Availability for the Always-On Enterprise
Post Reply
albertwt
Expert
Posts: 626
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Nov 05, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Sydney, NSW
Contact:

Converting to Scale Out Backup Repository ?

Post by albertwt » Jun 20, 2016 12:28 am

People,

I have HP StorageWorks D2600 and D2700 which is used as normal Veeam Backup Repository like the below setup:

Image

So with Veeam 9.0 Update 1, I wonder if I can convert the entire 10 Backup Repository drives above into Scale Out Backup Repository ?
My goal in using SOBR is for simplicity reason so that I do not have to re-arrange - re shuffle the backup drives content to distribute the capacity usage on those Backup Repo.

Note:
All of the drive ecnlosures are connected using SAS cable to the back end server Smart Array P411.
All of the HDD are running 7200 rpm SAS drives.
Repository 1 - 2 are on RAID 6 (ADG)
Repository 3 - 4 are on RAID 50
Repository 5-10 are on RAID 5

Any suggestion and help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
--
/* Veeam software enthusiast user & supporter ! */

DaveWatkins
Expert
Posts: 316
Liked: 82 times
Joined: Dec 13, 2015 11:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Converting to Scale Out Backup Repository ?

Post by DaveWatkins » Jun 20, 2016 2:29 am 1 person likes this post

If you have an Enterprise+ license you can yes, if you only have Enterprise then you can only add 3 drives to an SOBR.

You could reconfigure your arrays to only present 3 LUN's which would allow you to put them all in a SOBR on Enterprise but that would involve a lot of shuffling

albertwt
Expert
Posts: 626
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Nov 05, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Sydney, NSW
Contact:

Re: Converting to Scale Out Backup Repository ?

Post by albertwt » Jun 20, 2016 3:21 am

Ah Yes, I only have Enterprise license without plus.

is there any benefits of just configuring the 3 drives as SOBR and the reminaing as the normal repository ?
--
/* Veeam software enthusiast user & supporter ! */

jmmarton
Veeam Software
Posts: 1207
Liked: 136 times
Joined: Nov 17, 2015 2:38 am
Full Name: Joe Marton
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Re: Converting to Scale Out Backup Repository ?

Post by jmmarton » Jun 20, 2016 2:00 pm 1 person likes this post

You'd still get some load balancing and failover capabilities among those three repos configured as part of a SOBR. Of course another option is to look into upgrading to Enterprise Plus so you can get those capabilities across everything. :-)

Joe

nunciate
Expert
Posts: 153
Liked: 23 times
Joined: May 21, 2013 9:08 pm
Full Name: Alan Wells
Contact:

Re: Converting to Scale Out Backup Repository ?

Post by nunciate » Jun 20, 2016 3:19 pm

I have a similar setup. I have 10 Drive arrays of varying size from 6 to 18 Tb each. All SAS and All 7200RPM.
I also have 6x 16Tb LUNS presented from a couple of NetApp FAS2240-4 Units that I use for extra-long term backup storage onsite.

I have all of my 10 SAS attached drives put into a Scale-Out.
I also have the 6 NetApp LUNS all in a single Scale-Out.

These all used to be separate repositories and I upgraded and converted when I installed v9 U1.
The conversion to Scale-Out was uneventful. You just add you extents to a new Scale-Out. The jobs and data all get updated and moved to the new Scale-Out automatically.
I use settings Use per-VM backup files and the Performance Policy. I allow all backup types on all repositories.

One small issue I had was with single repositories which were close to full. After moving to Scale-Out some jobs kept trying to write full backups to the drives and filling them up.
What I did was put those into maintenance mode. Then I performed an evacuate backups to clear them off. Then I let backups run normally and I have not had any drive full issues since.
This only happened on 2 repositories since they were already pretty full (over 90%)

jamie2497
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 11, 2016 9:10 am
Full Name: Jamie
Contact:

[MERGED] Scale out repository questions

Post by jamie2497 » Jan 04, 2018 7:53 am

Hi all,

I've got some questions regarding implementing a Scale out repository.

Currently I've got 2 local RAIDs, one of which is nearly full, the other has about 6TB free. The full drive only has one job pointing to it containing a single file server (But it is nearly 8TB for a full backup). I'd like to merge those 2 drives into a single repository so the file server increments can start being created on the other drive but I don't have enough space to run any active fulls.

- Can I simply create a Scale Out Repository, select performance and deselect Per VM and it will just continue creating Increments on whichever extend has the space?
- The repositories are set to E:\backups and F:\backups, i've got files and folders in the parent E: and F: will these be affected at all and can I still store files in everything except the backup folders?
- Any performance hits to implementing Scale Out?

All jobs are set to forever forward so ideally once implemented I just need it to continue creating increments without it accidentally trying to run a full backup and using up all the space!

Thank you

PTide
Veeam Software
Posts: 4245
Liked: 349 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Converting to Scale Out Backup Repository ?

Post by PTide » Jan 04, 2018 1:11 pm

Hi Jamie,

Please take a look at the thread, especially at this post since it describes how problem which is similar to yours has been resolved.

Thanks

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], DGrinev, Google [Bot] and 42 guests