-
- Veteran
- Posts: 636
- Liked: 100 times
- Joined: Mar 23, 2018 4:43 pm
- Full Name: EJ
- Location: London
- Contact:
How to clear a repository
I know technically speaking if we have any questions it's recommended to not ask them here but to log a case with support. I just think as this is a quick question and may have a useful R&D related outcome I might get away with asking it....
I have a repository which I'd like to clear of all data and allow the backup jobs to repopulate with fresh data.
One way to do it might be to tick the 'rotated hard drives' setting on the repository. But that doesn't work as the repository has GFS backups in it and the software won't allow me to enable rotated hard drives.
The only other way I can think of is to duplicate each of the jobs and delete the old jobs and data. But that will take a while as there's 57 jobs.
Any ideas welcome.
I have a repository which I'd like to clear of all data and allow the backup jobs to repopulate with fresh data.
One way to do it might be to tick the 'rotated hard drives' setting on the repository. But that doesn't work as the repository has GFS backups in it and the software won't allow me to enable rotated hard drives.
The only other way I can think of is to duplicate each of the jobs and delete the old jobs and data. But that will take a while as there's 57 jobs.
Any ideas welcome.
-
- Product Manager
- Posts: 9848
- Liked: 2606 times
- Joined: May 13, 2017 4:51 pm
- Full Name: Fabian K.
- Location: Switzerland
- Contact:
Re: How to clear a repository
You could use a powershell command to remove all registered Backups from database and disk:
https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... ml?ver=110
After that, start a Active Full for each backup Job or wait until the scheduled backup jobs starts:
https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... ml?ver=110
Test this with one job, if it works, you can bulk remove all jobs
https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... ml?ver=110
Code: Select all
Get-VBRBackup -Name "Backup Job 01", "Backup Job 02" | Remove-VBRBackup -FromDisk
https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... ml?ver=110
Code: Select all
Get-VBRJob -Name "Backup Job 01" | Start-VBRJob -FullBackup
Product Management Analyst @ Veeam Software
-
- Veteran
- Posts: 636
- Liked: 100 times
- Joined: Mar 23, 2018 4:43 pm
- Full Name: EJ
- Location: London
- Contact:
Re: How to clear a repository
Seems to be ok to just delete the files out of the folders. Might have to run Active Full but will see how it goes.
-
- Product Manager
- Posts: 9848
- Liked: 2606 times
- Joined: May 13, 2017 4:51 pm
- Full Name: Fabian K.
- Location: Switzerland
- Contact:
Re: How to clear a repository
If you remove it manually from the folders, you have to remove it from the database after that.
1) Remove it from the folder
2) Rescan Backup Repo --> https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... ml?ver=110
3) Remove restore point data from the database --> https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... ml?ver=110
4) Run the active Full
It could be possible, that with removing the metadata file, you don't need to remove it from the database after the rescan. But I'm not sure about that
1) Remove it from the folder
2) Rescan Backup Repo --> https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... ml?ver=110
3) Remove restore point data from the database --> https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... ml?ver=110
4) Run the active Full
It could be possible, that with removing the metadata file, you don't need to remove it from the database after the rescan. But I'm not sure about that
Product Management Analyst @ Veeam Software
-
- Veteran
- Posts: 636
- Liked: 100 times
- Joined: Mar 23, 2018 4:43 pm
- Full Name: EJ
- Location: London
- Contact:
Re: How to clear a repository
I think you're right on the last point. If you empty the folder completely it starts building a new backup. Perhaps this is because these are backup copy jobs.
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: AndyCH, Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], mkretzer, Steve-nIP and 141 guests