Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
ChrisJ83
Influencer
Liked: 1 time
Full Name: Chris Johnson

New to Veeam, Choosing my backup strategy

Post by ChrisJ83 »

Hi all

I was hoping for some advice as I am new to Veeam after mainly using Symantec Backup Exec previously.

Infrastructure wise I have a backup server that will run Veeam and backup to local disks, from there I was going to do a backup copy job to a Synology SAN and then in time replicate this SAN to another SAN at a remote office. I am backing up VM's on a Hyper-V host.

I was going to go with Reversed incremental for the backup mode to save on storage space is this recommended? Can I still do granular restores from x amount of days ago using this option depending on retention policy?

If I went with RI would I be able to do a weekly/monthly copy/archive to a USB disk from either the backup server or SAN? Or would I need to create an additional job using Incremental settings?

Any help/advice appreciated.

Cheers
Chris
Shestakov
Veteran
Liked: 781 times
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: New to Veeam, Choosing my backup strategy

Post by Shestakov »

Hello Chris,

First of all welcome to Veeam Community Forums!
Chris wrote:I was going to go with Reversed incremental for the backup mode to save on storage space is this recommended?
Correct. Reversed incremental backups are more efficient for disk-based backups.
Chris wrote:Can I still do granular restores from x amount of days ago using this option depending on retention policy?
Absolutely. We also have a number of handy recovery features.
Chris wrote:If I went with RI would I be able to do a weekly/monthly copy/archive to a USB disk from either the backup server or SAN? Or would I need to create an additional job using Incremental settings?
Yes, please consider using Backup Copy Jobs and GFS retention policy (stands for Grandfather-Father-Son). USB hard drives are supported by Veeam B&R as backup repositories.