Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
rizks_2000
Enthusiast
Posts: 77
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 17, 2010 1:12 am
Full Name: Anthony Rizk
Contact:

"Object Not Found" after DC Promo

Post by rizks_2000 » Jun 16, 2010 7:11 pm

Had been routinely running both replica job and backup job on Windows SRV2003 VM. VM was basic server with really no roles. Decided we wanted to run DC Promo on this VM and did so. Also setup DNS, and DHCP role. Once completed, rebooted server and then manually kicked off Veeam backup job. Job failed because the "Server Name Object could not be found". When into Veeam job properties where you select your VM you want to backup, removed the VM listed, and then navigated back to the VM and selected it again. Kicked off backup job and so far now, the job is running.

Did DC promo or any of the other roles I added to this server cause this problem? :shock:

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 25122
Liked: 3685 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: "Object Not Found" after DC Promo

Post by Gostev » Jun 16, 2010 7:46 pm

No, some other action that you have not mentioned above caused this. VMs are remembered in the backup job with unique VMware infrastructure ID - no operation inside guest OS can change the VM ID.

Operations that triggered the change of this ID include VM cloning, re-registration and such. Additionally, if you added invidual ESX hosts to Veeam console instead of adding vCenter server, having VM moved with VMotion will result in the same issue.

rizks_2000
Enthusiast
Posts: 77
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 17, 2010 1:12 am
Full Name: Anthony Rizk
Contact:

Re: "Object Not Found" after DC Promo

Post by rizks_2000 » Jun 16, 2010 7:50 pm

Would migrating VM storage to another datastore fit into this list?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 25122
Liked: 3685 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: "Object Not Found" after DC Promo

Post by Gostev » Jun 16, 2010 7:55 pm

Depends on how you do the migration. Not if you do it with Storage VMotion, for example.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: charivel, Google [Bot], oleg.feoktistov and 42 guests