Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
TitaniumCoder477
Veteran
Posts: 319
Liked: 49 times
Joined: Apr 07, 2015 1:53 pm
Full Name: James Wilmoth
Location: Kannapolis, North Carolina, USA
Contact:

How to remove roles?

Post by TitaniumCoder477 »

Use case: Migration of Veeam config from a Hyper-V server to a VMware virtual server
Backstory: The Hyper-V server went down hard and is not coming up any time soon. It was only functioning as a Veeam backup server which local virtualization capability. To get the backups operationally as quickly as possible, I stood up a VM on the VMware host and restored the Veeam config.
Problem: Veeam thinks the VMware VM is still a Hyper-V server, so it's trying to update the Hyper-V Integration component which is no longer relevant. Can't seem to get around it. Of course, when I try to upgrade anyway it fails because the VM isn't a Hyper-V server.

BEO-VEEAM was successfully modified.
OS version: Microsoft Windows Server 2019 Standard 64-bit (10.0.17763 build:17763).
Hardware info:
Chassis type: Virtual (VMware)
Cores count: 4
Components:
Hyper-V Integration using port 6163
Installer using port 6160
Mount Server using port 6170
Transport using port 6162
Veeam Agent for Linux Redistributable
Veeam Agent for Mac Redistributable
Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows Redistributable
Veeam Agent for Unix Redistributable
Veeam Backup VSS Integration using port 6210
Veeam Distribution Service using port 9380
Veeam VSS Hardware Snapshot Provider using port 6211
vPower NFS using port 6161

Image
foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 21165
Liked: 2148 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: How to remove roles?

Post by foggy »

Hi James, you can ask support to clean up the database so it stops thinking it's a Hyper-V host.
dan.macovei
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 01, 2019 11:11 am
Full Name: Macovei Dan Adrian
Contact:

Re: How to remove roles?

Post by dan.macovei »

We can run 2 PowerShell commands which confirm what roles our Veeam Server cannot serve and what components should be deleted, which will update the database as well.

I will present the PowerShell option here as it is faster.

For this you can perform the next action plan:

Step 1: Run a Veeam Configuration Backup> Running Configuration Backups Manually - https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... ml?ver=120
Step 2: Once the Configuration Backup is complete from the Veeam GUI open PowerShell
Step 3: Run the next queries which help identify what roles we should remove, in our current scenario the Hyper-V Integration Role.
Please note that you will have to edit the query and enter your VBR actual Hostname.

Validation of the roles will require the next command:

((get-vbrserver -Name VBRHostname).FindPhysicalHost().GetComponents()) | Where { $_.IsUpToDate -match 'False' }

Removal will require the next command:

((get-vbrserver -Name VBRHostname).FindPhysicalHost().GetComponents()) | ? { $_.Type -eq 'HostComponentTYPE' } | % { $_.Delete() }



Please see here an example:

Let's say the new Veeam server is named "MyVeeamBackupServer" then the PowerShell command will be: ((get-vbrserver -Name MyVeeamBackupServer).FindPhysicalHost().GetComponents()) | Where { $_.IsUpToDate -match 'False' }

The results should show the role which cannot be upgraded, in our case HvIntergration


Then we need to adjust the next command: ((get-vbrserver -Name MyVeeamBackupServer).FindPhysicalHost().GetComponents()) | ? { $_.Type -eq 'HostComponentTYPE' } | % { $_.Delete() }

Please note that the Name has to be adjusted to reflect the Veeam Server Hostname and then the 'TYPE' has to be changed to reflect what role we want to remove, which in the current scenario is the HvIntegration.

So, the PowerShell command for our example will be: ((get-vbrserver -Name MyVeeamBackupServer).FindPhysicalHost().GetComponents()) | ? { $_.Type -eq 'HvIntegration' } | % { $_.Delete() }


If more than one Component should be removed, then you need to run the second command for each of them.

After you run the PowerShell commands, close the Veeam GUI, then power it on and verify if any upgrade components wizard page opens. If it does, then complete the wizard and check the results.

Occasionally a Veeam rescan may be required or a refresh in the GUI (which can be achieved by pressing the "F5" keyboard key. )
Should this not work, revert Veeam to its previous state using the Configuration Restore https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... ml?ver=120
Then raise a case with Veeam support and provide a copy of the Veeam Database as instructed here: https://www.veeam.com/kb1471#:~:text=Sq ... e%20Backup
To ease the process, confirm the database engine used for the Veeam Database.
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 151 guests