Availability for the Always-On Enterprise
Post Reply
Karthik Periyasamy
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 08, 2018 8:43 am
Full Name: Karthik Periyasamy
Contact:

Offsite B&R Setup (DR Setup of B&R)

Post by Karthik Periyasamy » Oct 08, 2018 9:03 am

Hi All,

Thanks for your time to assist my query.

We have the B&R 9.5 setup in our current environment as below,
1. B&R installed with below roles,
* Proxy Server
* Repository Server (HP storage once)
* Secondary copy to Tape.

Now we need to implement DR site for backup and Replication, our plan is as below

* New B & R server role on one VM
* Proxy , WAN accelerator and Repository Server in another VM server.

Primary site data need to copy to offsite repository server using "Copy Backup".

(We need to restore any data from offsite Backup server and its repository, if any issue in Primary site)

My doubt is ,

-> How we need to configure the B & R server to replicate the Catalog and configuration information? We need to recover any VMs from this DR site server if anything goes wrong on primary site.
-> Can we add same repository on two different Veeam B & R?
-> What is the best practice for DR setup for Backup and replication, not for VM DR ?

DGrinev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1215
Liked: 128 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: Offsite B&R Setup (DR Setup of B&R)

Post by DGrinev » Oct 08, 2018 10:53 am

Hi Karthik and welcome to the community!

1. You should use the configuration backup that was designed to protect catalog\configuration information.
2. You can add the same backup component into two different instances of VBR, but it's not a recommended approach. Take a look on the existing discussion for additional information.
3. You're good to go with the virtual backup server at DR site, as it allows you to quickly spin up the VM and restore configuration data. Thanks!

Karthik Periyasamy
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 08, 2018 8:43 am
Full Name: Karthik Periyasamy
Contact:

Re: Offsite B&R Setup (DR Setup of B&R)

Post by Karthik Periyasamy » Oct 09, 2018 2:39 am

Hi DGrinev,

Thanks for the update.

Shall we able to copy the one veeam backup server primary copy(Production) to another veeam backup server for secondary copy(Offsite)?

(If both having different repository)

Regards,
P. Karthik

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16811
Liked: 1358 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Offsite B&R Setup (DR Setup of B&R)

Post by foggy » Oct 09, 2018 11:18 am

Hi Karthik, if you're using Catalyst as repository, it is not recommended to point two different backup servers to the same location, so I'd suggest going with a single Veeam B&R instance managing both backup and backup copy jobs.

Karthik Periyasamy
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 08, 2018 8:43 am
Full Name: Karthik Periyasamy
Contact:

Re: Offsite B&R Setup (DR Setup of B&R)

Post by Karthik Periyasamy » Oct 11, 2018 6:10 am

Hi Foggy,

Thanks for the update.

Now we have a plan to implement the new repository server (Disk copy) on offsite and it is directly connected to primary site B&R server to take the Backup copy.

We are planning to implement one stand by B&R Server in offsite without any connection to repository servers. When we required for DR, we need to migrate the existing configuration information to this stand by server to recover the data from copy backup.

Will it possible in my case? Anything need to consider in this case?

Regards,
P. Karthik

DGrinev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1215
Liked: 128 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: Offsite B&R Setup (DR Setup of B&R)

Post by DGrinev » Oct 11, 2018 12:16 pm

Yes, you should be able to do that.
Just make sure you've checked prerequisites and looked through the whole process in the user guide article. Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Majestic-12 [Bot], MariusN, Robvil and 47 guests