Availability for the Always-On Enterprise
rimvydukas
Enthusiast
Posts: 93
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Jun 04, 2013 8:15 am
Contact:

How to rename Vmware Backup Proxy

Post by rimvydukas » Jun 21, 2013 5:15 am

Hi,

When I create new backup proxy it is created with a name "Vmware Backup Proxy" which is too general. So my question would be - is it possible to change this name to more descriptive one? Thanks.

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15234
Liked: 1146 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: How to rename Vmware Backup Proxy

Post by v.Eremin » Jun 21, 2013 7:48 am

"Vmware Backup Proxy"
This is the name of default VB&R proxy; other proxy servers are named in accordance with their DNS names or IP addresses, depending on the way they have been added to backup console.

For now the only possible way to provide more detailed information about proxy server is to fill the corresponding “description” field.

Thanks.

rimvydukas
Enthusiast
Posts: 93
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Jun 04, 2013 8:15 am
Contact:

Re: How to rename Vmware Backup Proxy

Post by rimvydukas » Jun 21, 2013 7:58 am 1 person likes this post

Then there goes another feature request - ability to change backup proxy name :)

doomi
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 38
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Aug 11, 2015 3:31 pm
Full Name: Dominic Wyss
Contact:

Re: How to rename Vmware Backup Proxy

Post by doomi » Sep 12, 2015 4:26 pm

it still seems not possible to rename the first proxy server :(

it's disturbing to have multiple proxies, each with it's real server name, but the first one is just called "VMware Backup Proxy".

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15234
Liked: 1146 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: How to rename Vmware Backup Proxy

Post by v.Eremin » Sep 14, 2015 8:55 am

In this case, you might want ask support team whether they are aware of ways to change the said name inside the product database. Thanks.

plochner
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 04, 2015 12:04 am
Full Name: Phil L
Contact:

Re: How to rename Vmware Backup Proxy

Post by plochner » Mar 01, 2016 10:35 pm

What is the status on this 2.5 year old feature request? I have 5 proxies in my organization, all of them named properly, except for my very first created proxy, which is stupidly named "VMWare Backup Proxy" and I can't change it. When I'm creating backup jobs in other sites I can easily determine what belongs where, since my proxy name is texas-proxy.mysite.net, I need to match that with texas-repo.mysite.net.

However "VMware Backup Proxy" doesn't provide me with this. I can't even add "california-proxy.mysite.net" because it knows that it's already been assigned to "VMWare Backup Proxy".

Gostev
Veeam Software
Posts: 23119
Liked: 2917 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: How to rename Vmware Backup Proxy

Post by Gostev » Mar 01, 2016 11:02 pm

plochner wrote:What is the status on this 2.5 year old feature request?
Not enough demand in the past 2.5 years to justify implementation.

thomas.biesmans
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mar 22, 2013 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: How to rename Vmware Backup Proxy

Post by thomas.biesmans » May 10, 2016 10:29 am 1 person likes this post

Gostev wrote:Not enough demand in the past 2.5 years to justify implementation.
TL;DR: possible pre-v9 and in v9.

Anton... Shouldn't be a feature request, this is just an oversight. Not being able to rename a Backup Proxy, in such a dynamic product, is just foolish.
How can you look at the following list and not be irked by it? When selecting proxies in a backup job the description is not even shown...
- VMware Backup Proxy
- BE_VSRV_WIN_VEEAM02
- BE_VSRV_WIN_VEEAM03
- NL_VSRV_WIN_VEEAM01
- NL_VSRV_WIN_VEEAM02

I wouldn't open a feature request for something like this, I just get frustrated and upset and in the end give up... It's one of those little gripe things.

At least v8 allowed you to work around this using standard operations:
- add the first backup server as a new managed Windows server, using FQDN,
- delete the default 'VMware Backup Proxy' (I'm thinking after changing the config backup to a new repository with a non-default name ;)),
- re-create a Proxy using the new managed server and name.

In v9 the first server is already listed using its FQDN, yet when deleting and re-creating the default Proxy Veeam still uses 'VMware Backup Proxy' for the name... -.- Unlike every other Proxy where the FQDN is used. Luckily you can still do it using SQL:
- Stop Veeam services, except for SQL.
- Use SQL Management Studio, edit table 'dbo.BackupProxies' and change the name to an FQDN.
- Start Veeam services.

Encountered it in a new installation, running backups off this newly named Proxy works, still need to test further.

Matthieu
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: May 26, 2016 11:45 am
Full Name: Matthieu S
Contact:

Re: How to rename Vmware Backup Proxy

Post by Matthieu » May 27, 2016 11:50 am

thomas.biesmans wrote:
In v9 the first server is already listed using its FQDN, yet when deleting and re-creating the default Proxy Veeam still uses 'VMware Backup Proxy' for the name... -.- Unlike every other Proxy where the FQDN is used. Luckily you can still do it using SQL:
- Stop Veeam services, except for SQL.
- Use SQL Management Studio, edit table 'dbo.BackupProxies' and change the name to an FQDN.
- Start Veeam services.

Encountered it in a new installation, running backups off this newly named Proxy works, still need to test further.

Could you tell us if your solution worked like a charm.. or not?

thx by advance

sanktis
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 25, 2011 7:30 am
Full Name: Florian Shcmutz
Contact:

Re: How to rename Vmware Backup Proxy

Post by sanktis » Nov 29, 2016 9:48 am

Hi i have the same issue. I like to rename the Default VMWare Backup Proxy to the FQDN of the Server.
Does the SQL Manipulation works?

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15234
Liked: 1146 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: How to rename Vmware Backup Proxy

Post by v.Eremin » Nov 29, 2016 10:10 am

The said approach has not been tested by us. So, it seems you're on your own here.

I'd recommend backing up server configuration prior to editing product database in order to be the safe side.

Thanks.

dropped91
Influencer
Posts: 19
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 25, 2016 12:30 pm
Contact:

[MERGED] Feature Request: Rename Backup Proxies

Post by dropped91 » Feb 08, 2017 12:04 pm

Hi,

I have a feature request:
I want to rename my existing proxies.
This is actually impossible.

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6042
Liked: 523 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: How to rename Vmware Backup Proxy

Post by Shestakov » Feb 08, 2017 12:18 pm

Hi,
Could you specify your request?
Do you want to rename to default proxy or all of them?
Thanks!

dropped91
Influencer
Posts: 19
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 25, 2016 12:30 pm
Contact:

Re: How to rename Vmware Backup Proxy

Post by dropped91 » Feb 08, 2017 12:32 pm

If it possible I want to rename all my backup proxies.
For the first time it would be enough to rename the default backup proxy.

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6042
Liked: 523 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: How to rename Vmware Backup Proxy

Post by Shestakov » Feb 08, 2017 12:40 pm

There is no way to rename the default proxy via UI, however you may contact the support team and check whether they can change the said name inside the product database.
For other proxies you can re-add them with new names and edit the jobs if needed.
Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], James_B and 62 guests