How does the "AutoDelete" option work?

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

How does the "AutoDelete" option work?

Veeam Logoby JimmiG » Tue Dec 27, 2016 11:59 am

I've set up a couple of jobs using the Powershell script from here https://www.veeam.com/blog/veeam-backup ... shell.html
It's working fine, but I'm a bit unsure how the AutoDelete option works, and especially when and how the deletion of old backups is triggered.
Is there some background process on the system Veeam is installed on, that keeps checking and deleting in the background, or is it done the next time the script is executed, or something else? Surely there must be some process that does this, because files cannot "auto destruct" on their own.

Suppose, for example, that I made a backup with the "-AutoDelete In1Week" option, and I decide I need to keep this particular backup for longer. How can I prevent Veeam from deleting it?
JimmiG
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2016 11:47 am
Full Name: Jimmi Gruen

Re: How does the "AutoDelete" option work?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Dec 27, 2016 12:31 pm

Retention applies at the end of the successful job run. You cannot mark the particular backup so it has longer retention, retention applies to the entire backup chain.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15078
Liked: 1110 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 75 guests

cron