Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
kubimike
Expert
Posts: 334
Liked: 40 times
Joined: Feb 03, 2017 2:34 pm
Full Name: MikeO
Contact:

[MERGED] New Veeam guy here!

Post by kubimike » Feb 03, 2017 2:41 pm

Hi everyone, new customer .. Here from MSFT DPM Land :) Like the new Veeam 9.5 so far! Question for you guys, it comes with SQL express 2012, my DBs are larger then 10 gig. I have a license for SQL 2016 Standard. I know Veeam 9.5 supports backing up SQL 2016. It would seem obvious that installing SQL 2016 locally for Veeam to use its 'Veeambackup' DB would be supported. Just want to confirm that is the case before I upgrade SQL!

TIA

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6680
Liked: 666 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: New Veeam guy here!

Post by Shestakov » Feb 03, 2017 3:33 pm

Hi Mike and welcome to the community!
Yes, Microsoft SQL Server 2016 is supported.

kubimike
Expert
Posts: 334
Liked: 40 times
Joined: Feb 03, 2017 2:34 pm
Full Name: MikeO
Contact:

Re: New Veeam guy here!

Post by kubimike » Feb 03, 2017 3:44 pm

Thank you, I assume the process is to backup Veeam from the console, dismount the database from sqlexpress, install SQL 2016 mount the DB, use dbconfig and point veeam to the new instance ?

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6680
Liked: 666 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Post by Shestakov » Feb 03, 2017 4:05 pm

Correct.
You can use the DBConfig utility for that.
Thanks!

justin23
Enthusiast
Posts: 27
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Apr 07, 2014 5:49 am
Full Name: Justin Watson
Contact:

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Post by justin23 » Feb 15, 2017 11:12 pm

I've just migrated Veeam 9.5 update 1 from a SQL 2012 server to a SQL 2014 Availability group.
I can't seem to work outthe settings i need to make to the registry to get Veeam to talk to the Database.

I've tried all sorts of combinations with the server name instance name, AG listener name and having no luck.

justin23
Enthusiast
Posts: 27
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Apr 07, 2014 5:49 am
Full Name: Justin Watson
Contact:

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Post by justin23 » Feb 17, 2017 1:30 am

The DBconfig utility fixed my problem. ran it and tested the connection and then Veeam worked fine. I didn't change any settings though......

masonit
Service Provider
Posts: 211
Liked: 14 times
Joined: Oct 09, 2012 2:30 pm
Full Name: Magnus
Contact:

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Post by masonit » Feb 28, 2018 7:41 am

Hi

Is their any performance issues in not having Veeam database on the same server as VBR server? Today we have Veeam databases on the same server as VBR. But planning to consolidate VBR databases (3) to one SQL server.

\Masonit

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22553
Liked: 1480 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Post by Vitaliy S. » Mar 02, 2018 10:23 am

Using remote SQL Server is actually a recommended approach, so you will not see any performance penalty when offloading the database to another SQL Server.

nlaurino
Influencer
Posts: 13
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 28, 2013 2:46 pm
Full Name: Nick Laurino
Contact:

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Post by nlaurino » Mar 20, 2019 12:01 pm

Can you give instructions on moving the Veeam database from the backup server to a new SQL 2016 server? We are trying to implement a DR plan, and want to be able to recover our Veeam backup server from the DR site.
Nick Laurino

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17918
Liked: 1506 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Post by foggy » Mar 20, 2019 5:23 pm

You can use configuration backup functionality to repoint your backup server to another SQL Server.

nlaurino
Influencer
Posts: 13
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 28, 2013 2:46 pm
Full Name: Nick Laurino
Contact:

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Post by nlaurino » Mar 20, 2019 6:06 pm

Will doing this keep all configurations, jobs,and other settings? We don't want to have to recreate things or lose access to all of our backups and replicas.
Nick Laurino

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17918
Liked: 1506 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Post by foggy » Mar 20, 2019 6:13 pm

If you backup configuration, switch to another SQL Server and then restore configuration to it, you will keep everything you had configured on your old backup server.

nlaurino
Influencer
Posts: 13
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 28, 2013 2:46 pm
Full Name: Nick Laurino
Contact:

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Post by nlaurino » Mar 20, 2019 6:32 pm

Thank you.
Nick Laurino

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AdiXen, Exabot [Bot], Google [Bot], tsightler, Zach123 and 23 guests