Changing UUID on restore

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Changing UUID on restore

Veeam Logoby lloyd.mills » Tue Sep 20, 2011 8:23 am

Hi,

Is there a method for changing the UUID in Veeam when you restore the VM.
Currently the only way i know is to clone the VM after restoring, or edit the .vmx file.

If not is this a feature that is planned for the future?

Thanks

Lloyd
lloyd.mills
Influencer
 
Posts: 24
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 7:42 am
Full Name: Lloyd Mills

Re: Changing UUID on restore

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Sep 20, 2011 8:46 am

Hello Lloyd,

No, there is no way to change UUID on VM restore. Thanks for the feature request, but could you please tell me what is the use case for this change?

Thank you.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 20088
Liked: 1157 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Changing UUID on restore

Veeam Logoby lloyd.mills » Tue Sep 20, 2011 9:13 am

Hi Vitaliy,

The main reason for this is we currently restore the backup of live servers to a DR cluster that we also use for test. So there are only a few changes required to make to the OS to repurpose the machine as a test box etc.
The DR cluster is the destination for our replica's so in the event our live site went down for a prolonged period, we would power off the test servers and failover to the replica's.

This would leave us with duplicate UUID's, currently we have to manually change them.

Thanks

Lloyd
lloyd.mills
Influencer
 
Posts: 24
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 7:42 am
Full Name: Lloyd Mills

Re: Changing UUID on restore

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Sep 20, 2011 10:55 am

Hmm...ok, how about using replication jobs for VMs that you're using in the DR tests? That should change UUID for replicated VMs automatically, as it is not possible to have two VMs in the infrastructure with the same UUID.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 20088
Liked: 1157 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Changing UUID on restore

Veeam Logoby lloyd.mills » Thu Sep 22, 2011 6:47 am

Maybe we need to open a support case then....
As we have in more than one instance, 2 vm's with the same UUID replicated from two different clusters (so shouldn't cause an issue here..) to the same cluster and they both have the same UUID on the destination cluster as on both source clusters.

E.g.
Cluster 1 Cluster 2 Cluster 3
VM1 UUID=543 VM2 UUID=543 VM1_replica UUID=543
VM2_replica UUID=543

Please let me know your thoughts
lloyd.mills
Influencer
 
Posts: 24
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 7:42 am
Full Name: Lloyd Mills

Re: Changing UUID on restore

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:03 am

I've just consulted with our development team and I was told that basically there are two types of UUIDs, one of them is assigned on VM level, another one is called instance UUID.

VM UUID should always be the same for both replicated and source VMs, because it is used by Guest BIOS to identify the VM. Many software applications are using this ID to verify licensing/configuration status (e.g. Windows is using this ID for activation).

That said, If you want to dig deeper, please take a look at UUID numbers for these VMs via MOB (Managed Object Browser), because the IDs you've posted do not look like UUID. UUIDs should have the following format "501988ca-a82b-20e3-7a18-1ef90f0b105a".

Thanks.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 20088
Liked: 1157 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Changing UUID on restore

Veeam Logoby lloyd.mills » Thu Sep 22, 2011 12:32 pm

Hi Vitaliy,

These were examples as i did not want to type in full UUID's. Also it looks like the example was reformatted after i posted it.

That information is helpful and makes me less worried about the duplicate ID's - we do however still plan to change these.

Thankyou for your help
lloyd.mills
Influencer
 
Posts: 24
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 7:42 am
Full Name: Lloyd Mills

Re: Changing UUID on restore

Veeam Logoby Daveyd » Mon Jan 28, 2013 4:26 pm

Looking at the KB article from Veeam: http://www.veeam.com/kb1669 It states that "After a short time, VMware vSphere changes replica’s MAC address and UUID."

So, if I look in the vCenter's Managed Object Browser and look for the replicas Instance UUID, should it be different than the productions Instance UUID? In my case, the Instance UUIDs are the same.
Daveyd
Expert
 
Posts: 272
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 4:17 pm
Full Name: Dave DeLollis

Re: Changing UUID on restore

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Jan 28, 2013 8:02 pm

Hi Dave, I doubt that they should be different, as replication job creates a complete copy of your source VM, so seeing MAC address/UUID conflicts is fully expected during replication jobs.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 20088
Liked: 1157 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Changing UUID on restore

Veeam Logoby Daveyd » Mon Jan 28, 2013 10:28 pm

OK. We are having an issue with another piece of software that monitors VMs. The software sees both UUIDs being the same and gets confused.
Daveyd
Expert
 
Posts: 272
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 4:17 pm
Full Name: Dave DeLollis

Re: Changing UUID on restore

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Jan 29, 2013 9:20 pm 1 person likes this post

Yeah, monitoring tools will most likely be confused by this, but in Veeam ONE we are suppressing these alarms by default.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 20088
Liked: 1157 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Changing UUID on restore

Veeam Logoby JuA » Fri Oct 06, 2017 9:22 am

Hi,

Is this feature still unavailable ? (Changing the VM Bios UUID while restoring with Veeam).

Some non-funny guys with blue suits want us to run a tool called "IBM Licence Metric Tool", and it doesn't like UUID duplicates at all.

Regards,
JuA
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 36
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 1:25 pm
Full Name: Julien A

Re: Changing UUID on restore

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Oct 06, 2017 9:54 am

Changing UUID upon VM restore is still not possible.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15377
Liked: 1139 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Changing UUID on restore

Veeam Logoby lienkristian » Fri Oct 06, 2017 11:39 am

What if you do a sysprep? Then it will get new uuid?
lienkristian
Influencer
 
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2016 11:43 am
Full Name: Kristian Lien


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 1 guest