Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
mtahay
Novice
Liked: 2 times
Full Name: Michèle Tahay

multiple snapshot backups detected on sql, but only 1 restore point

Post by mtahay »

Hello,

I am a Sql Server DBA working for a customer using Veeam (partially) for sql backup & restores.
I have access to the Veeam Backup and Replication tool, where I see the sql servers split-up in multiple Veeam backup jobs.
I cannot see the properties of the jobs nor can I edit them. I did got enough permissions to see the jobs and their content, and restore single databases (they are taken with application aware on).

For some of the servers though, although I see only a restore point every 2 days in the Veeam B&R tool but whey I look through sql server at these servers I have multiple instances of backups per day registered in msdb. The Veeam job is supposed to run every day, but gets delayed because of one big (sharepoint) server.

I have already asked the IT department if there was something missing from my permissions, but could there be another explanations for what I see?

Kind regards,

Michèle
foggy
Veeam Software
Liked: 2115 times
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: multiple snapshot backups detected on sql, but only 1 restore point

Post by foggy »

Hi Michèle, any chance those 'multiple instances of backups per day' are related to transaction logs backup?
PetrM
Veeam Software
Liked: 528 times
Full Name: Petr Makarov

Post by PetrM »

Hello,

The behavior is expected even without transaction log backup enabled as a corresponding entry in msdb is created for each database on server during every run of backup job with AAIP regardless of backup type whether it is log or image-level backup, however restore points which exist in Veeam B&R are per server and not per database.

Thanks!
mtahay
Novice

Post by mtahay »

Hello,

Thanks for your responses.

The backups I am seeing in msdb are definitely not log backups, they are of type 'D' (which means full backup).