Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
ChillyHellion
Enthusiast
Liked: 4 times
Full Name: Kyle

Granular backup schedule

Post by ChillyHellion »

Hello, and thank you for your help. I'm new to Veeam and have a question about scheduling.

I would like to set up a schedule that keeps the following recovery points:

* nightly recovery points for a week
* weekly recovery points for a month
* monthly recovery points for a year

My goal is to have recovery points that extend back a year's time, but provide increasing recovery point "resolution" for more recent recovery points, with longer gaps between older recovery points.

Below is my schedule as implemented, but I'm looking for any best practice advice on how to set up this kind of schedule. I found that I had to set up three different backup jobs, which I'm not sure is the best way to achieve this result:

* Nightly Incremental - Executes 7pm - Monday through Thursday - Retain 5 recovery points
* Weekly Synthetic Full - Executes 7pm - Friday - Retain 5 recovery points
* Monthly Full Backup - Executes 7pm - Last Saturday of every month - Retain 13 recovery points

I apologize if this is a double post. It looks like I posted this under an existing thread before, which was not my intention.
Thank you.
PetrM
Veeam Software
Liked: 527 times
Full Name: Petr Makarov

Re: Granular backup schedule

Post by PetrM » 1 person likes this post

Hello Kyle,

I think you could configure just one primary backup job and a backup copy job with GFS retention instead of using 3 different backup jobs.
By the way, GFS retention for primary backup jobs will be available in the version 10.

Thanks!
ChillyHellion
Enthusiast

Post by ChillyHellion »