-
- Enthusiast
- Posts: 25
- Liked: never
- Joined: Oct 02, 2011 6:27 pm
- Contact:
copy a backup job
hey
i want to use my weekly job to create a monthly job, so i wanted to copy the job and modify the new, but i didn't found an option to do that
nicolas
i want to use my weekly job to create a monthly job, so i wanted to copy the job and modify the new, but i didn't found an option to do that
nicolas
-
- VP, Product Management
- Posts: 27325
- Liked: 2778 times
- Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
- Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
- Contact:
Re: copy a backup job
Unfortunately, you cannot re-use existing jobs as a template for creating new jobs, you need to configure a new one. Thanks!
-
- Enthusiast
- Posts: 25
- Liked: never
- Joined: Oct 02, 2011 6:27 pm
- Contact:
Re: copy a backup job
thanks for the reply
-
- Chief Product Officer
- Posts: 31707
- Liked: 7212 times
- Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
- Location: Baar, Switzerland
- Contact:
Re: copy a backup job
Note for future readers, v6 will provide the job cloning capability.
-
- Veteran
- Posts: 293
- Liked: 19 times
- Joined: Apr 13, 2011 12:45 pm
- Full Name: Thomas McConnell
- Contact:
Re: copy a backup job
v5 Sort of does already via the Copy-VBRJob does it not?
Something like this should work
Something like this should work
Code: Select all
$job = Get-VBRJob | ?{$_.name -eq "Test Job"}
Copy-VBRJob -job $job
$newjob = Get-VBRJob | ?{$_.name -eq $job.name + " Copy"}
$vbrserver = Get-VBRServer | Where {$_.Type -eq "VC"}
Add-VBRJobObject -Job $newjob -Server $vbrserver -Object "VMToAdd"
-
- Veteran
- Posts: 293
- Liked: 19 times
- Joined: Apr 13, 2011 12:45 pm
- Full Name: Thomas McConnell
- Contact:
Re: copy a backup job
I've been having a mess about with the Copy-VBRJob but it only partially works, seems to copy everything apart from the jobobjects after throwing an error about a folder not found
Code: Select all
Get-VBRJob | Where {$_.Name -eq "Test Job"} | Copy-VBRJob
-
- Enthusiast
- Posts: 25
- Liked: never
- Joined: Oct 02, 2011 6:27 pm
- Contact:
Re: copy a backup job
thanks for your answer
i finally create a new
i finally create a new
-
- Veteran
- Posts: 282
- Liked: 26 times
- Joined: Nov 10, 2010 6:51 pm
- Full Name: Seth Bartlett
- Contact:
Re: copy a backup job
Thomas, you are correct that it copies all the settings but does not copy the objects with it. Some older folder-id information seems to be in the code:)
Skype: Sethbartlett88 - Make sure to label who you are and why you want to add me
Twitter: @sethbartlett
If my post was helpful, please like it. Sometimes twitter is quicker to hit me up if you need me.
Twitter: @sethbartlett
If my post was helpful, please like it. Sometimes twitter is quicker to hit me up if you need me.
-
- Veteran
- Posts: 293
- Liked: 19 times
- Joined: Apr 13, 2011 12:45 pm
- Full Name: Thomas McConnell
- Contact:
Re: copy a backup job
Thanks Seth, suppose we could do this to copy it properly until its fixed
Code: Select all
Add-PsSnapin -Name VeeamPSSnapIn
$uinput = Read-Host "Enter Job Name"
function addjo{
Param ([string]$vmname)
$newjob = Get-VBRJob | ?{$_.name -eq $uinput + " Copy"}
$vbrserver = Get-VBRServer | Where {$_.Type -eq "VC"}
Add-VBRJobObject -Job $newjob -Server $vbrserver -Object $vmname
}
Get-VBRJob | Where {$_.Name -eq $uinput} | Copy-VBRJob -erroraction silentlycontinue
Get-VBRJob | Where {$_.Name -eq $uinput} | Get-VBRJobObject | ForEach-Object {addjo $_.name}
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: ds_nl and 39 guests