Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
johna8
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 11, 2016 8:23 am
Contact:

Re: No Catalyst Copy support?

Post by johna8 » Oct 11, 2016 6:36 pm

Initially it will say source but this is probably the time to work out the differences.
It mentions throttling majority of the time but I also did remove throttling to test (it still seemed to say throttling as well with it disabled). Also limited the copy repository to maintain 1 concurrent job with no multithreads enabled.

WAN accel isn't required by us as traffic over the WAN isn't an issue.
It's having to replicate fast enough offsite.

I was hoping to get other people's feedback on what average copy job read MB/sec they were seeing across the WAN?
Is 25MB/sec too much for the unit that's around a 200Mbps link. If it can do more then I would investigate more WAN capacity only if it can maintain and saturate the link. Although the 3540 are on the lower end of the StoreOnce portfolios.

Regards
John

johna8
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 11, 2016 8:23 am
Contact:

Re: No Catalyst Copy support?

Post by johna8 » Oct 11, 2016 8:32 pm

Storeonce firmware 3.14.1-1607.1

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18278
Liked: 1564 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: No Catalyst Copy support?

Post by foggy » Oct 12, 2016 2:50 pm

There're many factors that could affect performance, that's why I asked about the major bottleneck for the completed job. Throttling can also be reported as bottleneck if repository read and write data rates are limited in the repository wizard (meaning that the speed of reading/writing from/to repository is throttled).

johna8
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 11, 2016 8:23 am
Contact:

Re: No Catalyst Copy support?

Post by johna8 » Oct 18, 2016 8:14 am

Ah yes - to update sorry it would appear to be our network throttling slowing the BCJ right down.
Will be investigating towards WAN capacity and see how we go. Thanks

jazzoberoi
Enthusiast
Posts: 79
Liked: 17 times
Joined: Oct 08, 2014 9:07 am
Full Name: Jazz Oberoi
Contact:

Re: No Catalyst Copy support?

Post by jazzoberoi » Oct 18, 2016 8:25 am

StoreOnce firmware is at 3.15.1 now.. any luck with Catalyst Copy ?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18278
Liked: 1564 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: No Catalyst Copy support?

Post by foggy » Oct 18, 2016 8:29 am

Nothing has changed in regard to Catalyst Copy so far, but it is still on the table.

cljos
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 28, 2009 5:25 pm
Full Name: Claes Josefsson
Contact:

Re: No Catalyst Copy support?

Post by cljos » Feb 22, 2017 5:31 am

Hi Foggy, any updates on the topic ?

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16901
Liked: 1439 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: No Catalyst Copy support?

Post by veremin » Feb 22, 2017 11:06 am

Nope, the last Foggy's reply is still valid.

SWOK
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 03, 2017 5:25 pm
Full Name: Mike Redden
Contact:

Re: No Catalyst Copy support?

Post by SWOK » Mar 03, 2017 7:56 pm

Veeam Backup and Replication is a great product! But, they really need to add functionality to leverage Catalyst Copy. The copy/replication process is MUCH more efficient when the copy/replication happens from the deduped storage appliance vs re-hydrating the data and Veeam sending it to the destination. By the way..... a second-rate competitor (Backup Exec) has support for Catalyst Copy.

andreasaster
Influencer
Posts: 12
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Dec 24, 2014 8:40 am
Contact:

Re: No Catalyst Copy support?

Post by andreasaster » Mar 22, 2017 6:42 am

Yesterday I upgraded one my StoreOnces to the new Firmware 3.16.1, in the release notes I found the following: "Support for Managed copies for Veam." Is there something new on the way?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24810
Liked: 3567 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: No Catalyst Copy support?

Post by Gostev » Mar 22, 2017 11:16 am

Looks like some API enhancements on their side for us to use in future.

SyNtAxx
Expert
Posts: 148
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Jan 02, 2015 7:12 pm
Contact:

Re: No Catalyst Copy support?

Post by SyNtAxx » Mar 22, 2017 1:40 pm

Like in v9.5U2 or v10 ? :mrgreen:

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24810
Liked: 3567 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: No Catalyst Copy support?

Post by Gostev » Mar 22, 2017 2:18 pm

v10 or post-v10, not sure yet (as more things in the API are needed)

andreasaster
Influencer
Posts: 12
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Dec 24, 2014 8:40 am
Contact:

Re: No Catalyst Copy support?

Post by andreasaster » Dec 19, 2017 12:07 pm

Hi Gostev, news on this? Will we have Catalyst Copy support in v10?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18278
Liked: 1564 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: No Catalyst Copy support?

Post by foggy » Dec 19, 2017 12:10 pm

We cannot share the exact release vehicle that will contain this functionality. Having said that, this functionality is in the works. Thanks!

brentdowling
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 16, 2016 3:43 pm
Full Name: Brent Dowling
Contact:

[MERGED] Catalyst Copy Support

Post by brentdowling » Jan 08, 2018 2:38 am

Are there any plans in the works to support Catalyst Copy? I do not see it on the features listed in 10.

jazzoberoi
Enthusiast
Posts: 79
Liked: 17 times
Joined: Oct 08, 2014 9:07 am
Full Name: Jazz Oberoi
Contact:

Re: Catalyst Copy Support

Post by jazzoberoi » Jan 08, 2018 5:16 am

+1 We need this as well.

Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Posts: 5740
Liked: 612 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Catalyst Copy Support

Post by Mike Resseler » Jan 08, 2018 6:19 am

Hi Brent, Jazz,

Please have a look at this topic: veeam-backup-replication-f2/no-catalyst ... 50-60.html and the last response of Foggy.

PS: I tried to merge the topic but for some reason it fails for me today... Maybe I need more coffee ;-)

jazzoberoi
Enthusiast
Posts: 79
Liked: 17 times
Joined: Oct 08, 2014 9:07 am
Full Name: Jazz Oberoi
Contact:

Re: No Catalyst Copy support?

Post by jazzoberoi » Jan 09, 2018 11:53 am

foggy wrote:We cannot share the exact release vehicle that will contain this functionality. Having said that, this functionality is in the works. Thanks!
Sweet JEZUZ !! Thank you !

Now that HP are introducing StoreOnce Cloud Bank Storage it becomes even more critical to have support for catalyst copy :) Otherwise it cannot work with Veeam !

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18278
Liked: 1564 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: No Catalyst Copy support?

Post by foggy » Jan 09, 2018 11:55 am

CloudBank itself is a whole different story and that would require additional effort to support.

markc-laserf
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 11, 2018 1:39 am
Full Name: Mark Currie
Contact:

Re: No Catalyst Copy support?

Post by markc-laserf » Jan 11, 2018 1:48 am

Catalyst copy/Cloud bank support is needed as well, Cloudbank is now GA, and I am already doing pricing requests for HP Storeonce and the Cloudbank feature...

jazzoberoi
Enthusiast
Posts: 79
Liked: 17 times
Joined: Oct 08, 2014 9:07 am
Full Name: Jazz Oberoi
Contact:

Re: No Catalyst Copy support?

Post by jazzoberoi » Jan 15, 2018 2:10 am

+1 Same here,

CloudBank is one awesome feature as it uses the Catalyst deduplication to store unique data in a deduplicated state into the Azure BLOB storage which equals Less data bandwidth required to store less data in the cheapest way possible offsite :)

Sloan
Influencer
Posts: 12
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 14, 2013 6:40 pm
Full Name: Sloan Essman
Location: Houston, TX
Contact:

Re: No Catalyst Copy support?

Post by Sloan » Mar 13, 2018 4:35 pm

Hoping for Catalyst Copy and HPE Cloud Bank support in the future too. We have financial data backups that have a 7 year retention for quarterly backups which currently go to tape so that the long term archives aren't on "expensive" deduplication storage. As we are trying to minimize tape as well, a catalyst copy to cloud would be of great interest.
Sloan Essman
Energy Transfer Partners

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24810
Liked: 3567 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: No Catalyst Copy support?

Post by Gostev » Mar 14, 2018 11:23 am

Would our native support of archiving to cloud solve this need?

Sloan
Influencer
Posts: 12
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 14, 2013 6:40 pm
Full Name: Sloan Essman
Location: Houston, TX
Contact:

Re: No Catalyst Copy support?

Post by Sloan » Mar 19, 2018 3:20 pm

Probably so. The customer is looking into various archive solutions. Anything I can do to give them multiple reasons for cloud solutions is a win. "hey look, we have StoreOnce already... here's one more integration with cloud for flexibility."
Sloan Essman
Energy Transfer Partners

KevinW
Enthusiast
Posts: 26
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Jan 17, 2014 11:16 am
Full Name: Kevin Wilcox
Contact:

Re: No Catalyst Copy support?

Post by KevinW » May 24, 2018 2:12 pm

Does anyone know the status of Catalyst copy support? I have had a business requirement change whereby my backups need to be encrypted at rest so I've purchased a number of catalyst encryption licenses. Sadly I can only encrypt a catalyst store upon creation and I don't really have a mechanism for copying my existing backups to the new encrypted stores.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18278
Liked: 1564 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: No Catalyst Copy support?

Post by foggy » May 24, 2018 2:40 pm

I don't think you need Catalyst Copy support in Veeam B&R for that. You can use Catalyst Copy itself to migrate backups to another store, remove them from Veeam B&R configuration, rescan the new repository, and then map existing jobs to the new store.

KevinW
Enthusiast
Posts: 26
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Jan 17, 2014 11:16 am
Full Name: Kevin Wilcox
Contact:

Re: No Catalyst Copy support?

Post by KevinW » May 24, 2018 2:57 pm

Hi foggy - thanks for the quick reply - are you talking about the inbound/outbound copy jobs which can be defined on the stores? I've been in contact with HP support and the best that they could come up with to solve this problem was to try and use an RMAN catalyst copy plugin. :(

Edit: It might be worth mentioning that I need to copy the data to a new catalyst store on the same device....

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18278
Liked: 1564 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: No Catalyst Copy support?

Post by foggy » May 24, 2018 5:35 pm

Sorry, I totally forgot that you cannot trigger Catalyst Copy from StoreOnce GUI.

KevinW
Enthusiast
Posts: 26
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Jan 17, 2014 11:16 am
Full Name: Kevin Wilcox
Contact:

Re: No Catalyst Copy support?

Post by KevinW » May 25, 2018 8:20 am

Dang! for a moment there was a glimmer of hope for me... :D

So do you happen to know if Veeam Catalyst Copy is still happening?

Cheers

Kev

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Google [Bot] and 17 guests