Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
JustinCredible
Influencer
Liked: 3 times
Full Name: Justin D

I love Veeam!

Post by JustinCredible » 3 people like this post

hello hello,
I've been using VEEAM now for a couple of years to backup our two vSphere hosts. It's always worked great for us, but I had Veeam on a physical server separate from my VM's. The speed was acceptable, a couple of hours, but I didn't know how crazy fast it could be.
I just set up Veeam on a VM, with a Repository as the physical server it used to be on. Then I added an additional proxy on the host Veeam was on, and two on the other host. I set the transport modes to only Virtual Appliance and voila! I'm now backing up the exact same amount of data I was in two hours, but now in half an hour (and 57 seconds)! We used to get around 15-20mbit processing rate, and now we get over 100 consistently, and my last backups ran at over 250.

Quite amazing I must say.

I don't know why I hadn't tried this before, I just wanted to keep veeam fully separate from the infrastructure. But I suppose all that really matters is the backup files that are created are fully separate.

I was a little grumpy that WAN acceleration wasn't included in Standard edition, and I apologize for that. I still think most marketing said "built into veeam" so heavily it implied that it wasn't limited by version, but at the back of my mind I kinda figured it would be. Sometimes I don't agree with the licensing schemes of software companies these days (not just veeam) but man do you guys make one hell of a product and I have to commend you. If we could afford it and justify it, we probably would have Enterprise edition.