Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
koenj
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 16, 2009 7:31 pm
Full Name: koen janssens
Contact:

location of veeam server

Post by koenj »

Hi,

I didn't find a conclusive answer in the forums about this, so here goes...
Provided you're backing up or replicating data over a wan link with 2 sites separated by a vpn,
If you want to use data-deduplication and compression, does it matter whether the veeam server is located at the source or target site?
And, is there a difference between an esxi or an esx source host?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24355
Liked: 1897 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: location of veeam server

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hi Koen,

No, it doesn't matter, in both cases you'll have data de-duplication and compression presented.

Please have a look at different Pros and Cons of installing Veeam Backup server on the production site and the DR, might be helpful:

http://www.veeam.com/forums/viewtopic.p ... 8738#p8738

By the way, could you please describe your virtual infrastructure setup? What host versions are you running?

Thanks!

nicko82
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: May 18, 2010 1:25 pm
Full Name: Nicholas Mangraviti
Contact:

Re: location of veeam server

Post by nicko82 »

Hi Guys,

I beleive running the Veeam server at the DR site is faster for replication, however I found only the initial first full backup to take longer if you run the Veeam server at DR intstead of the production site.

Please see my post here: http://www.veeam.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=3767

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: a0rebecca0, Google [Bot], mweissen13, petr.pribyl and 65 guests