Can I backup the vCenter server?

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Can I backup the vCenter server?

Veeam Logoby icebun » Fri Jun 25, 2010 8:23 am

Just wanted to know if I can use veeam to backup the vCenter server itself?

If so what is the recommended method SAN, vStorage API etc.

Thanks.
icebun
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 50
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2009 2:19 pm

Re: Can I backup the vCenter server?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Jun 25, 2010 8:31 am

Hi,

In order to backup vCenter running in a VM, you need to add ESX host running this VM as standalone host to Veeam Backup (using IP address), and backup this VM with a separate job.

Additionally, please search the forums and review the discussions in the existing topics about backing up vCenter. Here is one of them:
http://www.veeam.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=3118&start=0&hilit=backup+vss+virtual+center

I will lock the thread to avoid duplicates.

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 20106
Liked: 1160 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Can I backup the vCenter server?

Veeam Logoby mensa » Fri Nov 03, 2017 5:19 pm

Hello,

as the last post is from 2010 I am asking: Is this still the recommended and only way to backup the vCenter VM?
mensa
Influencer
 
Posts: 16
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2017 3:10 pm

Re: Can I backup the vCenter server?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Nov 03, 2017 8:53 pm

Not really ;) You can backup vCenter Server VM without using this trick. Are you using the appliance or Windows box that hosts your vCenter Server?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 20106
Liked: 1160 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Can I backup the vCenter server?

Veeam Logoby mensa » Sun Nov 05, 2017 10:16 pm

I am using the appliance (VM on the same ESXi where also Veeam Backup & Replication is running in a VM).

So can I just add the vCenter VM (and maybe also Veeam VM) into my backup job and everything is fine? Or isn't that a good idea?
mensa
Influencer
 
Posts: 16
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2017 3:10 pm

Re: Can I backup the vCenter server?

Veeam Logoby paulkean » Sun Nov 05, 2017 11:55 pm

I have two copies of VEEAM v9 on different ESXi hosts. In one case VEEAM co-exists with vCenter (and vSphere) on Win2008. In the other case it co-exists only with vSphere. VMware is v6

Can I replicate/backup the VEEAM/vCenter VM via the VEEAM on the other ESXi host and vice versa
paulkean
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 11:45 pm
Full Name: Paul Kean

Re: Can I backup the vCenter server?

Veeam Logoby vClintWyckoff » Mon Nov 06, 2017 4:00 am

There's quite a bit of documentation on the Veeam site for protecting the VCSA Appliance:

1.) Veeam KB 2328
2.) Veeam Technical Whitepaper (August 2017)

In short, it is possible and really very easy. I am going to assume you're using the local Platform Services Controller (PSC) and not an External PSC. Create a Veeam Backup job with your vCenter server with application-aware image processing not enabled, instead turn on VMware Tools Quiesence.

Hope this helps.
vClintWyckoff
Expert
 
Posts: 500
Liked: 109 times
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2012 1:22 am
Location: Technical Evangelist
Full Name: Clint Wyckoff


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google Feedfetcher and 1 guest