Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
hyvokar
Expert
Posts: 346
Liked: 22 times
Joined: Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm
Contact:

Cant update to VBR8.0 update3

Post by hyvokar » Oct 13, 2015 7:57 am

Hi!

I have a problem updating to update3.

"Error
Update cannot be installed, because some processes are active. Please finish all the restore processes, stop and disable all jobs, close the user interface and try again. If you still get this message, restart the server and wait for few minutes before trying again."

I have disabled all the jobs (none of them is running), stopped all the services, closed UI, restarted the server, stopped the services again, but still get this message.

Any idea what's blocking the update?

Code: Select all

PS C:\Windows\system32> Get-Service veeam* |Stop-Service
WARNING: Waiting for service 'Veeam Backup Service (Veeam Backup and Replication Service)' to stop...
PS C:\Windows\system32> Get-Service veeam*

Status   Name               DisplayName
------   ----               -----------
Stopped  Veeam Backup an... Veeam Backup Service
Stopped  Veeam Backup Ca... Veeam Backup Catalog Data Service
Stopped  VeeamCloudSvc      Veeam Cloud Connect Service
Stopped  VeeamDeployment... Veeam Installer Service
Stopped  VeeamNFSSvc        Veeam vPower NFS Service
Stopped  VeeamTapeSvc       Veeam Remote Tape Access Service
Stopped  VeeamTransportSvc  Veeam Data Mover Service


PS C:\Windows\system32> Get-Process vbr*
PS C:\Windows\system32> Get-Process veeam*
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE

hyvokar
Expert
Posts: 346
Liked: 22 times
Joined: Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Cant update to VBR8.0 update3

Post by hyvokar » Oct 13, 2015 8:31 am

I have this problem on two servers now.. Trying to find similatiries.
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE

v.eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16342
Liked: 1344 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Cant update to VBR8.0 update3

Post by v.eremin » Oct 13, 2015 8:34 am

Might be worth restarting the server again, and for some time before proceeding with the installation. Sometimes it helps.

Otherwise, if that doesn't help, please reach our support engineer to check what might be blocking the process.

Thanks.

hyvokar
Expert
Posts: 346
Liked: 22 times
Joined: Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Cant update to VBR8.0 update3

Post by hyvokar » Oct 13, 2015 8:48 am

Waited for good half of an hour and had several restarts, didnt help. However, when I stop the services manually from the from the services mmc (gui) and not from the powershell the update installs.
This is now confirmed for both servers (one running Server2012, other Server 2012 R2).

Any idea if this is a Windows or Veeam issue?
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE

v.eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16342
Liked: 1344 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Cant update to VBR8.0 update3

Post by v.eremin » Oct 13, 2015 9:04 am

Have you tried to find any differences in what is reported in PS and what is in Windows Services? I mean could it happen that commands issued via PS didn't take any effect on those services? If this behaviour can be confirmed only for Veeam-specific services, then, it will look like our issue. Otherwise, more like general Windows one. Thanks.

hyvokar
Expert
Posts: 346
Liked: 22 times
Joined: Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Cant update to VBR8.0 update3

Post by hyvokar » Oct 13, 2015 9:20 am

After stopping the services from PS i confirmed that the services actually were stopped from PS and from Windows services. If i had to take a guess, backup and replication service stopped faster from PS than from gui.
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE

bulletlynn
Service Provider
Posts: 35
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Jul 22, 2014 3:25 pm
Full Name: Nick Lynn
Contact:

Re: Cant update to VBR8.0 update3

Post by bulletlynn » Oct 14, 2015 3:00 pm

After stopping services manually I was able to run update 3 successfully.

Not sure exactly what Veeam does not like about the below powershell command.
Get-service -displayname veeam* | stop-service

v.eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16342
Liked: 1344 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Cant update to VBR8.0 update3

Post by v.eremin » Oct 14, 2015 3:21 pm

Might be a temporary problem or something, as everything appears to be ok with the script. All VB&R specific services should have "Veeam" in their names and, thus, should be properly gotten and then stopped via the referenced script.

Thanks.

timmi2704
Enthusiast
Posts: 87
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Jan 14, 2014 10:41 am
Full Name: Timo Brandt
Contact:

Re: Cant update to VBR8.0 update3

Post by timmi2704 » Oct 15, 2015 7:03 am

I can confirm that for me this is one of the most stubborn updates :D
Even after several reboots and service stops it didn't work.

I did the following the last times:
- get-service Veeam* | set-service -startuptype disabled
- Reboot
- Execute update
- get-service Veeam* | set-service -startuptype automatic (The delayed option was still set for some of the services)
- get-service Veeam* | start-service

Until now, that worked in all of the cases.

v.eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16342
Liked: 1344 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Cant update to VBR8.0 update3

Post by v.eremin » Oct 15, 2015 9:15 am

Did you also catch the same pattern as Nick did? I mean VB&R specific services stopped via PS don't allow you to proceed with update any further, while manual stop of the given services does help. Is this the case? Thanks.

timmi2704
Enthusiast
Posts: 87
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Jan 14, 2014 10:41 am
Full Name: Timo Brandt
Contact:

Re: Cant update to VBR8.0 update3

Post by timmi2704 » Oct 15, 2015 10:39 am

Hmm. I never tried using the GUI to be honest. I always used PowerShell CMDlets.

JohnnyW
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 07, 2013 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Cant update to VBR8.0 update3

Post by JohnnyW » Oct 16, 2015 8:03 am

I've the same trouble installing Update 3. But used the service-GUI to stop the Veeam services. After checking there were no Veeam processes running anymore I started the update... and got the same message and couldn't install the update.
I didn't do a reboot at this time (never needed one before). I will do that after working-hours and see what happens.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24176
Liked: 3301 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Cant update to VBR8.0 update3

Post by Gostev » Oct 18, 2015 7:24 pm

I have heard about this issue a few times with the previous updates, too. I hope we can nail this down to be able to prevent this issue with future updates once and for all, so if anyone cares to open a support case and have our engineers take a look at this in live - this will be most appreciated. I am beginning to suspect this is caused by some 3rd party software (like antivirus) locking some essential files, otherwise we would encounter this in our QA labs as well...

loganbest
Service Provider
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 25, 2014 9:44 pm
Full Name: Logan Best
Location: New York, New York
Contact:

Re: Cant update to VBR8.0 update3

Post by loganbest » Oct 18, 2015 10:01 pm

Happened with me too. Reboot fixed it for me. I have no additional services or applications installed on mine except WindirStat. No Antivirus except Windows defender stuff that's built in.

The server is behind an ACL an only accessible from a specified internal subnet.

tony.grilley
Veeam Software
Posts: 38
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Apr 21, 2014 2:40 pm
Full Name: Tony Grilley
Contact:

Re: Cant update to VBR8.0 update3

Post by tony.grilley » Oct 19, 2015 2:48 am 4 people like this post

In support (and in our lab), we have seen updates for Veeam being prevented by simply having a powershell window open.

loganbest
Service Provider
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 25, 2014 9:44 pm
Full Name: Logan Best
Location: New York, New York
Contact:

Re: Cant update to VBR8.0 update3

Post by loganbest » Oct 19, 2015 3:02 am

tony.grilley wrote:In support (and in our lab), we have seen updates for Veeam being prevented by simply having a powershell window open.
Also was not the case for me. Had nothing open except the explorer window where the exe was.

v.eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16342
Liked: 1344 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Cant update to VBR8.0 update3

Post by v.eremin » Oct 19, 2015 7:52 am

As to stopping VB&R services via PS, in Update 2 we added additional verification to our setup. It checks whether there is PowerShell.exe process running. In case of positive answer, wizard doesn't proceed any further until you stop the said process. The reason is that PowerShell.exe might execute some VB&R commandlets that in their turn can affect update operation.

Therefore, as Tony's pointed out, PowerShell.exe must be stopped in order for the upgrade process to proceed.

Thanks.

ian0x0r
Veeam Vanguard
Posts: 220
Liked: 41 times
Joined: Nov 11, 2010 11:53 am
Full Name: Ian Sanderson
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Cant update to VBR8.0 update3

Post by ian0x0r » Oct 19, 2015 8:10 am

I've had this before, on various updates even with services stopped, if backup copy jobs were not disabled. Might be worth a look.
https://www.snurf.co.uk

ITP-Stan
Service Provider
Posts: 96
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Feb 18, 2013 10:45 am
Full Name: Stan (IF-IT4U)
Contact:

Re: Cant update to VBR8.0 update3

Post by ITP-Stan » Oct 19, 2015 12:52 pm

I usually stop any jobs, then stop the services, then kill all remaining Veeam processes.

cmaier
Enthusiast
Posts: 30
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Feb 24, 2014 4:01 pm
Full Name: Christian Maier
Contact:

Re: Cant update to VBR8.0 update3

Post by cmaier » Oct 19, 2015 8:06 pm

Maybe you could check this:
1. Stop all Veeam services
2: Run the patch
3: Once patch is running go to %temp% and get the IXP000.TMP directory, and copy it to the desktop.
4: Close the patch
5: Open BackupSettings.xml from the IXP000.TMP directory in notepad.
6: Look at the processes under <processestocheck> to </processestocheck> and check if one of them is running on your machine

I had this issue last time and the problem was a running powershell.exe

Fiskepudding
Expert
Posts: 213
Liked: 26 times
Joined: Feb 01, 2012 7:24 am
Full Name: Espen Dykesteen
Contact:

Re: Cant update to VBR8.0 update3

Post by Fiskepudding » Oct 20, 2015 5:18 am

I got this message as well during the update yesterday.
No jobs were running. However the console was open, so I closed it and tried again, then i it worked.
Just though the message was a bit missleading, and thought nothing more about it.

Another observation, probably nothing, but there were windows updates pending.

Delo123
Expert
Posts: 361
Liked: 109 times
Joined: Dec 28, 2012 5:20 pm
Full Name: Guido Meijers
Contact:

Re: Cant update to VBR8.0 update3

Post by Delo123 » Oct 20, 2015 8:14 am 2 people like this post

Maybe it's time to enable PowerShell Hardcore mode :)
http://deploymentresearch.com/Research/ ... dcore-Mode

Ps. of course please DON'T ;)

michaelryancook
Expert
Posts: 116
Liked: 14 times
Joined: Nov 26, 2013 6:13 pm
Full Name: Michael Cook
Contact:

Re: Cant update to VBR8.0 update3

Post by michaelryancook » Oct 22, 2015 10:03 pm

I was getting this error and when I looked in task manager Veeam.backup.shell was still active even though all jobs and services had been stopped. After killing that process I was able to install.

sullivas
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Nov 13, 2014 7:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Cant update to VBR8.0 update3

Post by sullivas » Oct 27, 2015 7:16 pm

tony.grilley wrote:In support (and in our lab), we have seen updates for Veeam being prevented by simply having a powershell window open.
This was the fix for me! Thanks Tony!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot] and 25 guests