Network traffic rules not working

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Network traffic rules not working

Veeam Logoby Raaert » Wed Jan 03, 2018 12:53 pm

Hi all,

We've tried to setup network traffic rules to limit network traffic to 200 Mbps, however it seems it is not taking any effect.

Ive tried 3 different ways, ive even tried source range & dest range as 1.1.1.1 - 255.255.255.255, however the rule is not "kicking in".
Time period is set to anytime.

Any suggestions?
Raaert
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2016 10:57 am

Re: Network traffic rules not working

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Wed Jan 03, 2018 1:13 pm

Hi Raaert,

First: Welcome to the forums!
Second: Between which components do you want to throttle the traffic? What IP ranges do these components have?
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3672
Liked: 402 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Network traffic rules not working

Veeam Logoby Raaert » Thu Jan 04, 2018 7:11 am

Hi Mike,

Thanks.

vSphere cluster hosts: 10.1.1.71 & .81
vCenter: 10.1.1.87
Veeam: 10.1.1.65 (also acts as proxy)
Onsite storage: 10.1.1.61 (iscsi)
Offsite storage: 10.1.1.62 (iscsi)

Ive also tried creating the rule with 10.1.1.0 to 10.1.1.255 in both source & destination.

Ideally i want to make sure that Veeam does not exceed 200 Mbit traffic anywhere on any transfer between components.
Raaert
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2016 10:57 am

Re: Network traffic rules not working

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Thu Jan 04, 2018 7:17 am

Maybe something stupid (I am guessing at this moment to be honest) but I never created a rule with .0 as the last identifier. I always use .1 so can you change it to 10.1.1.1 to 10.1.1.255? As a test?
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3672
Liked: 402 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Network traffic rules not working

Veeam Logoby Raaert » Thu Jan 04, 2018 9:09 am

Hi Mike,

Ive changed .0 to .1

Will check tomorrow when backup has run again.
Thanks.
Raaert
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2016 10:57 am

Re: Network traffic rules not working

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Jan 04, 2018 2:10 pm

Network throttling rules work only between pair of datamovers, such as proxy, repository, etc. So, you cannot apply rules between vSphere host and backup server, as there is only one datamover installed (backup server). Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14052
Liked: 1052 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Network traffic rules not working

Veeam Logoby Raaert » Fri Jan 05, 2018 7:13 am

v.Eremin wrote:Network throttling rules work only between pair of datamovers, such as proxy, repository, etc. So, you cannot apply rules between vSphere host and backup server, as there is only one datamover installed (backup server). Thanks.


Hi Eremin,

That explains it.
On Hyper-V i usually use on-host proxy, which means i can throttle backup between the hyper-v host and the backup server - but on vSphere this is not possible?
Raaert
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2016 10:57 am

Re: Network traffic rules not working

Veeam Logoby tdewin » Fri Jan 05, 2018 8:36 am

Well it is possible between the proxy and repository but if they run on the same server, they talk in memory to each other and thus no network throttling is applied. If you make a separate proxy, you would be able to throttle

You can also throttle on the repository but it is not 100% the same:
https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... tml?ver=95
tdewin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1186
Liked: 406 times
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 1:40 pm
Full Name: Timothy Dewin


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest