Feature Request - Run a job on subset of VMs

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Feature Request - Run a job on subset of VMs

Veeam Logoby kkitzul_SE » Wed Oct 19, 2016 2:51 pm

I think having the ability to run a replication job for a specific subset of VMs rather than the whole job would be beneficial.
Occasionally we find that our replicated VMs have issues and have to be deleted and replicated again.

As it stands now, if I want to have a replica offsite without waiting to the next replication window, I would delete the existing replica. Create a new job to replicate the deleted VM. Enable replica seeding which means next time the job runs it has to take considerable time digesting the drives. After the main job finish I have to go and remove the temporary job as well as the replica from configuration.

If I could simply just run the existing job for only the affected VM. It would make simplify things for sure.
kkitzul_SE
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 9:01 pm
Full Name: Kyle

Re: Feature Request - Run a job on subset of VMs

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Oct 19, 2016 3:05 pm

Something similar to the Quick Backup, though for replication, right?

kkitzul_SE wrote:As it stands now, if I want to have a replica offsite without waiting to the next replication window, I would delete the existing replica. Create a new job to replicate the deleted VM. Enable replica seeding which means next time the job runs it has to take considerable time digesting the drives. After the main job finish I have to go and remove the temporary job as well as the replica from configuration.

Probably a less painful workaround would be to temporarily exclude all but the required VMs from the main job and trigger an unscheduled run.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14599
Liked: 1064 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Feature Request - Run a job on subset of VMs

Veeam Logoby kkitzul_SE » Wed Oct 19, 2016 3:47 pm

foggy wrote:Something similar to the Quick Backup, though for replication, right?


That actually looks like exactly what I am looking for just for replication instead as you stated.
kkitzul_SE
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 9:01 pm
Full Name: Kyle

Re: Feature Request - Run a job on subset of VMs

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Oct 19, 2016 4:11 pm

Got it, thanks for the feedback!
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14599
Liked: 1064 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

[MERGED] feature requests - replication an logfile collectio

Veeam Logoby mcz » Thu Apr 13, 2017 10:43 am

Hi everybody,

I've got two feature requests, here we go:

    allow to replicate a single vm (replicated by job with multiple vm's) manually triggered via context menu just like when using "QuickBackup"
    when I run "help -> support information" and run the tool to fetch all the logfiles from proxies, etc. I have to upload the content after that e.g. to the FTP-Server. it would be quite cool to implement an solution to upload the whole content automatically after collecting the files to the veeam servers (of course veeam would have to ask for the case number before) and inform the support engineer within the ticket system that new content has arrived.

what do others think about it?
mcz
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 51
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2016 8:39 am
Full Name: Michael

Re: Feature Request - Run a job on subset of VMs

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Apr 13, 2017 11:06 am

Hi Michael, thanks for interesting suggestions. I've merged your post to existing thread with similar request for easier demand tracking.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14599
Liked: 1064 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DDIT, dydf, PTide, svallance, Yahoo [Bot] and 48 guests