Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
dstreufe
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Apr 19, 2010 10:25 pm
Full Name: Dan S
Contact:

Enable Automatic Backup Integrity Checks ?

Post by dstreufe » 1 person likes this post

Can anyone tell me what the "Enable Automatic Backup Integrity Checks" checkbox does? I realize it does some kind of integrity check, but I am trying to assess the pros/cons of this and possible performance impacts... So I am more specifically wondering exactly what this "integrity check" involves.


Thanks,
Dan

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 29898
Liked: 5841 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Enable Automatic Backup Integrity Checks ?

Post by Gostev » 1 person likes this post

Hello Dan. If this option is selected, Veeam Backup will perform the integrity check of backup file in the beginning of each incremental run. This typically takes just a few seconds, and so does not impact performance noticeably. Starting v4, Veeam Backup features transactional storage with some level of redundancy. The verification process leverages this redundant data to verify the user data integrity which can be affected due to issues like abnormal job termination, failed disk write and so on. During this process, if any issues are found, the backup file is automatically recovered to the last known good state before initiating the new incremental run.

I cannot think of any cons of having this enabled.

Thanks!

albertwt
Veeam Legend
Posts: 731
Liked: 25 times
Joined: Nov 05, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Sydney, NSW
Contact:

Re: Enable Automatic Backup Integrity Checks ?

Post by albertwt »

yes i use it by default in all of my backup using VBR 4.1, no performance impacted.
--
/* Veeam software enthusiast user & supporter ! */

rawtaz
Expert
Posts: 100
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Jan 27, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Enable Automatic Backup Integrity Checks ?

Post by rawtaz »

Gostev; Is there anywhere one can read in more detail how the integrity check at hand (the one referred to in this thread) works, what it does?

jp34
Enthusiast
Posts: 47
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Dec 22, 2009 8:31 am
Full Name: JP
Contact:

Re: Enable Automatic Backup Integrity Checks ?

Post by jp34 »

... and are we warned by email (if e-mail notifications are enabled for the job) when an integrity fault occurs ?

Thanks in advance.
JP.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 19542
Liked: 2056 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Enable Automatic Backup Integrity Checks ?

Post by veremin »

If for some reason the built-in check fails, it will be definitely reported in the job session and I’m pretty sure that this information will also appear in notification mail; though, need to double check it.

Thanks.

great_vc
Enthusiast
Posts: 70
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Apr 20, 2016 12:30 pm
Full Name: Vassilis
Contact:

Re: Enable Automatic Backup Integrity Checks ?

Post by great_vc »

Hi,
Know it is an old post but why open i new one. B&R 11a
I have the option of "perform backup files health check) checked on my AD Backup.

But my question is how do i know it is run or checked ? Do i get a warning email on some error. Do i need to enable special notifications or the job notifications tab is enough (warning, error is selected and suppredd notifications until the last retry)

thanks

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 29898
Liked: 5841 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Enable Automatic Backup Integrity Checks ?

Post by Gostev » 1 person likes this post

Hi, this process is a part of a backup job so its result will affect job status, which you can see in the job email report. You can also see it in the job's action log to ensure it does run as scheduled. Thanks!

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 20771
Liked: 2030 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Enable Automatic Backup Integrity Checks ?

Post by foggy » 1 person likes this post

Hi, health сheck failure (i.e. if health check detects corrupted data) will be logged in the job session and the job should also be complete with the Error status.

great_vc
Enthusiast
Posts: 70
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Apr 20, 2016 12:30 pm
Full Name: Vassilis
Contact:

Re: Enable Automatic Backup Integrity Checks ?

Post by great_vc »

Thank you both for your answer.
Just a final follow-up, if the integrity check is ok using the veeam.validator does that mean that you have a valid backup and a valid restore ?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 29898
Liked: 5841 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Enable Automatic Backup Integrity Checks ?

Post by Gostev » 1 person likes this post

No, it just means your backups are not impacted by storage-level corruptions.

There are tons of other issues which can prevent a valid restore.

If you want to confirm that your backup is valid and recoverable, you need to test the restore.
You can do it manually or (in case of Veeam) automatically with the SureBackup job.

great_vc
Enthusiast
Posts: 70
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Apr 20, 2016 12:30 pm
Full Name: Vassilis
Contact:

Re: Enable Automatic Backup Integrity Checks ?

Post by great_vc »

ok got it, i will play with the SureBackup!

Thanks

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 48 guests