Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
sanktis
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 25, 2011 7:30 am
Full Name: Florian Shcmutz
Contact:

Newbee Qestion to Backup Restore Points

Post by sanktis » Nov 25, 2011 7:55 am

Hello Community

We are using vSphre 4.1 u2date with 2x ESX 4.1i u2date.
We have Veeam Backup and Repl 5.0.2
The needing is to do a snapshot of each VM in a seperat job. The Storage is a Nas with cifs.
We need 7 Restore Points.
2 Moth ago i set the
Restorepoints to keep on disk: 7
Delete VMs retention period: 7
I have set in the advanced settings:
Incremental
but i havent enabled the syntethic and also not the transform.
So....
The Job does a full backup at the beginng and after that only inc's. (*.vib)
Well now the Sotrage is filled over 90% and it seams that the older (*.vib) of the VM's would not be deleted.
So i set yesterday night the Enable syntetic fulls (forever-Inc) and also Transform previious full into rollbacks.
Some of the vm's are still dooing the syntetc (cause the lots of (*.vib) files.
It seams that the Veeam now taking the *.vib and convert this into *.vrb files and then update the *.vbk.

Settings: Image
Settings2: Image

Butt one of the 15 Vm's is finished. If im looking now in the Cifs share there are more than 7 *.vrb's .....
but i set the option Restorepoints to keep on disk: 7

Where i have donne the mistake?

Thanks for yor fast anserws.

Kind Regards
Florian

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18278
Liked: 1564 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Newbee Qestion to Backup Restore Points

Post by foggy » Nov 25, 2011 8:35 am

Florian, its easy to explain why did you have more restore points while using incremental mode. We have a bunch of existing threads covering Veeam B&R behavior in this case. Please look at this one, for example.

I would assume that after switching to reverse incremental mode you have more than 7 vrb files according to the Deleted VMs retention period setting (see this topic for more information). But according to you, you have only one VM per job (is that right?) and in this case you should definitely have only 7 vrb files for each of them. Could you please start the restore wizard for that VM and see how much restore points are available there? It could be that you have corrupt backup chain due to some reason (Veeam B&R could not delete one of the vrb files due to connection problem, for example). You should not have more than 7 restore points available in the wizard.

Thanks.

sanktis
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 25, 2011 7:30 am
Full Name: Florian Shcmutz
Contact:

Re: Newbee Qestion to Backup Restore Points

Post by sanktis » Nov 25, 2011 9:01 am

Hi foggy
Thanks for your feedback.
Yes i have only one vm per Job.
In The Recovery mode i see entries according to the vrb files. So i have entries since aug.

Image
Hehe sorry i should say that the upper 2 pictures are the same server. and thats only the start and the end between the viewable restore Points on the printscreen are many more XD
Image

sanktis
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 25, 2011 7:30 am
Full Name: Florian Shcmutz
Contact:

Re: Newbee Qestion to Backup Restore Points

Post by sanktis » Nov 25, 2011 9:10 am

And the Report to the Server witch are done the Transform last night.
Image

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18278
Liked: 1564 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Newbee Qestion to Backup Restore Points

Post by foggy » Nov 25, 2011 9:53 am

It seems like something went wrong after your switch to reverse incremental - restore points are not deleted for some reason. I would recommend to proceed with our support team on this as they manage to investigate this issue faster via logs or webex session. Thanks.

sanktis
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 25, 2011 7:30 am
Full Name: Florian Shcmutz
Contact:

Re: Newbee Qestion to Backup Restore Points

Post by sanktis » Nov 25, 2011 1:36 pm

Oky thanks

I see one of the servers has done the job correctly.
I will wait till all servers hans finished the syntethic and try the faild one's again. (seperatly)
If its not helping i will open a case on Monday.

Thanks for your replys.

Kind Regards

Sanktis

sanktis
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 25, 2011 7:30 am
Full Name: Florian Shcmutz
Contact:

Re: Newbee Qestion to Backup Restore Points

Post by sanktis » Nov 28, 2011 11:02 pm

Hmm okee
the most of the jobs are running and does the syntehtic backup correctly.
But some are still not finished.
I have to reboot the backup server many times. caus.......


Its a DL380G7 with one CPU 6 Cores and 12 GB Ram
The problem is now that it seams taht the veeam backup jobs leeking memory.
if the job starts all is oke.. after 2 or 3 houres the mem of 12 gb is consumed completly.
The jobs in the taskmanager consumes never that size of memory they are all something around 100'000 K.

Any issu known with this? The CPU is not realy used over all cores 50 % (with an active snapshot backupjob (Not Syntethic)) The Synthetic Backups consumed around 5 - 10 % CPU not more. The Network is also not realy on load during the syntetc only phases.

Well my prob is that i have no around 1.5 - 2 TB Data witch i have to change from incremetel -> Syntetci 7 Restore Points... and i cant finish the jobs till the mem leek is filling up my mem ^^

Any Sugesstions? XD

Kind Regards

Florian

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24810
Liked: 3567 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Newbee Qestion to Backup Restore Points

Post by Gostev » Nov 28, 2011 11:06 pm

All your memory goes into the system cache > Memory performance

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 18 guests