Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
micros
Service Provider
Posts: 3
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Apr 01, 2011 6:12 am
Full Name: Michael Rosén
Contact:

Item Level(AD,Exchange,SQL) restore to untrusted domain

Post by micros »

Hi,
We are looking into using Veeam for our hosting business and it so far looks like a very good candidate.
But, I have a question.

We use Hyper-V 2016 for virtualization and are hosting a lot of different customer domains on this platform.
The Veeam server(s) will be joined to the same domain as our Hyper-V hosts so the backup of VM's and AD,SQL etc. should not be a problem.

But when it comes to restore, is it possible for us to restore for example an AD object directly to a customers domain from our Veeam server?
I know we can fully restore a VM and VHD-files but what about "Item Level" restore?
The customers domains and networks are isolated from our hosting domain and network so no network communication from the Veeam server to the customers domain/network.

We could of course open up some firewall ports into the customers domain/network for our Veeam server which I suppose would be necessary but I haven't found any good info on how this should work from a hosters perspective.
This is right now the only "dealbreaker" that stops us from proceeding so I hope to get some answers, even if it's not possible we at least need to know.

DGrinev
Expert
Posts: 1943
Liked: 248 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: Item Level(AD,Exchange,SQL) restore to untrusted domain

Post by DGrinev »

Hi Michael and welcome to the community!
micros wrote:But when it comes to restore, is it possible for us to restore for example an AD object directly to a customers domain from our Veeam server?
The customers domains and networks are isolated from our hosting domain and network so no network communication from the Veeam server to the customers domain/network.
You can perform item-level recovery only if you have a network connection with the following permissions.
micros wrote:We could of course open up some firewall ports into the customers domain/network for our Veeam server which I suppose would be necessary but I haven't found any good info on how this should work from a hosters perspective.
Please, review Used Ports for item-level restores of AD, SQL and Exchange.
Do not hesitate to ask additional questions. Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 63 guests