Availability for the Always-On Enterprise
Post Reply
BIGNOOKIE
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: May 07, 2017 10:51 pm
Full Name: Nick Johnston
Contact:

Move backups between storage

Post by BIGNOOKIE » Aug 09, 2018 9:05 pm

What I am wanting to do is to backup to SSD first (RAID0), because it's fast and then once the backup has been completed B&R moves the files to a lower tier of storage (RAID10).
Much like a backup copy job but it moves instead.
I was hoping that the scale out repository would be able to achieve that but all you can do is split your vbk's & vib's between extents.
Is this possible?
Would the job have to be solely setup in Powershell and I guess rescan the repository once the files have been moved?

Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
Posts: 5000
Liked: 530 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Move backups between storage

Post by Mike Resseler » Aug 10, 2018 5:47 am

Hey Nick,

So you want to create a backup, let it do merges and stuff (and all the heavy lifting), and when that is done, in the backend, move the data to a next tier of storage. Correct?
There might be a few possibilities:
1. Consider your SSD as a repository01
2. Consider your HDD as repository02
3. Create a backup job and point it to repository01 with a very small amount of restore points. In the backup job, link a backup copy job so it copies the data to repository02. Because of the small amount of restore points, VBR will automatically clearout the older restore points keeping the data on repository01 limited.

Another (upcoming) item that might help you with this is the archive tier

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests