Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
wolker
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 12, 2017 10:49 am
Contact:

EMC Data Domain with hotadd mode questions

Post by wolker »

Hello,

our actual infrastracture consist in:

1 physical veeam backup server with 1GB ISCSI and 1GB MGMT
1 EMC FLASH with only Fiber Channel and and 1GB MGMT
1 EMC SATA with ISCSI and 1GB MGMT
3 ESX with Fiber Channel and 1GB MGMT
3 hotadd proxy

we want to completely dismantle the ISCSI part by adding an EMC DD with only FC connection

the hypothetical infrastructure would become:

1 physical veeam backup server with only 1GB MGMT
1 EMC FLASH with Fiber Channel and 1GB MGMT
3 ESX with Fiber Channel and 1GB MGMT
3 hotadd proxy
1 EMC DD with Fiber Channel and 1GB MGMT

since the real data mover is the veeam proxy (our physical backup server is not a proxy), is this setup going to work? with the backup server not having a Fiber Channel connectivity?

greetings

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 19475
Liked: 1768 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: EMC Data Domain with hotadd mode questions

Post by foggy »

No, you must have a Windows server that will communicate with Data Domain over FC.

wolker
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 12, 2017 10:49 am
Contact:

Re: EMC Data Domain with hotadd mode questions

Post by wolker »

ok, so i need to install a FC card on the backup server,

last question

despite this 3D https://forums.veeam.com/veeam-backup-r ... 23938.html

when i'm going to activate "enable inline dedupe" inside a job settings saving to a emc datadomain repository, veeam still ask to "change advanced settings to reccomended for your repository type" , by accepting this popup, the inline dedupe is not enabled anymore

is this normal? or from 2014 (3d date) something has changed?

greetings

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 19475
Liked: 1768 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: EMC Data Domain with hotadd mode questions

Post by foggy »

Yes, more recent post in the same thread recommends to disable inline deduplication when backing up to DD Boost repository.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: gummett, ronnmartin61, Zew and 59 guests