Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

[MERGED] New Veeam guy here!

Veeam Logoby kubimike » Fri Feb 03, 2017 2:41 pm

Hi everyone, new customer .. Here from MSFT DPM Land :) Like the new Veeam 9.5 so far! Question for you guys, it comes with SQL express 2012, my DBs are larger then 10 gig. I have a license for SQL 2016 Standard. I know Veeam 9.5 supports backing up SQL 2016. It would seem obvious that installing SQL 2016 locally for Veeam to use its 'Veeambackup' DB would be supported. Just want to confirm that is the case before I upgrade SQL!

TIA
kubimike
Expert
 
Posts: 143
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2017 2:34 pm
Full Name: MikeO

Re: New Veeam guy here!

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Fri Feb 03, 2017 3:33 pm

Hi Mike and welcome to the community!
Yes, Microsoft SQL Server 2016 is supported.
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4530
Liked: 362 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: New Veeam guy here!

Veeam Logoby kubimike » Fri Feb 03, 2017 3:44 pm

Thank you, I assume the process is to backup Veeam from the console, dismount the database from sqlexpress, install SQL 2016 mount the DB, use dbconfig and point veeam to the new instance ?
kubimike
Expert
 
Posts: 143
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2017 2:34 pm
Full Name: MikeO

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Fri Feb 03, 2017 4:05 pm

Correct.
You can use the DBConfig utility for that.
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4530
Liked: 362 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Veeam Logoby justin23 » Wed Feb 15, 2017 11:12 pm

I've just migrated Veeam 9.5 update 1 from a SQL 2012 server to a SQL 2014 Availability group.
I can't seem to work outthe settings i need to make to the registry to get Veeam to talk to the Database.

I've tried all sorts of combinations with the server name instance name, AG listener name and having no luck.
justin23
Influencer
 
Posts: 22
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 5:49 am
Full Name: Justin Watson

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Veeam Logoby justin23 » Fri Feb 17, 2017 1:30 am

The DBconfig utility fixed my problem. ran it and tested the connection and then Veeam worked fine. I didn't change any settings though......
justin23
Influencer
 
Posts: 22
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 5:49 am
Full Name: Justin Watson

Previous

Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mkretzer, Yahoo [Bot] and 21 guests