Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
Daveyd
Expert
Posts: 283
Liked: 11 times
Joined: May 20, 2010 4:17 pm
Full Name: Dave DeLollis
Contact:

Error when trying to backup a VM

Post by Daveyd »

My setup:

Physical server running 2008 R2 x64 using Veeam 5.0 Backup
HP MSA60 SAN
Datacore SANmelody server attached to SAN for thin provisioning and mirrored virtual vlumes and acting as iSCSI target.
Vsphere 4.0 U1 3 host cluster connected to SANmelody

I have a test Datastore that has 1 VM which I am testing backing up with Veeam v5. The physical Veeam server is connected into the iSCSI fabric via the MS iSCSI initiator and Disk Mgmt can see the Datastore and has it marked as Read Only. I am using Direct SAN access mode for the backup method.

When I run the backup job to backup just the 1 test VM on the test Datastore, I get the following error message:

0 of 0 files processed

Total VM size: 30.00 GB
Processed size: 0.00 KB
Processing rate: 0 KB/s
Backup mode: SAN/NBD without changed block tracking
Start time: 11/23/2010 4:32:44 PM
End time: 11/23/2010 4:36:08 PM
Duration: 0:03:24


Freezing guest operating system
Cannot copy to the temp file from [C:\Users\TEMP\AppData\Local\Temp\vmware1] to [C:\Windows\TEMP\ifdAFA2.tmp] in CVixConnection::CopyFileFromGuestToHost.
VIX Error: The command is not recognized by VMware Tools Code: 3025

Any suggestions?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26679
Liked: 4268 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Error when trying to backup a VM

Post by Gostev »

What OS does this VM run? Do you have VMware Tools up to date on this VM?

Daveyd
Expert
Posts: 283
Liked: 11 times
Joined: May 20, 2010 4:17 pm
Full Name: Dave DeLollis
Contact:

Re: Error when trying to backup a VM

Post by Daveyd »

It is a 2008 VM being backed up. VMtools are reporting as being OK.

Interestingly enough, the VM is on its own VLAN/Port group. For whatever reason there was no network connectivity to the VM. I vmotioned it to another ESX host in the same cluster with the same Port group and connectivity was restored. I re-ran the backup and the job is now running. Even though I am using the SAN method, it still requires VM network connectivity?

On another note, I am not sure why I have no connectivity on one ESX host that has the same exact VLAN/Port group as the other ESX host, I have verified that all 12 physical NICs (4 in each ESX host) have the same VLANs assigned to them on the physical switch ports

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26679
Liked: 4268 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Error when trying to backup a VM

Post by Gostev »

No, VM network connectivity is never required. May be there is some issue with the host itself.

Daveyd
Expert
Posts: 283
Liked: 11 times
Joined: May 20, 2010 4:17 pm
Full Name: Dave DeLollis
Contact:

Re: Error when trying to backup a VM

Post by Daveyd »

Any idea what could be "wrong" witht he host? I don;t see to have any other issues

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26679
Liked: 4268 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Error when trying to backup a VM

Post by Gostev »

It may just need reboot, e.g. some management service is down (guessing from the error).

Daveyd
Expert
Posts: 283
Liked: 11 times
Joined: May 20, 2010 4:17 pm
Full Name: Dave DeLollis
Contact:

Re: Error when trying to backup a VM

Post by Daveyd »

Quick question. If I do a full backup of a VM with a Veeam job (CBT enabled) on 1 Veeam backup server, then a few hours later I do a full backup of the same VM on a different Veeam backup server, will there be any issues?

basically I am testing backing up VMs using different scenarios to test speed. I wanted to make sure that backing up the same VM (at different times) on different Veeam servers wont screw anything up

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26679
Liked: 4268 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Error when trying to backup a VM

Post by Gostev »

There are no issues with processing the same VM with multiple backup servers. This is actually covered in sticky FAQ topic, not sure if you had a chance to review it yet. Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 27 guests