Availability for the Always-On Enterprise
Post Reply
Regnor
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 241
Liked: 53 times
Joined: Jan 31, 2011 11:17 am
Contact:

Re: Backups to Synology NAS

Post by Regnor » Nov 12, 2015 1:06 pm

Good news from Synology:
They did setup Veeam with a Synology NAS and NFS transport mode and were able to successfully backup a VM.
Now the bad news is, that there's an incompability with the ARM based models as the Veeam perl script is loading a x86 binary.

So x86 yeah, ARM no...

geordi
Influencer
Posts: 18
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Sep 06, 2011 10:20 am
Full Name: Michael Berger
Contact:

[MERGED] : Design question regarding Synology NAS backup tar

Post by geordi » Apr 04, 2016 7:59 am

Hi together

At the moment we are using Synology NAS boxes for storing our backups via CIFS.
As mentioned by Gostev in his Digest, there is a way to directly run the data mover on this boxes. Is there anybody out there who can give me some hints regarding that?

Currently we have to deal with the situation that our synthetic full backups are taking some time due to the fact that we are using CIFS where all the traffic is going over LAN from the backup proxy.
What needs to be done to run that directly on the Synology NAS?

Regards,
Michael

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15209
Liked: 1146 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Backups to Synology NAS

Post by v.Eremin » Apr 04, 2016 10:05 am

Hi, Michael,

Your post has been merged into existing discussion, so, kindly, check the answers provided above.

Thanks.

pdath
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jul 13, 2016 12:40 am
Full Name: Philip D'Ath
Contact:

[MERGED] How to configure Synology RS815+ as a Veeam Proxy

Post by pdath » Jul 13, 2016 12:52 am 2 people like this post

I have recently been configuring a Synology RS815+ as a "Linux Repository" for Veeam. I found considerable information on Google that advised on doing a lot of things, especially making edits to the config onboard the NAS - that are completely unneeded.

To get it going this is all I had to do. From the Synology NAS web interface:
* Control Panel/Terminal & SNMP: Enable SSH
* Click on "Advanced Settings" and change the cipher strength to "Low" (Veeam doesn't support even the medium strength ciphers).
* Control Panel/File Services/FTP: Enable sFTP.
* Control Panel/User/Advanced: Enable the user home service.
* Control Panel/Shared Folder. Create a shared folder and grant "admin" access to it.
* Package Centre: Search for Perl. It will be listed under "Third Party". Click install.

Then in Veeam when you add the NAS, specify the IP address, tell it to login with the "admin" account. DO NOT select to use an elevated account, use sudo, or anything else. The "admin" account has access to everything it needs without any extra permissions.

Make sure when you select the directory in Veeam you select the same directory you created under "Control Panel/File Services" - the one that you granted "admin" access to.


Voila, everything is now working.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16932
Liked: 1377 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Backups to Synology NAS

Post by foggy » Jul 13, 2016 10:12 am

Philip, thanks for sharing, much appreciated! However, I admit this could depend on the device model/firmware, so might not be a solution applicable for all cases.

NightBird
Service Provider
Posts: 158
Liked: 21 times
Joined: Apr 28, 2009 8:33 am
Location: Strasbourg, FRANCE
Contact:

Re: Backups to Synology NAS

Post by NightBird » Jul 14, 2016 10:09 am

A backup repository need 4GB of ram plus 4GB per concurrent job.

How do you meet this minimum requirement with this kind of nas ?

pdath
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jul 13, 2016 12:40 am
Full Name: Philip D'Ath
Contact:

Re: Backups to Synology NAS

Post by pdath » Jul 17, 2016 9:31 pm

The RS815+ comes with 2GB of RAM. I bought an extra 4GB of Kingston memory for $25, taking it to 6GB. I only tested it with 6GB of RAM installed. Because maxing out the RAM only cost $25 it seemed crazy not to max it out straight away.

pdath
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jul 13, 2016 12:40 am
Full Name: Philip D'Ath
Contact:

Re: Backups to Synology NAS

Post by pdath » Jul 17, 2016 9:32 pm

foggy wrote:Philip, thanks for sharing, much appreciated! However, I admit this could depend on the device model/firmware, so might not be a solution applicable for all cases.
I think as long as you are running an x86 version and have an up to date DSM I don't see why it wouldn't work.

ITP-Stan
Service Provider
Posts: 88
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Feb 18, 2013 10:45 am
Full Name: Stan (IF-IT4U)
Contact:

Re: Backups to Synology NAS

Post by ITP-Stan » Jul 18, 2016 7:26 am

Lots of the 2bay and 4bay Synology devices are ARM models.
The RAM requirement described is for backup proxy, that's not the same as backup data mover.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16932
Liked: 1377 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Backups to Synology NAS

Post by foggy » Jul 18, 2016 12:09 pm 1 person likes this post


B.F.
Expert
Posts: 139
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Jan 28, 2014 5:41 pm
Contact:

Re: Backups to Synology NAS

Post by B.F. » Jul 26, 2016 2:41 pm

We are also looking at Synology as a way to store VM backups offsite. I am a little confused by some of the terminology on this thread and was hoping for clarification. Data Mover I've seen in reference to Exagrid and also the Data Mover Service that is installed on the Veeam server and Veeam proxies. If the offsite location already has a proxy, would this "Data Mover" still need to be installed on Synology?

Is Synology even a good solution for offsite backups?

If it is, what models are recommended? It seems that being able to setup the Synology as a Linux Repository is the best method?

Thanks for the info!

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16932
Liked: 1377 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Backups to Synology NAS

Post by foggy » Jul 26, 2016 3:55 pm

Depending on the repository type used, data mover is installed either on the Synology itself (Linux repository, preferred) or the proxy/gateway server connected to it (CIFS/NFS).

B.F.
Expert
Posts: 139
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Jan 28, 2014 5:41 pm
Contact:

Re: Backups to Synology NAS

Post by B.F. » Jul 26, 2016 8:11 pm

Based on your response on the memory requirements, RS815+ is not a good choice as a Linux Repository?

Zew
Expert
Posts: 206
Liked: 42 times
Joined: Mar 17, 2015 9:50 pm
Full Name: Aemilianus Kehler
Contact:

Re: Backups to Synology NAS

Post by Zew » Jul 26, 2016 8:39 pm

Just to note to others I've been using a Synology NAS for a cold site backup repo for a while. Works great.

HOWEVER, I do not directly manage the NAS as a managed server as Veeam sees it. instead I created a VM at my cold site to run Debian, (adjustable memory and other great VM stuff), with a NFS based connection from it to my NAS.

(Work) (Cold Site)
[SSH] --------------------------------------------------------------[SSH] [NFS] --------------------------------------[NFS]
Veeam ----(fw)---- (IP sec tunnel) ------(fw)-------- Debian managed server ----------[NFS]----------- Synolgy NAS

I haven't had a issue, besides once when I realized I provided to little RAM to my managed server (Debian) since its a VM I upped it easy enough.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16932
Liked: 1377 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Backups to Synology NAS

Post by foggy » Jul 27, 2016 11:50 am

B.F. wrote:Based on your response on the memory requirements, RS815+ is not a good choice as a Linux Repository?
Correct, the approach described in the post above is more preferred in this case.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: yowmemperor and 57 guests