Availability for the Always-On Enterprise
Post Reply
ChuckS42
Enthusiast
Posts: 87
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Apr 24, 2013 8:53 pm
Full Name: Chuck Stevens
Contact:

Feature Request - Enterprise Manager - Fix This

Post by ChuckS42 » Apr 17, 2018 8:45 pm

Regarding bullet point 11 on this document: https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... tml?ver=95

We use storage array replication to copy our production backup data to our secondary datacenter, then import this data in to a separate B&R server (by creating read-only repositories). We have one Enterprise Manager server covering both locations (primarily for managing licenses). We suffer the bad stuff from the above document. I would very much like to see this resolved, or at least give me the option of ignoring the replicated repositories (since the remote B&R server has backups of its own).

(I had a case open for the database errors; # 02719203.)

PTide
Veeam Software
Posts: 4247
Liked: 349 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Feature Request - Enterprise Manager - Fix This

Post by PTide » Apr 18, 2018 2:10 pm

Hi Chuck,

May I ask you what is the purpose of importing the copies into a separate VBR server? Do you perform some post-replication actions with the imported backups? Also, would you tell what storage array do you use please?

Thanks

ChuckS42
Enthusiast
Posts: 87
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Apr 24, 2013 8:53 pm
Full Name: Chuck Stevens
Contact:

Re: Feature Request - Enterprise Manager - Fix This

Post by ChuckS42 » Apr 18, 2018 4:40 pm

Our secondary datacenter is our DR site. The purpose of the replication is so I can quickly restore backups in case the primary datacenter goes down in a disaster. No post-replication actions. My current backup storage is a pair of Quest (formerly Dell) DR6000 arrays. We are looking at replacing them, and have talked with Exagrid; they actually recommend this method of replicating Veeam backups and were surprised when I told them of this Enterprise Manager limitation.

I am aware I could use the Backup Copy functionality of Veeam to accomplish this goal, but it is my preference to allow the storage array to handle site-to-site replication, as it is more efficient and simpler to configure/manage.

PTide
Veeam Software
Posts: 4247
Liked: 349 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Feature Request - Enterprise Manager - Fix This

Post by PTide » Apr 18, 2018 5:13 pm

The purpose of the replication is so I can quickly restore backups in case the primary datacenter goes down in a disaster
Yes, I understand, but I meant to ask why don't you just replicate them to the DR without actually importing them? In case a disaster happened you would detach your primary VBR (no use of it since it's on the dead site) from EM and create a new repository of the folder where the replicated backups are stored. After that you would import them to the second VBR and use for restore. I agree that this is just a workaround, but it should work until we fix the limitation, unless I'm missing something.

Thanks

ChuckS42
Enthusiast
Posts: 87
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Apr 24, 2013 8:53 pm
Full Name: Chuck Stevens
Contact:

Re: Feature Request - Enterprise Manager - Fix This

Post by ChuckS42 » Apr 18, 2018 5:20 pm

No, that makes sense. It just adds a bunch of extra steps to a DR plan. Better to have it all in place in advance.

PTide
Veeam Software
Posts: 4247
Liked: 349 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Feature Request - Enterprise Manager - Fix This

Post by PTide » Apr 19, 2018 12:36 pm

I agree, and now I'm going to say a horrible thing: in order to slightly reduce the number of steps you can just ignore the 'detach' part and go straight to importing backups. That will screw up EM database just the same way it does with your current approach, but I guess that won't be your main concern during DR situation and can be sorted out later when everything is up and running.

Anyway, your request has been noted.

Thanks

ChuckS42
Enthusiast
Posts: 87
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Apr 24, 2013 8:53 pm
Full Name: Chuck Stevens
Contact:

Re: Feature Request - Enterprise Manager - Fix This

Post by ChuckS42 » Apr 19, 2018 5:20 pm

Thank you.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 41 guests