Relocate Single Active Full on SOBR

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Relocate Single Active Full on SOBR

Veeam Logoby nunciate » Mon Jun 27, 2016 2:05 pm

I have searched around but have not found the exact process for this so I figured I would post and ask.

I have a Scale-Out Repository with 5 drives in it. 2 of the drives are getting pretty full while one of them has over 10Tb free.
I want to selectively move some full backups from the almost full extents to the one with 10Tb free.

What is the process for this? The scale out is set for Performance Policy with All extents allowing all backup types and I am using Per-VM Backups.
So on my backup jobs will have the VBKs on one extent and the VIBs on another.

I don't want to evacuate the entire extent that is getting full. I just want to move some things around to balance all extents out a bit more.
Can I simply move the folder with the VBK from one to the other extent and then do a Re-scan Repository or do I need to remove the backup from the configuration and re-map it within the job?

Can someone provide the exact steps for this. Might I suggest this become a KB article, FAQ or something we can search for on the main support site?
nunciate
Expert
 
Posts: 139
Liked: 23 times
Joined: Tue May 21, 2013 9:08 pm
Full Name: Alan Wells

Re: Relocate Single Active Full on SOBR

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Jun 27, 2016 5:12 pm

nunciate wrote:Can I simply move the folder with the VBK from one to the other extent and then do a Re-scan Repository

These steps should be sufficient according to our QC team.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19773
Liked: 1120 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Relocate Single Active Full on SOBR

Veeam Logoby nunciate » Mon Jun 27, 2016 5:15 pm

Great I will give it a try.
nunciate
Expert
 
Posts: 139
Liked: 23 times
Joined: Tue May 21, 2013 9:08 pm
Full Name: Alan Wells

Re: Relocate Single Active Full on SOBR

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Jun 27, 2016 5:31 pm

Please post back the results for our future readers. Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19773
Liked: 1120 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Relocate Single Active Full on SOBR

Veeam Logoby nunciate » Tue Jun 28, 2016 1:59 pm 1 person likes this post

I can confirm that this did, in fact, work as expected.

I had a 3Tb VBK on the full extent and the same job had about 400Gb of VRB files on the destination extent.
I disabled the backup job.
I renamed the folder with the VBK temporarily and robocopied it over to the destination extent.
Once completed I deleted the folder off of the full extent
I then robocopied the folder with the VRB files from the destination extent over to the other extent just so I can keep them separated like they were.
I renamed the folder with the VBK file back to it's original name and performed a Re-Scan on the Scale-Out Repository.
The job stated that changes were detected and updated the job. I then pulled the properties of the disk backups for the job and all of the files showed the new locations.
I ran an incremental backup which ran successfully and copied the incremental data to the correct/new location.
nunciate
Expert
 
Posts: 139
Liked: 23 times
Joined: Tue May 21, 2013 9:08 pm
Full Name: Alan Wells

Re: Relocate Single Active Full on SOBR

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Jun 28, 2016 2:33 pm

Thanks for the update!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19773
Liked: 1120 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

[MERGED] rebalance chains between SOBR extends

Veeam Logoby fraack » Mon Jan 23, 2017 5:13 pm

Hi Folks,

last week we installed a second repository for one of my customers. Both repsoitories are standalone servers with local disks. We created a SOBR to extend the existing capicity. Since we ran every backup job several months before implemeting the new repository all backup chains are created at our first extend. SOBR runs with per VM backup chain and data locality policy. Is there any way or simple workaround to rebalance some of the existing backup chains to the new extend. I do not want to run into a full repsoitory and aditionally take advantage of the extend performance.

Does any of you have some experience with this topic? I thought to evacuate some chains manually and map the jobs to the new repo. Or to set the existing extend to maintanence mode, evacuate the data and interrupt this procedure after a couple of hours. But may some of you know a smoother way.

Thank you

Florian
fraack
Certified Trainer
 
Posts: 41
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 7:44 am
Full Name: Florian Raack

Re: rebalance chains between SOBR extends

Veeam Logoby DaStivi » Mon Jan 23, 2017 7:55 pm

Hallo Florian,
i would simply try to move the files with windows explorer and do a rescan on the backup repositories and than on the sobr repo itself..
when using refs than its something more difficult...

lg
DaStivi
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 55
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 9:13 am
Full Name: Stephan Lang

Re: Relocate Single Active Full on SOBR

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Jan 24, 2017 4:34 pm

Stephan is spot on, moving files around with subsequent rescan should work.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15087
Liked: 1110 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

[MERGED] Rebalancing Storage on a Scale Out Repository

Veeam Logoby rogerdu » Tue Oct 17, 2017 2:46 pm

Is it possible to re-balance the extent usage on a Scale Out Repository? of 3 extents, I have one that only has 1.5TB, one that has .8TB and one that has 9.5 TB free...

Suggestions?
rogerdu
Expert
 
Posts: 111
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 1:16 pm
Full Name: Roger Dufour

Re: Rebalancing Storage on a Scale Out Repository

Veeam Logoby DonZoomik » Wed Oct 18, 2017 9:18 am

I can't find the topic but it was mentioned a while back that you can manually move files and then rescan repository so Veeam would register the move.
DonZoomik
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 25
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2016 1:56 pm

Re: Relocate Single Active Full on SOBR

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Oct 18, 2017 11:41 am

Manual files' relocation followed by repository rescan should be sufficient in this case. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13558
Liked: 1006 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Relocate Single Active Full on SOBR

Veeam Logoby rogerdu » Wed Oct 18, 2017 12:25 pm

Feature request!!
rogerdu
Expert
 
Posts: 111
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 1:16 pm
Full Name: Roger Dufour

Re: Relocate Single Active Full on SOBR

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Oct 18, 2017 1:56 pm

Migrate backup data from extent X, as soon as it gets filed up to certain threshold? If so, this feature is already on our radar. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13558
Liked: 1006 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 29 guests