CC changed repository - map backup

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

CC changed repository - map backup

Veeam Logoby frankive » Wed Aug 23, 2017 7:23 pm

Hi.
Our VCC has just changed infrastructure and has copied our backup files to a new repository which we had to rescan.
Sure enough all the backup show up just fine, but then we try to create a new backup copy job and map this backup, it will just create new backup files. Actually duplicate Vms with a new, single 1 restore points instead of continue the other VMs restore points (same VM).
After som reading on this forum I think I have found the solution, but would like a confirmation to be sure.

Map backup will ONLY work when your last backup was a full active backup copy job (or a regular full backup before shipping it to your CC hoster).
Incremental backup files will not work.

Is this correct?

In that case we should just start from scratch with a new backup copy job, and manually deletes the older backup files when we have passed their retention?
frankive
Service Provider
 
Posts: 728
Liked: 86 times
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Location: Norway
Full Name: Frank Iversen

Re: CC changed repository - map backup

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Aug 24, 2017 4:27 pm

Is this correct?

Incorrect, unless you're talking about .vrb (reverse incremental mode). Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13563
Liked: 1007 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: CC changed repository - map backup

Veeam Logoby frankive » Thu Aug 24, 2017 5:53 pm

in some servers it seems like if f.e we have 7 days retention, it create 2 identical Vms, one with 2 restore points with the oldest full and newest incremental, and one with 5 restore points with only incremental.
Is his expected behaviour?
frankive
Service Provider
 
Posts: 728
Liked: 86 times
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Location: Norway
Full Name: Frank Iversen

Re: CC changed repository - map backup

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Aug 25, 2017 12:30 pm

Given mapping is performed correctly, no VM duplication should happen. Might stand to reason to investigate the issue directly with support team. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13563
Liked: 1007 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: khang1231, Yahoo [Bot] and 40 guests