Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
vfrolov
Influencer
Posts: 21
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 08, 2010 1:37 pm
Full Name: Vyacheslav Frolov
Contact:

How to repair replication jobs after renaming datastore?

Post by vfrolov » May 06, 2011 1:08 pm

While adding a standalone host with local datastore "disk array" to vCenter the vCenter renames the datastore to "disk array (1)" because other datastore "disk array" already exists for vCenter.

Aafter renaming all replication jobs targeted to the renamed datastore stop working with error.

Any ideas?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23003
Liked: 1559 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: How to repair replication jobs after renaming datastore?

Post by Vitaliy S. » May 06, 2011 1:36 pm

The only idea I have so far is to try to change destination for your replication job in case you haven't done that already.

I have removed the logs you posted. For any technical issues requiring logs investigation you need to contact support directly with full log files, as explained when you click New Topic.

jpaul
Enthusiast
Posts: 88
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Apr 19, 2010 1:14 am
Full Name: Justin Paul
Contact:

Re: How to repair replication jobs after renaming datastore?

Post by jpaul » May 10, 2011 2:13 pm

Pretty sure Veeam doesnt care about what the datastore is called. It only cares about the unique id (UUID) of the datastore. It "shouldnt" matter if you just rename the datastore, but if you reformat the datastore or somehow resignature it with a new UUID then its time to reseed.

vfrolov
Influencer
Posts: 21
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 08, 2010 1:37 pm
Full Name: Vyacheslav Frolov
Contact:

Re: How to repair replication jobs after renaming datastore?

Post by vfrolov » May 11, 2011 5:39 am

jpaul wrote:Pretty sure Veeam doesnt care about what the datastore is called. It only cares about the unique id (UUID) of the datastore. It "shouldnt" matter if you just rename the datastore, but if you reformat the datastore or somehow resignature it with a new UUID then its time to reseed.
The following scenario is 100% reproducible on my test system with Veeam Backup & Replication 5.0.2.230 (32 bit).

1. Create a job and start replication

replication result: Success

2. Rename destination datastore from "disk array" to "disk array (1)" and start replication

replication result: Fail

3. Rename destination datastore back from "disk array (1)" to "disk array" and start replication

replication result: Success

So Veeam is sensitive to destination datastore name changes.

tsightler
VP, Product Management
Posts: 5421
Liked: 2243 times
Joined: Jun 05, 2009 12:57 pm
Full Name: Tom Sightler
Contact:

Re: How to repair replication jobs after renaming datastore?

Post by tsightler » May 11, 2011 1:00 pm

After you rename the datastore do you edit the replication job to reflect the new name? I think that's all you have to do.

vfrolov
Influencer
Posts: 21
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 08, 2010 1:37 pm
Full Name: Vyacheslav Frolov
Contact:

Re: How to repair replication jobs after renaming datastore?

Post by vfrolov » May 11, 2011 1:53 pm

Re-choosing the datastore in the job properties has no any effect.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24810
Liked: 3571 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: How to repair replication jobs after renaming datastore?

Post by Gostev » May 11, 2011 2:07 pm

You may have to restart Veeam Backup service to clear cached infrastructure data before doing this though.

vfrolov
Influencer
Posts: 21
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 08, 2010 1:37 pm
Full Name: Vyacheslav Frolov
Contact:

Re: How to repair replication jobs after renaming datastore?

Post by vfrolov » May 12, 2011 5:58 am

Restarting service and rebooting system do not help.

vfrolov
Influencer
Posts: 21
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 08, 2010 1:37 pm
Full Name: Vyacheslav Frolov
Contact:

Re: How to repair replication jobs after renaming datastore?

Post by vfrolov » May 13, 2011 9:41 am

BTW: The following scenario (with using second datastore “iSCSI-XVS-NAS”) works fine on my test system:

1. ‘Remove from Inventory’ original replica VM (with vSphere Client)
2. Copy replica VM subfolder from '[disk array (1)] VeeamBackup' to '[iSCSI-XVS-NAS] VeeamBackup' (with vSphere Client)
3. ‘Add to Inventory’ copied replica VM (with vSphere Client)
4. re-choose the datastore ‘iSCSI-XVS-NAS’ in the job properties (with Veeam B&R)
5. ‘Delete from Disk’ copied replica VM and VM’s subfolder from '[iSCSI-XVS-NAS] VeeamBackup' (with vSphere Client)
6. ‘Add to Inventory’ original replica VM (with vSphere Client)
7. re-choose the datastore ‘[disk array (1)]’ in the job properties (with Veeam B&R)

But this scenario is too complicated, slow, ... and is not helpful for restoring big replicas :(

Softeis
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 21, 2010 10:28 am
Contact:

Veeam & Datastores - Alias or UUID?

Post by Softeis » May 27, 2011 10:03 am

[merged]

Hi,
VMware uses always the UUID from the Datastores. So, it is no problem at all to rename the alias.
In case of Veeam, it seems to be diffrent. No Backupjob works, after renaming a Datastore (alias) to which the job was pointing to.

Is this behavior by Design?
How can i fix it? Can i update the cache or DB? Is there an option to switch to UUID identification?

Any help, workaround or solution will be appreciated.

Thank you!

cdf
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: May 20, 2011 3:34 pm
Contact:

Re: How to repair replication jobs after renaming datastore?

Post by cdf » Jul 12, 2011 4:46 pm

I opened a ticket with support and this is what they told me.

"I have gone over your ticket and have come to the conclusion that you will need to delete the replica from disk and retry the job. Please advise."

vfrolov
Influencer
Posts: 21
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 08, 2010 1:37 pm
Full Name: Vyacheslav Frolov
Contact:

Re: How to repair replication jobs after renaming datastore?

Post by vfrolov » Jul 13, 2011 8:53 am

I opened a ticket with support too and this is what they told me.
that's the way the product works now
Yes, this issue is already in our "fix list", so it would be done in one of the future releases
Maybe another workaround would be to create a folder "VeeamBackup" on [iSCSI-XVS-NAS] datastore, create a subfolder "test VM(656)" and put empty files with the same name (e.g. 2011-06-01T162243.vbk) to that datastore
I've tested "another workaround" and it works fine on my test system.

Here is the scenario:

1. Create VM subfolder with empty files in '[iSCSI-XVS-NAS] VeeamBackup' (like VM subfolder of '[disk array (1)] VeeamBackup')
2. re-choose the datastore ‘iSCSI-XVS-NAS’ in the job properties (with Veeam B&R)
3. re-choose the datastore ‘[disk array (1)]’ in the job properties (with Veeam B&R)
4. Remove VM subfolder with empty files in '[iSCSI-XVS-NAS] VeeamBackup'

vfrolov
Influencer
Posts: 21
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 08, 2010 1:37 pm
Full Name: Vyacheslav Frolov
Contact:

Re: How to repair replication jobs after renaming datastore?

Post by vfrolov » Oct 28, 2011 6:49 pm

Here is a more simple workaround.

The ESX(i) host should be accessible from Veeam B&R via second IP address so second VMKernel should be created.

1. Add Server Standalone ESX(i) host "second IP address" to Veeam B&R.
2. Change job properties - choose Replica destination "second IP address"/"new datastore name".
3. Change job properties - choose Replica destination "first IP address"/"new datastore name".
4. Remove Server "second IP address".

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Giofox, Google [Bot], Gostev, markotsg, pls and 77 guests