Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
topry
Enthusiast
Posts: 49
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jan 07, 2011 9:30 pm
Full Name: Tim O'Pry
Contact:

Job disabled while running auto re-enables

Post by topry » Mar 05, 2013 1:34 pm

Are jobs that are disabled while running suppose to re-enable themselves when execution completes?

If we need to perform maintenance/resolve some issue, we will manually disable our jobs (context menu or toolbar at top of UI), then re-enable upon resolution.
However, if a job happens to be running at the time and we disable it, the UI shows disabled but immediately after the job completes, it is set back to enabled.
This requires us to be monitoring the jobs and wait for them to complete and then disable them, which if there is little time between jobs limits the window of opportunity.

Also, if we modify the settings of a job that is running, ie check/uncheck post-job activity it isn't saved/honored for the currently running job.

Should it be possible to set the job status to disabled while running and have it retain that after execution?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18288
Liked: 1568 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Job disabled while running auto re-enables

Post by foggy » Mar 05, 2013 2:18 pm

topry wrote:Should it be possible to set the job status to disabled while running and have it retain that after execution?
Tim, we've just tried to reproduce this behavior in our lab and this does not seem to show up in most of the cases. In fact, we had it re-enabled only once, in other cases the job that we disabled during execution kept this status upon completion. So this seems to depend on something, not sure on what exactly. I will pass this information to our QC for investigation.

Btw, what Veeam B&R version are you using? Do you see this behavior in 100% of cases?

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16908
Liked: 1440 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Job disabled while running auto re-enables

Post by veremin » Mar 05, 2013 2:57 pm

In addition, for the purpose of convenience, it might be worth running simple powershell script responsible for disabling scheduler on the given jobs instead of doing it manually.

The following script will disable scheduler:

Code: Select all

asnp VeeamPSSnapin
$JobNames=@("Name of a first Job”,"Name of a second", “etc.”) # There should be the names of the jobs you’re willing to disable scheduler on.
foreach ($JobtoInclude in $Jobnames)
{
  $JobtoInclude = Get-VBRJob -name $JobNames
  $JobtoInclude.DisableScheduler()
} 
And this one will re-enable it again:

Code: Select all

asnp VeeamPSSnapin
$JobNames=@("Name of a first Job”,"Name of a second", “etc.”)
foreach ($JobtoInclude in $Jobnames)
{
  $JobtoInclude = Get-VBRJob -name $JobNames
  $JobtoInclude.EnableScheduler()
} 
Hope this helps.
Thanks.

topry
Enthusiast
Posts: 49
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jan 07, 2011 9:30 pm
Full Name: Tim O'Pry
Contact:

Re: Job disabled while running auto re-enables

Post by topry » Mar 05, 2013 11:15 pm

We are using version 6.5.0.106 and yes, it has happened each time we have tried it, though that is less than a dozen over the past 14 days.
Thanks for the PS script, I will try that next time.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Alexander S., Bing [Bot], Dima P., iafifi and 58 guests