New to VEEAM. Need help on Retention Policy 18-24 month

Post by jaelee0618 »

Hi
I am new to VEEAM.
My setup is:
Nutanix 4 node with ESXi 6
DataDomain 6800 around 68TB
10GB connections

I have around 3-4TB of data. Around 200-300GB of data keep updating almost everyday on weekday.
I am lost on setting up retention policy(restore point). Customer wants the data for 18month-24month.

However, I was told not to set the "Retention policy - Restore points to keep on disk" to below 60.
If that's not the issue, I could do 104(52 weeks 2years)restore point for weekly full but I can't do greater than 60.

So I set the Backup job with 60 Restore points with Synthetic(Friday) and Active Full backup(First Friday). <-- I also was told to set the same day
Run the job Daily on weekday for incremental.

So far with that Backup job setting. I will always have 60 restore points including 2-3 Full backup.

Now I am middle of creating Backup Copy. AND I am lost.

If It's possible, I want to keep weekly incremental for 2 month and keep 18-24 monthly full.

Or should I just create another backup job and just do Monthly Full backup with 24 retention -restore point?
Which is optimal way?

Thanks,
Jae
PTide
Product Manager
Liked: 724 times

Re: New to VEEAM. Need help on Retention Policy 18-24 month

Post by PTide »

Hi,

Let's start with some details:
Customer wants the data for 18month-24month.
Does he want to be able to rollback to any day up to 24-month ago, or it's OK if he can rollback to the beginning of any week, for example?
I was told not to set the "Retention policy - Restore points to keep on disk" to below 60
That will ensure that last 60 points will be available on your primary repository.
I will always have 60 restore points including 2-3 Full backup.
I'd rather say 2 Active Fulls + 5-6 Synthetic fulls.