Backup size larger than

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

[MERGED] deduped VM backup size numbers not adding up

Veeam Logoby aharvey » Fri Oct 11, 2013 6:18 pm

I am misunderstanding or overlooking something on my Veeam backups, but either way, could use some help. Here is the situation. I have a Server 2012 VM that is our main file server. It has 3 local volumes on 3 vmdk files. C: is the OS, J: and K: are 2 data drives that have 2012 data deduplication enabled on them. Here are the numbers from the OS:

DriveSize/Used Space /Dedup Savings
C:50 GB /15 GB /N/A
J:500 GB /167 GB /42 GB
K:750 GB /497 GB /119 GB

Totals1.3 TB /679 GB /161 GB

I ran a Veeam full backup of the server with in-line data deduplication enabled. The Job details show the VM size: 1.3 TB (1.0 TB used). I'm not sure where it is getting the 1.0 TB used value?

The main issue is, the backup file (.vbk) is 987 GB. Here are the numbers from the job:
Hard Disk 1 (50.0 GB) 17.1 GB read
Hard Disk 2 (500.0 GB) 323.1 GB read
Hard Disk 3 (750.0 GB) 723.1 GB read

Processed: 1.0 TB (100%)
Read: 1.0 TB
Transferred: 986.7 GB

Even if the backup re-hydrated the files before backing up (I don't think it is designed that way) that is only 840 GB of uncompressed raw data. How can the backup file be 147 GB larger than the raw data. I know there are vmx files etc. backed up, but those take up minimal space. How is the data read from each hard disk greater (by far) than the amount of data on the disk (whether you factor in deduplication or not)?

I would expect the vbk file to be close to 679 GB, or perhaps even a bit smaller with in-line dedup/compression enabled for the job.

Can someone help shed some light on what's happening here?

Thanks
aharvey
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 2:47 pm
Full Name: Aaron Harvey

Re: Backup size larger than

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Oct 11, 2013 8:19 pm

Aaron,

Most likely you had some data written to these disks before and this made VMware CBT treat these blocks as blocks containing data. Please see this topic for more info on the observed behavior.

Let me know if that helps!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21163
Liked: 1259 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Backup size larger than

Veeam Logoby rct » Mon Oct 14, 2013 12:55 pm

See this topic: http://www.mylesgray.com/infrastructure ... oned-vmdk/ (if you just sdelete your volumes the vmdk will be full-sized but the deduplicated backup will be smaller)

I've done the "same" on my linux box and using dedup&compression in veeam my backup size dropped of 1.5TB!!!
rct
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 35
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 6:07 pm

[MERGED] : Backup Size bigger than actual size of disks

Veeam Logoby Elefanten » Wed Oct 16, 2013 7:00 am

Hello

My goal is to do a backup job from China to Norway over a 0.5Mbit line with accelerator usage.

I am setting up New Backup Copy Job and to my surprise when i choose the virtual machine its size is 473 GB when the VM has total 2 VM disk (OS 40GB and Data 200 GB).
But OS disk has only used 14GB and Data 63 GB.

I know there is something about sdelete, but this makes me nervous to use ?
Question.
How do i safely use sdelete if this can solve it ?
what is the difference on c and z switches ?

Regards
Elefanten
Elefanten
Influencer
 
Posts: 19
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 10:56 am

Re: Backup size larger than

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Oct 16, 2013 7:09 am

what is the difference on c and z switches ?

It depends on sdelete version. In sDelete 1.6 (and newer):

Code: Select all
-z Zero free space
-c Clean free space


Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14812
Liked: 1113 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

[MERGED] Windows Server 2012 R2 Deduplicated VM and volume o

Veeam Logoby jgl75 » Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:48 pm

Hello !

I've recently setup a new infrastructure with the following :

- 1 ESXi 5.5 Host with a 7To local datastore (ML350 Gen 8 with 8*1.2To SAS in RAID5)
- 2 VMs with 3To of of provisioned HDD space.

Both VM are Windows Server 2012 R2 with deduplication activated.
The deduplication rate seems good (47 & 35%) and I've seen massive delta backup when de dedup process occurred (which seems normal to me).

Here's my question :

Should the first active full backup size (after dedupe) reflect the real size used on the VMDK ?
I've 1.4To of free space on the first server and my backup file size for this server is 2.33To (while used space should be around 1.6To without talking about compression)...

My problem is that I'm writing my backup files on tape (LTO6) every week and I'm afraid that the backup file size will grow above 2.5To at some point...
My compression is set to High already.

Thanks in advance for your help !

Jean
jgl75
Influencer
 
Posts: 22
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 6:23 am

Re: Backup size larger than

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Jan 28, 2014 2:02 pm 1 person likes this post

jgl75 wrote:Should the first active full backup size (after dedupe) reflect the real size used on the VMDK ?

Used by VMDK (not reported as used by the guest OS but effectively used on VMFS storage), since Veeam B&R is an image-based block-level solution.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 16291
Liked: 1302 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Backup size larger than

Veeam Logoby jgl75 » Tue Jan 28, 2014 2:10 pm

Thanks Foggy for always giving a very fast answer !

I was not searching in the right direction (on the forums), sorry...
jgl75
Influencer
 
Posts: 22
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 6:23 am

[MERGED] strange backup size

Veeam Logoby avrham_g » Tue Mar 18, 2014 10:31 am

hi,
i use B&R 7.0.0.833
i backup SBS2008 with reversed incremental the total used space on the SBS for C and D drive are 576GB.
why when i run the first full backup of the SBS the VBK file is 716GB?

THX
avrham_g
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 34
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 9:41 pm
Full Name: Avi

Re: Backup size larger than

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Mar 18, 2014 10:35 am

Please review the thread above, should answer your question. Thanks.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 16291
Liked: 1302 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

[MERGED] Difference disk size

Veeam Logoby acrismatic » Wed Sep 09, 2015 11:15 am

Hi all,

I have a question about how Veeam works with Exchange.
We have a 7.75 TB Volume for the backup jobs of Exchange. This volume is added as iSCSi target to a w2008R2 server. When I check the used and free space on this volume under windows, I can see:
used space: 1.79 TB
free space: 5.95 TB

But when I check the same on our Synolgy disk station we have a significative difference:
used space: 3.89 TB
free space: 3.9 TB

Do you know what is happening? Why we have under 2TB of difference?

In other Volumes where we keep other VM's backup, free and used space are correct on windows and on disk station.

Thanks in advance.
acrismatic
Influencer
 
Posts: 13
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 12:51 pm

Re: Backup size larger than

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Sep 09, 2015 11:34 am

Please review the thread above. Remember that NTFS does not zero out disk blocks when file is deleted, but rather just marks them empty (though they still contain data and are backed up by image-level solutions). You need to use sdelete or similar tools to really turn unused disk space into white space.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 16291
Liked: 1302 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

[MERGED] Backup technique

Veeam Logoby jamerson » Tue Oct 27, 2015 11:54 am

Dear all,
i have a questions regarding disk size and backup size.

i have 1TB disk lazy zero on VMWARE, on the disk i have 200GB data.
every backup dat VEEAM does, its backup 1TB.
is it possible to escape the empty storage and backup just the 200GB data ?

thank you
jamerson
Expert
 
Posts: 277
Liked: 17 times
Joined: Wed May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien

Re: Backup size larger than

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Oct 27, 2015 12:03 pm

Julien, have you tried to zero the free space inside guest OS?
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 16291
Liked: 1302 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Backup size larger than

Veeam Logoby jamerson » Tue Oct 27, 2015 1:13 pm

foggy wrote:Julien, have you tried to zero the free space inside guest OS?

do you mean on my File server ? how i am supposed to do that ?
jamerson
Expert
 
Posts: 277
Liked: 17 times
Joined: Wed May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien

PreviousNext

Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: PTide, sys-adm and 76 guests