Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
frejen
Service Provider
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 24, 2010 11:07 pm
Full Name: Frej Eriksson
Contact:

Reconfiguration questions

Post by frejen »

Hi,

We are currently running Veeam Backup and Replicate 4.1, upgraded from 3.1. We currently have two backup jobs and one replication job. My questions are

1) Is it possible to reconfigure from Network mode to SAN mode and keep existing replicas and backups?
2) Are there any deduplication benefits with SAN mode over Network mode?
3) We currently have a couple of VMs with 1 VMDK but several NTFS partitions inside. Are there any deduplication benefits if we seperate those partitions onto individual VMDK files?
4) Is it possible to consolidate the two backup jobs into one without loosing any data? Deduplication would benefit from having all servers being backed up in the same job.
5) We have discussed the following setup for our backup jobs. One job that backup all VMs and VMDK files, maybe weekly schedule. One job that backup all VMs but only Non-system VMDK files, maybe daily schedule. All backups are being targeted onto an ESX server. How will deduplication behave? Will there individual "base" backup files and increments for each job?

Greatful for any input

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26679
Liked: 4268 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Reconfiguration questions

Post by Gostev »

Hello,

1. Yes, you just switch the mode in the job settings, that's all.
2. Deduplication does not depend on the job's processing mode.
3. No, since deduplication is done on the block level, it does not matter if you have single or multiple VMDKs for the same VM.
4. Not so sure what potential data loss you are thinking about... just add all VMs into the single job, and run it.
5. Correct, individual backups per job, also see Veeam Synthetic Backup Explained. Not sure what are you asking about deduplication though. Deduplication is done per job, not between jobs.

Thanks!

frejen
Service Provider
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 24, 2010 11:07 pm
Full Name: Frej Eriksson
Contact:

Re: Reconfiguration questions

Post by frejen »

Thank you Gostev for a good reply.

4. Not so sure what potential data loss you are thinking about... just add all VMs into the single job, and run it.
We have one VM in a separate job. Would it be possible to move that VM to the job where all other VMs are without loosing the backup history for that VM?

5. "Deduplication is done per job, not between jobs." that answered my question

Frej

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26679
Liked: 4268 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Reconfiguration questions

Post by Gostev »

Hello Frej,

4. Yes, it is possible. Just disable the current job, but keep it. Then add VM to the new job. This way you will have both old and new backups available for restoration.

Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 27 guests