. Backups are for restoring.

Crossing the two does not work well:
If you Backup the Backup server to the DR site you will get in trouble as the Incremental backups do not 'clean up' files that are deleted from the source servers. You will need to do a Full backup to get rid of obsolete files from the VKB file, this of course means that the backup of the backup machine will also be reset and crate lots of traffic of the DR link.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22771
Liked: 1520 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Backup or Replication or both

Post by Vitaliy S. » Aug 16, 2010 11:09 am

Actually, I wouldn't recommend to backup the backup server at all, I would just use a remote SQL Server or backup SQL configurations DB only using SQL native methods for DR purposes.

ToastedTech
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 23, 2013 6:48 pm

[MERGED] : Backup or Replicate

Post by ToastedTech » Feb 07, 2013 8:10 am

Hi All,

I'm new to Virtualization so please bear with me.

I'm trying to decide when to backup and when to replicate?

The company I work for has vSphere 5 and Veeam 6.5, I am currently running backups locally to two sites and replicating over the WAN. The replication has had to be significantly reduced due to (I think) slow storage (DAS) on each site. There was initially only one proxy server at the head office which I have now increased to three, two at the head office and one at the branch office.

The environment is mainly Microsoft with some Linux servers.

What I would really like to know is:

Do you backup or replicate a VMs?
Do you backup and replicate VMs?
Is backing up locally and replicating over the WAN the right way?
What is the best practice for the preferred method?

Thanks in advance.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16691
Liked: 1393 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Backup or Replication or both

Post by veremin » Feb 07, 2013 9:10 am 1 person likes this post

Whenever the discussion about best backup practice arises, one should always keep the following 3-2-1-0 rule in mind:

3 Copies
2 Different Media
1 different location
0 error at restore checks

As to your questions, many of our customers successfully report having replication over WAN as the means of protecting the most crucial VMs, which also guarantees minimal RTO in DR situation, and having local backup for other generic machines.

In case of remote replication, it’s strongly recommended to have one Veeam proxy running in the production site (closer to the source host), and another one in the remote DR site (closer to the target host). With a proxy server set up on the target side, the data will cross the WAN compressed and will be uncompressed by the target proxy.

For more information it might be worth reviewing posts provided above along with the topics they’re referring to.

Hope this helps.
Thanks.

ToastedTech
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 23, 2013 6:48 pm

Re: Backup or Replication or both

Post by ToastedTech » Feb 07, 2013 9:25 am

Many thanks for the reply, this was exactly what I was looking for.

jbarrow.viracoribt
Expert
Posts: 184
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Feb 15, 2013 9:31 pm
Full Name: Jonathan Barrow
Contact:

[MERGED] Can replicas replace your backups?

Post by jbarrow.viracoribt » Feb 26, 2013 3:28 pm

I'm just wondering. Do you really need backups if you're replicating? What are the pro's and con's?

kjc3303
Expert
Posts: 167
Liked: 24 times
Joined: Dec 02, 2010 12:25 pm
Full Name: Kevin Clarke
Location: Cheshire
Contact:

Re: Backup or Replication or both

Post by kjc3303 » Feb 26, 2013 4:56 pm 1 person likes this post

Maximum restore points on replicas is 28 so not great for long term backup
Replicas are stored as full VM's so not great on storage
No Surebackup facility


Here is a quick summary from Mr Gostev :)

Replication = low RTO.
Comes at a price of lower performance, and high storage usage (uncompressed images).
Target can only be another ESX(i) server (standby or production).

Backup = high RTO.
Provides better performance, and low storage usage (up to 10x less than replication due to compression and dedupe).
Target is any storage device, including tape (D2D2T).

mrmicp
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 10, 2013 9:05 am
Full Name: Michael Price
Contact:

[MERGED] Backup rather than replicate???

Post by mrmicp » Jul 02, 2013 3:43 pm

Hi,

If I have a VM that I only need to keep one months worth of backups for is there any reason why I would choose to backup rather than replicate once a day?

Many Thanks

kjc3303
Expert
Posts: 167
Liked: 24 times
Joined: Dec 02, 2010 12:25 pm
Full Name: Kevin Clarke
Location: Cheshire
Contact:

Re: Backup rather than replicate???

Post by kjc3303 » Jul 02, 2013 3:50 pm

Disk Space is one

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18029
Liked: 1533 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Backup or Replication or both

Post by foggy » Jul 02, 2013 3:53 pm

Michael, please review the topic you've been merged into for considerations regarding backup and replication. If you have any additional questions, feel free to ask.

nefes
Veeam Software
Posts: 623
Liked: 155 times
Joined: Dec 10, 2012 8:44 am
Full Name: Nikita Efes
Contact:

Re: Backup or Replication or both

Post by nefes » Jul 02, 2013 3:55 pm

You can also review this article from Veeam Blog: http://www.veeam.com/blog/replication-b ... -both.html

mrmicp
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 10, 2013 9:05 am
Full Name: Michael Price
Contact:

Re: Backup or Replication or both

Post by mrmicp » Jul 02, 2013 4:09 pm

Hi,

Thanks for the links :) We have a windows storage server with about 10 TB of storage which we use for backup and we have a separate host running esxi that's used for our replicated VM's so storage space isn't really an issue for our small sized company.

I believe to do a granular restore of say an email on an exchange server I can only do that from a backup and that's a reason to do a backup as well as being able to keep months of backups. But for a basic application server that really only requires a month of restore points (maximum) and we are replicating once a day to a standby host anyway I can't see a reason to also backup..... The surebackup isn't really an issue as I can bring the replicas online in a segregated network to test.

Thanks

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22771
Liked: 1520 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Backup or Replication or both

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jul 02, 2013 10:04 pm

Hi Michael,
mrmicp wrote:I believe to do a granular restore of say an email on an exchange server I can only do that from a backup and that's a reason to do a backup as well as being able to keep months of backups.
Actually you can run our Exchange and SharePoint Explorers against any offline database, so it doesn't matter whether it's backup, replica or just database files.

Thank you!

mrmicp
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 10, 2013 9:05 am
Full Name: Michael Price
Contact:

Re: Backup or Replication or both

Post by mrmicp » Jul 03, 2013 7:34 am

You can tell I'm new to veeam :) I have a lot of reading ahead and appreciate the information given.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16691
Liked: 1393 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Backup or Replication or both

Post by veremin » Jul 03, 2013 8:20 am

I believe to do a granular restore
Apart from application specific files, you can also restore whatever guest file you want to from replica VMs:

Go to the “Replicas” node -> Right-click required VM -> Restore Guest Files.

Thanks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dannyallan, Google [Bot], JamesNT, jtorres, nmdange and 36 guests