Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
kubimike
Expert
Posts: 339
Liked: 40 times
Joined: Feb 03, 2017 2:34 pm
Full Name: MikeO
Contact:

[MERGED] New Veeam guy here!

Post by kubimike »

Hi everyone, new customer .. Here from MSFT DPM Land :) Like the new Veeam 9.5 so far! Question for you guys, it comes with SQL express 2012, my DBs are larger then 10 gig. I have a license for SQL 2016 Standard. I know Veeam 9.5 supports backing up SQL 2016. It would seem obvious that installing SQL 2016 locally for Veeam to use its 'Veeambackup' DB would be supported. Just want to confirm that is the case before I upgrade SQL!

TIA

Shestakov
Expert
Posts: 7328
Liked: 773 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: New Veeam guy here!

Post by Shestakov »

Hi Mike and welcome to the community!
Yes, Microsoft SQL Server 2016 is supported.

kubimike
Expert
Posts: 339
Liked: 40 times
Joined: Feb 03, 2017 2:34 pm
Full Name: MikeO
Contact:

Re: New Veeam guy here!

Post by kubimike »

Thank you, I assume the process is to backup Veeam from the console, dismount the database from sqlexpress, install SQL 2016 mount the DB, use dbconfig and point veeam to the new instance ?

Shestakov
Expert
Posts: 7328
Liked: 773 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Post by Shestakov »

Correct.
You can use the DBConfig utility for that.
Thanks!

justin23
Enthusiast
Posts: 27
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Apr 07, 2014 5:49 am
Full Name: Justin Watson
Contact:

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Post by justin23 »

I've just migrated Veeam 9.5 update 1 from a SQL 2012 server to a SQL 2014 Availability group.
I can't seem to work outthe settings i need to make to the registry to get Veeam to talk to the Database.

I've tried all sorts of combinations with the server name instance name, AG listener name and having no luck.

justin23
Enthusiast
Posts: 27
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Apr 07, 2014 5:49 am
Full Name: Justin Watson
Contact:

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Post by justin23 »

The DBconfig utility fixed my problem. ran it and tested the connection and then Veeam worked fine. I didn't change any settings though......

masonit
Service Provider
Posts: 248
Liked: 17 times
Joined: Oct 09, 2012 2:30 pm
Full Name: Magnus
Contact:

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Post by masonit »

Hi

Is their any performance issues in not having Veeam database on the same server as VBR server? Today we have Veeam databases on the same server as VBR. But planning to consolidate VBR databases (3) to one SQL server.

\Masonit

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24030
Liked: 1794 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Using remote SQL Server is actually a recommended approach, so you will not see any performance penalty when offloading the database to another SQL Server.

nlaurino
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 28, 2013 2:46 pm
Full Name: Nick Laurino
Contact:

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Post by nlaurino »

Can you give instructions on moving the Veeam database from the backup server to a new SQL 2016 server? We are trying to implement a DR plan, and want to be able to recover our Veeam backup server from the DR site.
Nick Laurino

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 19219
Liked: 1723 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Post by foggy »

You can use configuration backup functionality to repoint your backup server to another SQL Server.

nlaurino
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 28, 2013 2:46 pm
Full Name: Nick Laurino
Contact:

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Post by nlaurino »

Will doing this keep all configurations, jobs,and other settings? We don't want to have to recreate things or lose access to all of our backups and replicas.
Nick Laurino

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 19219
Liked: 1723 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Post by foggy »

If you backup configuration, switch to another SQL Server and then restore configuration to it, you will keep everything you had configured on your old backup server.

nlaurino
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 28, 2013 2:46 pm
Full Name: Nick Laurino
Contact:

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Post by nlaurino »

Thank you.
Nick Laurino

vijay.mc968
Influencer
Posts: 24
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 14, 2014 4:29 pm
Full Name: Vijay Rana
Contact:

[MERGED] Database Schema Version for Veeam B&R 9.5.4.2866

Post by vijay.mc968 »

No change to the version Veeam B&R 9.5.4.2866. I am trying to migrate database 'VeeamBackup' from SQL Server Standard to Express.

Old Instance - SQL Server 2012 Standard.
New Instance - SQL Server 2019 Express.

After restoring the database on the new instance, while reconfiguring database using Veeam.Backup.DBConfig.exe, getting below error.

Unable to use database VeeamBackup, because it was not created with current version of Veeam Backup and Replication.

Can someone guide me what is the schema version of 9.5.4.2866, and is it accomplishable using updating version like mentioned in https://www.veeam.com/kb1845

Thanks
Vijay

wishr
Veeam Software
Posts: 1697
Liked: 187 times
Joined: Aug 07, 2018 3:11 pm
Full Name: Fedor Maslov
Contact:

Re: Database Schema Version for Veeam B&R 9.5.4.2866

Post by wishr »

Hi Vijay,

It's usually recommended to use DB Config Utility along with configuration backup for such migrations. I'm merging your question with an existing tread containing additional information.

Thanks

vijay.mc968
Influencer
Posts: 24
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 14, 2014 4:29 pm
Full Name: Vijay Rana
Contact:

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Post by vijay.mc968 »

I have taken configuration backup as well. The new and old instances are on the same this Veeam server where I restored DB. So where configuration backup will come into the picture as what I did.


1. Stopped Veeam Jobs
2. Took configuration backup.
3. Stopped Veeam Services.
4. Took SQL DB 'VeeamBackup' backup.
5. Installed new instance with SQL express on the same server.
6. Restored database on new instance with user and permission.
7. After this, I am trying DB Config Utility where I am getting error.

Let me know If this is incorrect way..

Note - I haven't uninstalled old SQL version and started services yet
Thanks

vijay.mc968
Influencer
Posts: 24
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 14, 2014 4:29 pm
Full Name: Vijay Rana
Contact:

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Post by vijay.mc968 »

Any help on this !!

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24030
Liked: 1794 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hi Vijay,

Why do you perform step 6 if you already have all the data in the configuration backup? If you want to move data, then do a fresh install of Veeam B&R and then import the config backup without restoring or touching the old database. Here is a UG page for more info > Migrating Configuration Database

Thanks!

wishr
Veeam Software
Posts: 1697
Liked: 187 times
Joined: Aug 07, 2018 3:11 pm
Full Name: Fedor Maslov
Contact:

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Post by wishr »

Step four is also not necessary due to the same reason Vitaliy mentioned - the backup of the SQL database is included in the configuration backup. Thanks.

rosmith42
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 19, 2014 9:33 pm
Full Name: RobS
Contact:

[MERGED] Migrate SQL datbase to another server from Veeam

Post by rosmith42 »

We have Veeam backup and replicate 10 installed on a physical server and the SQL database is local.
We now want move the SQL database over to a SQL server. What is the proper way to go about doing this?

Natalia Lupacheva
Veeam Software
Posts: 111
Liked: 37 times
Joined: Apr 27, 2020 12:46 pm
Full Name: Natalia Lupacheva
Contact:

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Post by Natalia Lupacheva » 1 person likes this post

Hi,

I've merged your post to the existing thread with the discussions on Database migration.
You can use knowledge base article or a step-by-step instruction written by our SE.

After you migrate database to the new server you will need to repoint VBR to the new DB instance.

Thanks!

Amit2728
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 09, 2019 5:29 am
Full Name: Amit Caliaberah
Contact:

[MERGED] Veeam db to new sql server

Post by Amit2728 »

Hello community,
My client is in the process of migrating to a new sql server (2016 to 2019). The VBR version is 9.5 u4. He intends to migrate VBR db and Veeam One db to the new sql server.
I am looking some KBs such as using Veeam.Backup.DBConfig.exe Utility and https://www.veeam.com/kb1599. Is there any other implications that i should consider before proceeding?
Grateful to share your views if you have have done such migration.
Keep safe. :wink:

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24030
Liked: 1794 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Post by Vitaliy S. »

For Veeam B&R migration, please review the latest post from Natalia. For the Veeam ONE piece, the KB you've referenced should be enough. Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 19 guests