Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Bygmait
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: BygmaIT

Direct SAN Access - Speed problems.

Post by Bygmait »

Hello

This is my first time here in the support forum, so if there is missing some information, then let me know.

My questions goes like this.

I got an Veeam B&R installation on a dedicated backup server, with a IBM HBA 8Gb card installed.
The backup server is running Windows Server 2008 R2

The SAN is an IBM DS3524, running 8Gb FC onto an 8Gb SAN Switch.

My question is then.

What speeds should I expect when I am running an backup?
The total size of VMs is: 5,79TB
Totally there is 63 vm to process.

The local disc system is an raid 5 on 6gbit SAS discs, and the SAN in also running raid 5 with 6gbit discs.

How long time should I expect for an full backup?
And the average processing rate..?

Hope that someone can help me with some information about speed and time for my backup.

Thanks
Vitaliy S.
VP, Product Management
Liked: 2710 times
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Direct SAN Access - Speed problems.

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hello,

Basically, performance bottlenecks can be caused by three main reasons, which are described in the following thread: New user, need help optimizing backups

As regards expected performance rates, please take a look at our [FAQ] v5 : Frequently Asked Questions > Answers topic.

Also make sure you have configured your backup server properly to work in SAN mode and haven't failed over to a Network mode while running backup jobs. Thanks.
Bygmait
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: BygmaIT

Post by Bygmait »

Hi

Thanks for the feedback.

I have now lookt at my backup server, and found out, that it was running at 100% cpu usage, when backing up the heavy vms.

If my vms if large, then a backup is taking long time, and if it is small, then the time is low.
This is when I was running with a "Optimal" compression.