Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
StephanG
Enthusiast
Posts: 35
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Sep 07, 2014 11:15 am
Full Name: Stephan G
Contact:

Domain Controller in SureBackup

Post by StephanG » Aug 03, 2018 1:00 pm

Hi everyone,

i have a virtualized domain controller.
I can boot the dc up and the authentication is working. The FSMO roles are not all on this DC.

If i try to create a user i get the error "The directory service was unable to allocate a relative identifier" nor can i add a new computer account.
Is this "by design"?

I use SureBackup sometimes for testdriving applications that interact with SharePoint etc and need installation on the Web Front End Servers.
For this installation i need a new server and some service accounts

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18666
Liked: 1631 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Domain Controller in SureBackup

Post by foggy » Aug 10, 2018 10:49 am

Hi Stephan, try running SureBackup job from another restore point - looks like DC was backed up at the moment when its RID pool was empty. Being isolated in the virtual lab, it cannot connect to RID Master to get a new pool, but if you choose another restore point or back it up once again, everything should be ok,

StephanG
Enthusiast
Posts: 35
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Sep 07, 2014 11:15 am
Full Name: Stephan G
Contact:

Re: Domain Controller in SureBackup

Post by StephanG » Feb 04, 2020 9:16 am

Hi,
long time .. but i had no more resources to complete this task.

I restored the DC again - transferred all FSMO Roles to the SureBackup DC. But still got the error.

I had to follow the "tips" of this blog post and deleted all other DCs ;) Then it was possible to create computer accounts and user accounts.
https://evotec.xyz/active-directory-the ... dentifier/

The DC itself has the roles {PDCEmulator, RIDMaster} when backuped.

Also the DC is an hour "off" when restored into SureBackup.
I also need to set the DNS Server to the server itself so that the firewall does not block connections. Automizing the check of the backup is difficult.
Setting the own DNS server first is not best practice.

Best regards
Stephan

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Hiroyuki Uemura, ND40oz and 16 guests