Availability for the Always-On Enterprise
neilpotter
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Sep 28, 2013 9:09 am
Full Name: Neil Potter
Contact:

Old VM's showing in logs?

Post by neilpotter » Jan 10, 2015 4:07 pm

When a backup job starts, in the action list after Building VM list, we have a list of old, unregistered VM's showing up with notes of "vmname is no longer processed by this job".
Is there something I need to do to remove the old vm's from the config as they don't show within the job edit screens.
These old VMs are also "tested" during a SureBackup of the main backup job we have. Again, I can't work out how to exclude these old gm's.

Thanks

Gostev
Veeam Software
Posts: 22979
Liked: 2880 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Old VM's showing in logs?

Post by Gostev » Jan 10, 2015 8:27 pm

These messages should only be logged once for each VM that was unregistered. Do they keep repeating for the same VM?

neilpotter
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Sep 28, 2013 9:09 am
Full Name: Neil Potter
Contact:

Re: Old VM's showing in logs?

Post by neilpotter » Jan 11, 2015 6:16 am

Yes they appear at the start of every job. However, i've just realised that I can remove those old backups from the "Backups" section under each repository. That has now stopped the old VM's "erroring" on the backup job. For clarity I just have two jobs to backup ALL of my VM's. One for the local site, and one for an off site copy.

Is this the right way to sort this?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16821
Liked: 1358 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Old VM's showing in logs?

Post by foggy » Jan 16, 2015 3:51 pm

What retention and Deleted VMs retention settings do you have for this job and what backup method it is using (forward or reverse incremental)? And what Veeam B&R version are you at?

neilpotter
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Sep 28, 2013 9:09 am
Full Name: Neil Potter
Contact:

Re: Old VM's showing in logs?

Post by neilpotter » Jan 17, 2015 6:02 pm

Hi guys.
Realised I never had the retention set, so i've sorted this. Had some other issues since so I forgot about this.

Thanks for the help.

Moebius
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 143
Liked: 17 times
Joined: Jun 09, 2009 2:48 pm
Full Name: Lucio Mazzi
Location: Reggio Emilia, Italy
Contact:

Re: Old VM's showing in logs?

Post by Moebius » Jan 28, 2015 9:43 am

After upgrading from v7 to v8 some SureBackup jobs are failing.
This is due to some vms that were removed from the job, but that are still tested on each SB run.

The backup job gives this informational message: "<your-VM-name> is no longer processed by this job. Make sure this change is intentional." This is fine, as I have 30-days retention set in my backup jobs. I want the removed vms to be kept in my vbk files for a while before being deleted.

What I don't understand is why the SB job tries to test those vms as well. It should simply get the current vm list from the backup job, not the vms that have been removed from the job - regardless whether they still are in the backup files or not.
This never happened with v7 and I believe this unwanted behavior was introduced in v8.

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15140
Liked: 1141 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Old VM's showing in logs?

Post by v.Eremin » Jan 28, 2015 4:13 pm

I've asked QA team to confirm that behaviour; will update the topic, once I have more information. Thanks.

nefes
Veeam Software
Posts: 594
Liked: 142 times
Joined: Dec 10, 2012 8:44 am
Full Name: Nikita Efes
Contact:

Re: Old VM's showing in logs?

Post by nefes » Jan 29, 2015 12:12 pm 1 person likes this post

So we've had a test on VMware SureBackup job in both v7 and v8.
First run of job backed up VM1 and VM2. Second run backed up only VM2.
After that we've started SureBackup and linked that Backup job to it.
In both v7 and v8 VM1 and VM2 are started in SureBackup, and that job finished successfully.

I suppose, you have slightly different case? Could you please elaborate a bit, what was the difference and what error do you see in SureBackup?

Moebius
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 143
Liked: 17 times
Joined: Jun 09, 2009 2:48 pm
Full Name: Lucio Mazzi
Location: Reggio Emilia, Italy
Contact:

Re: Old VM's showing in logs?

Post by Moebius » Jan 29, 2015 2:54 pm

I don't have the possibility to test with v7 anymore.
However, I'm positive that I never saw the SB job failing in v7 due to a vm removed from the job. It's possible that the removed vm was tested and the test succeeded, so the fact that a removed vm was still included in the job went unnoticed.

Now, the removed vms are failing the SB job due to "OS not booting in the allotted time", but that's not the point. The vms were removed from VMware and from the backup job due to several reasons; I cannot think of a single reason why the SureBackup job should keep testing them (and even worse, testing an old vm image, always the same: the image when the backup included those vms last time).
It seems that the only way to stop getting this failed status from the SureBackup job would be to delete the removed vms from the backup files without waiting for the retention to expire, which I don't want to do since I want to keep the images of the removed machines for some weeks more - if only to be able to access the guest files.

This sure looks like a bug to me.

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15140
Liked: 1141 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Old VM's showing in logs?

Post by v.Eremin » Jan 30, 2015 1:10 pm

That's by design. Surebackup gets list of all VMs present in restore points, and tries to verify them. As long as VM is present in backup, it will be verified by SureBackup. Thanks.

Moebius
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 143
Liked: 17 times
Joined: Jun 09, 2009 2:48 pm
Full Name: Lucio Mazzi
Location: Reggio Emilia, Italy
Contact:

Re: Old VM's showing in logs?

Post by Moebius » Jan 30, 2015 1:18 pm

Thank you Vladimir. I understand that it's by design.

However, it does not make any sense to me. SureBackup should get the list of all the VMs currently present in the backup job and not in the restore points. Could you explain what's the point in verifying VMs that are still in the restore points but not in the backup job anymore? Thanks.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16821
Liked: 1358 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Old VM's showing in logs?

Post by foggy » Jan 30, 2015 10:29 pm

Moebius wrote:SureBackup should get the list of all the VMs currently present in the backup job and not in the restore points.
This will not work if some sort of dynamic container (host, datastore, VM folder...) is used to add VMs into the job.

Moebius
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 143
Liked: 17 times
Joined: Jun 09, 2009 2:48 pm
Full Name: Lucio Mazzi
Location: Reggio Emilia, Italy
Contact:

Re: Old VM's showing in logs?

Post by Moebius » Jan 31, 2015 3:08 pm

That's a good point, I hadn't thought of that.
Still, I find the actual behavior unsatisfactory. Any workaround to get rid of the error messages short of deleting the removed vm from all restore points?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16821
Liked: 1358 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Old VM's showing in logs?

Post by foggy » Jan 31, 2015 10:00 pm

The current behavior is not ideal, however it is, so to say, the lesser of two evils. Cannot think of any workaround, though. You can try to disable boot verification settings for this particular VM or increase boot timeout.

Kynaeus2
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 27, 2015 6:17 pm
Full Name: Greg
Contact:

[MERGED] Surebackup job is including VM's no longer in the l

Post by Kynaeus2 » Mar 27, 2015 6:41 pm

Hi guys,

Veeam B&R Enterprise 6.5 / VMware 5.1.0

I've been going through my 2x surebackup jobs every day trying to improve the reliability of the test by adjusting settings and VMs, eg updating VMware tools, allowing longer timeouts, that sort of thing. I've also been cleaning up redundant VMs that were previously being backed up by shutting them down and deleting them from disk. I subsequently went to the Veeam backup job and removed the corresponding VMs. I'm finding that the Surebackups are testing all the VMs in the linked backup job but also the ones that used to be in it too. For example,

the backup job will contain these VMs:
Oracle application 1-1
Oracle application 2
workstation 1

the application group will contain these VMs:
Domain Controller, marked with the DNS, GC, and DC roles

and the surebackup will link the backup job, but when actually running it will test these VMs:
Oracle application 1-1
Oracle application 1 (recently restored and then subsequently removed from Vmware, hence the 1-1)
Oracle application 2
Oracle application 3 (redundant, deleted from VMware datastore and Veeam backup job)
workstation 1

I've unlinked the backup job and saved the Surebackup, re-added it and confirmed it only shows the VMs the backup job has, refreshed the list in the backup job, double checked the virtual lab and application groups... Not seeing any other people having this problem around, unless my google phrasing is just off for describing the problem.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: uferik and 47 guests