-
- Novice
- Posts: 4
- Liked: 1 time
- Joined: Jul 23, 2018 8:08 am
- Contact:
Feature Request:Fill "LAST RESULT" field for continuous jobs
Hello,
we are checking the "Last Result" with Powershell to monitor if a Backup Copy Job Completed successfully. That works for normal jobs, but on a "Copy Job" the "Last Result" field is only filled, while the Job is deaktivated. As soon its enabled, the last result status is gone and we can't check it.
Also, it would be nice to it directly in the Gui at the Copy Job that something is wrong with the job, at the moment the job look great, even if its not working.
We already talked to support and as a workaround we, are deaktivating the job, then start the check and then reaktivate it. That is working, but now we get new History events every time a check is executed. This spams our history log.
Best Regards,
Rafael
we are checking the "Last Result" with Powershell to monitor if a Backup Copy Job Completed successfully. That works for normal jobs, but on a "Copy Job" the "Last Result" field is only filled, while the Job is deaktivated. As soon its enabled, the last result status is gone and we can't check it.
Also, it would be nice to it directly in the Gui at the Copy Job that something is wrong with the job, at the moment the job look great, even if its not working.
We already talked to support and as a workaround we, are deaktivating the job, then start the check and then reaktivate it. That is working, but now we get new History events every time a check is executed. This spams our history log.
Best Regards,
Rafael
-
- Chief Product Officer
- Posts: 31816
- Liked: 7302 times
- Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
- Location: Baar, Switzerland
- Contact:
Re: Feature Request:Fill "LAST RESULT" field for continuous
Hi, we'll take a look why it is not set. Thanks!
-
- Service Provider
- Posts: 153
- Liked: 34 times
- Joined: Dec 18, 2017 8:58 am
- Full Name: Bill Couper
- Contact:
Re: Feature Request:Fill "LAST RESULT" field for continuous
+1 to this, have same issue, already raised a support ticket in the past and it couldn't be solved.
last result only shows for jobs that are not running. but continuous backup copies are continuous
last result only shows for jobs that are not running. but continuous backup copies are continuous
-
- Service Provider
- Posts: 49
- Liked: 15 times
- Joined: May 29, 2018 8:42 pm
- Contact:
Re: Feature Request:Fill "LAST RESULT" field for continuous
Definitely worth adding. Visibility for backup copies is relatively poor.
-
- Expert
- Posts: 160
- Liked: 28 times
- Joined: Sep 29, 2017 8:07 pm
- Contact:
Re: Feature Request:Fill "LAST RESULT" field for continuous
Same issue here, I thought this was by design, though I thought it was pretty poor design.
-
- Product Manager
- Posts: 20415
- Liked: 2302 times
- Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
- Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
- Contact:
Re: Feature Request:Fill "LAST RESULT" field for continuous
We discussed this enhancement internally - the results were positive. So, there is a chance that the corresponding field (for bcj) will be added in the next product update. Thanks.
-
- Novice
- Posts: 4
- Liked: 1 time
- Joined: Jul 23, 2018 8:08 am
- Contact:
Re: Feature Request:Fill "LAST RESULT" field for continuous jobs
Hello All.
any News on this ?
Best Regards
any News on this ?
Best Regards
-
- Veeam Software
- Posts: 21139
- Liked: 2141 times
- Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
- Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
- Contact:
Re: Feature Request:Fill "LAST RESULT" field for continuous jobs
This is included in U4.
-
- Novice
- Posts: 4
- Liked: 1 time
- Joined: Jul 23, 2018 8:08 am
- Contact:
Re: Feature Request:Fill "LAST RESULT" field for continuous jobs
Thanks a lot !
any news when U4 is coming out ?
any news when U4 is coming out ?
-
- Product Manager
- Posts: 14726
- Liked: 1707 times
- Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
- Full Name: Dmitry Popov
- Location: Prague
- Contact:
Re: Feature Request:Fill "LAST RESULT" field for continuous jobs
Dytech,
The plan is to make Update 4 generally available on January 22nd. Cheers!
The plan is to make Update 4 generally available on January 22nd. Cheers!
Gostev wrote:The biggest news today is actually old news from 2018, but something many of you have really been waiting for: we did ship the RTM build of long-awaited Update 4 for Veeam Backup & Replication 9.5, as well as Veeam Agents 3.0 before the end of last year - on December 28th. Kudos to our amazing R&D for all their hard work in the last weeks of the year! It is certainly the biggest release in the history of Veeam – not only by the sheer number of new features (and lines of code), but also by the number of new innovations. The best place to learn about all of them will be at the live launch web cast, currently planned on January 22nd - which is also when we're aiming to make all new releases generally available (GA).
-
- Chief Product Officer
- Posts: 31816
- Liked: 7302 times
- Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
- Location: Baar, Switzerland
- Contact:
Re: Feature Request:Fill "LAST RESULT" field for continuous jobs
Having said that, you can get it through support already, in case you want to be a part of pilot deployments.
-
- Novice
- Posts: 4
- Liked: 1 time
- Joined: Jul 23, 2018 8:08 am
- Contact:
Re: Feature Request:Fill "LAST RESULT" field for continuous jobs
Thanks for Your info, i will do that next time.
So, I have tested the new build and in the gui its looking good, but with Powershell its still not working, and thats the important part for monitoring.
$job = get-vbrjob -name "BackupSyncJob"
$job.GetLastResult() still returns "None". I still need to disable the Job to get the last result.
Best Regards.
So, I have tested the new build and in the gui its looking good, but with Powershell its still not working, and thats the important part for monitoring.
$job = get-vbrjob -name "BackupSyncJob"
$job.GetLastResult() still returns "None". I still need to disable the Job to get the last result.
Best Regards.
-
- Product Manager
- Posts: 20415
- Liked: 2302 times
- Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
- Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
- Contact:
Re: Feature Request:Fill "LAST RESULT" field for continuous jobs
Try the following the example and see whether there is something you're after:
Thanks!
Code: Select all
Asnp VeeamPSSnapin
$Job = Get-VBRJob -name "Name of your backup job"
$Job.Info.LatestStatus
-
- Service Provider
- Posts: 153
- Liked: 34 times
- Joined: Dec 18, 2017 8:58 am
- Full Name: Bill Couper
- Contact:
Re: Feature Request:Fill "LAST RESULT" field for continuous jobs
Another way is to specifically look for job failures.
Code: Select all
Asnp VeeamPSSnapin
$Job = Get-VBRJob -Name "Job Name"
$Session = $job.FindLastSession()
if ($session.Info.Failures -gt 0) {
# Do something with the failures, eg pull the error text out of them
} else {
# The job was successful
}
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], G_Mellor, Google [Bot] and 68 guests