Feature request - DC authoritive mode restore

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Feature request - DC authoritive mode restore

Veeam Logoby bJako » Mon Mar 27, 2017 11:59 am 1 person likes this post

By default Veeam performs a non-authoritative restore of the DC.

This is OK when you restore one DC to production enviroment.

I mostly restore one production DC to test enviroment. I know there are instructions, how to do manually authoritative restore.

Veeam have build-in functionality to perform authoritative restore in SureBackup where I cab choose between authoritative and non-authoritative restore.

I suggest to add possibility to perform authoritative restore to Full and Instant Recovery - at least when "Restore to a new location or with different settings" is selected.

And pls add "Open Logs path" to File or Help menu - as Veeam Off365 have :-)
bJako
Service Provider
 
Posts: 3
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 7:24 am
Full Name: Jako BErgson

Re: Feature request - DC authoritive mode restore

Veeam Logoby mcz » Wed Aug 16, 2017 7:41 am

Just wannted to create the same post with the same content... I also need my DC for my Testlab to restore in authoritative-mode and I always have to do that manually...
mcz
Expert
 
Posts: 161
Liked: 13 times
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2016 8:39 am
Full Name: Michael

Re: Feature request - DC authoritive mode restore

Veeam Logoby adapterer » Wed Aug 16, 2017 8:05 am

+1 for this
adapterer
Service Provider
 
Posts: 219
Liked: 42 times
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2015 11:24 pm

Re: Feature request - DC authoritive mode restore

Veeam Logoby williampu » Mon Nov 13, 2017 12:11 am

+1 for this
This feature would be great as it will reduce the required work afterwards once the DC's have been restored.
In a real DR scenario, you will have other things to attend to so enabling a direct authoritative restore directly from Veeam will reduce time to do the post-work and you can start restoring other things
williampu
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2017 1:26 am
Full Name: William Pu

Re: Feature request - DC authoritive mode restore

Veeam Logoby amarshall » Wed Nov 15, 2017 3:31 am

+1 one for this, exp when doing a full failover.
amarshall
Service Provider
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2016 12:28 am
Full Name: Adam Marshall

Re: Feature request - DC authoritive mode restore

Veeam Logoby adapterer » Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:00 am

I'd like to add that the main reason we want this is Cloud Connect.

Currently we have to provide VM console access via VPN and locked down vSphere permissions and it's clunky to say the least.

Authoritative restore would allow a more hands-off restore process and reduce the need for console access.
adapterer
Service Provider
 
Posts: 219
Liked: 42 times
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2015 11:24 pm

[MERGED] Feature Request: Restore or Boot DC Replica as Auth

Veeam Logoby YouGotServered » Tue Jan 16, 2018 8:38 pm 2 people like this post

Hello forum!

TL;DR - I want to be able to automate authoritative domain controller restore / failover

One thing we've noticed, is that while SureBackup / SureReplica has a nifty feature to automatically test domain controllers as Authoritative, there's no simple way to restore a backup or turn on a replica as authoritative (that I can find anyways). I opened up case 02463566 to verify, and to also check and see if the mechanism / script used in SureBackup is available to us during a restore and failover (which it isn't).

What we've noticed is that when we restore a DC or turn on a replica, it boots once, then reboots in non-authoritative mode (which is great for most cases, but not all). When the VM reboots into non-authoritative, it moves all of its Sysvol contents into a folder called "NtFrs_PreExisting__See_EventLog". This is where things get hairy. If you're aware of the restore process for domain controllers (like I am now, but was not the first couple of times I had to restore an entire environment), you can go into that folder and copy your sysvol contents into a safe place. If you aren't aware of the restore process, this is an issue. When you go to flip Burflags to D4 in the registry, then run a stop / start of ntfrs, that "PreExisting" folder gets blown away almost immediately. If you didn't copy the contents to a safe place, you have to restore the folder from backup - right after you just restored your DC from backup. In my personal experience, this leads to a "Aw man, WTH is happening with domain replication?", which is never fun when you're already in a likely stressful situation. I'm glad I know what to do now, but I'm sure a lot of people don't and are in for the same "gotcha" that I got.

It would be nice during a restore or failover if you were prompted to do authoritative or non-authoritative restore, and Veeam could leverage the same technology that is baked into SureBackup.

Now this is the part where someone makes me look dumb and tells me it's already a feature.
YouGotServered
Service Provider
 
Posts: 21
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2016 7:41 pm
Full Name: Cory Wallace

Re: Feature Request: Restore or Boot DC Replica as Authorita

Veeam Logoby LGarcia » Tue Jan 16, 2018 8:50 pm 3 people like this post

An additional checkbox when restoring DCs to restore as authoritative would be beneficial in DR scenarios
LGarcia
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2016 6:14 pm
Full Name: Luis Garcia

Re: Feature Request: Restore or Boot DC Replica as Authorita

Veeam Logoby aaja » Tue Jan 16, 2018 8:54 pm 1 person likes this post

Adding another checkbox during the restore process that would bring back the DC as authoritative would be quite nice when testing SureBackup and SureReplica jobs.
aaja
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 8:46 pm
Full Name: Austin Aja

Re: Feature request - DC authoritive mode restore

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Jan 17, 2018 9:42 am

Thanks for the request, guys. Your voices are counted. Here's the detailed KB describing all the nuances of domain controller recovery, including this scenario.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15732
Liked: 1182 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Feature Request: Restore or Boot DC Replica as Authorita

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Jan 17, 2018 9:45 am

aaja wrote:Adding another checkbox during the restore process that would bring back the DC as authoritative would be quite nice when testing SureBackup and SureReplica jobs.

It is already authoritative for SYSVOL in case of SureBackup/SureReplica.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15732
Liked: 1182 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Feature Request: Restore or Boot DC Replica as Authorita

Veeam Logoby mcz » Wed Jan 17, 2018 11:36 am

foggy wrote:It is already authoritative for SYSVOL in case of SureBackup/SureReplica.

I'm waiting for the checkbox too! Of course, SureBackup will do authoritative restore but all other restore mechanisms won't provide any solution via wizard. Please, please implement this option!
mcz
Expert
 
Posts: 161
Liked: 13 times
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2016 8:39 am
Full Name: Michael

Re: Feature request - DC authoritive mode restore

Veeam Logoby cjhebert » Wed Jan 17, 2018 4:51 pm

+1. We need this, too!
cjhebert
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Wed May 11, 2016 3:11 pm
Full Name: CJ Hebert

Re: Feature request - DC authoritive mode restore

Veeam Logoby Prog1026 » Mon Jan 22, 2018 1:22 am

Hello. We would also appreciate this function, as DC restoring in QA - common situation in our environment.
Prog1026
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2016 11:43 pm
Full Name: Pavel Sizov

Re: Feature request - DC authoritive mode restore

Veeam Logoby DavidReimers » Mon Jan 22, 2018 4:07 am

+1 to this. Will save us a lot of time and strip a couple of pages out of our testing and DR procedures.
DavidReimers
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 42
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 4:39 am
Full Name: David Reimers

Next

Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot] and 1 guest

cron