Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
ameyer
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 14, 2012 3:44 pm
Full Name: Andrew Meyer
Contact:

Re-Seed Offsite Backup Copy

Post by ameyer »

We have an offsite backup copy job that has been running successfully. We recently added a large VM that needs to be added to the existing backup copy job. I've read a couple posts on seeding a new backup copy job - would I take the same steps to update an existing job?

What I've learned from other posts:
Get a full backup of VMs to be seeded (no incrementals)
Transfer full backup to offsite location (external USB)
Copy full backup to target repository and rescan for backups
Map backup copy job to copied full backup

Would those steps work when adding a new VM to an existing job?

Also, we do have Enterprise Plus and are leveraging WAN Accelerators. If I understand correctly, the remote accelerator will pull cache data from all local backups it knows about. Would that mean I just need to place the full backup in the remote repository and do a rescan - no need to map the existing Backup Copy job to the copied full backup...?


Thanks,
Andy

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 27414
Liked: 4544 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Re-Seed Offsite Backup Copy

Post by Gostev »

ameyer wrote:Would those steps work when adding a new VM to an existing job?
No, this works for the initial job seeding only. The best approach here would be to create the new Backup Copy job containing the new VM, and seed its backup. Thanks!

ameyer
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 14, 2012 3:44 pm
Full Name: Andrew Meyer
Contact:

Re: Re-Seed Offsite Backup Copy

Post by ameyer »

And then just have two separate Backup Copy jobs? One for the initial set and one dedicated to the new VM? That's fine if that's how it needs to be, just want to make sure I'm on the same page.

Thanks,
Andy

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 27414
Liked: 4544 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Re-Seed Offsite Backup Copy

Post by Gostev »

That is correct. If you want to seed just the new VM, this is the only option. Alternatively, you can create the new job will all VMs in it, seed that job, and remove the old Backup Copy job. Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Batman, foggy, Google [Bot] and 81 guests