Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
jbarrow.viracoribt
Expert
Posts: 184
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Feb 15, 2013 9:31 pm
Full Name: Jonathan Barrow
Contact:

Permanent Failover, then what?

Post by jbarrow.viracoribt » Feb 28, 2013 8:36 pm

So, I'm trying to document my recovery process and I have a question about Permanent Failover.

Take this scenario...

I have a VM running in production, that VM is replicated hourly.
That VM is accidentally deleted (just go with me here) and I need to recover from a replica.
I start the Restore wizard, I choose Failover to replica, I select my VM, I choose a restore point, then I let the process finish.
Once completed, I then choose Permanent Failover.

Here's where I'm a little confused. Based on what's going on above, I'm pretty sure this would leave me with the replica VM now acting as a replacement VM for the production VM that failed, but this replica VM is now running at my DR site. How would I get this VM back over to my production site after this step? Would I just set up a replication job going the other way then repeat the process? That seems like a bunch of extra work.

Thoughts?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22984
Liked: 1556 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Permanent Failover, then what?

Post by Vitaliy S. » Feb 28, 2013 10:09 pm

Hi Jonathan,

You're right, you can perform permanent failover and then configure replication/quick migration job to move this VM back to production. Alternatively, you can start a VM failover operation (not permanent failover) and then select failback to production option to copy this VM back to production. For additional details, please take a look at our User Guide (page 252).

Thanks!

tsightler
VP, Product Management
Posts: 5418
Liked: 2240 times
Joined: Jun 05, 2009 12:57 pm
Full Name: Tom Sightler
Contact:

Re: Permanent Failover, then what?

Post by tsightler » Mar 01, 2013 1:19 am

Yes, "permanent failover" is by definition intended to be permanent, so effectively at that point there is no failback and thus you would have to replicate the VM back. Unfortunately, running at the DR site without "permanent failover" requires running off of a snapshot so isn't always possible for extended periods of time or in cases where performance is of critical importance.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], igavrilov and 51 guests