Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
nunciate
Expert
Posts: 183
Liked: 25 times
Joined: May 21, 2013 9:08 pm
Full Name: Alan Wells
Contact:

Relocate Single Active Full on SOBR

Post by nunciate » Jun 27, 2016 2:05 pm

I have searched around but have not found the exact process for this so I figured I would post and ask.

I have a Scale-Out Repository with 5 drives in it. 2 of the drives are getting pretty full while one of them has over 10Tb free.
I want to selectively move some full backups from the almost full extents to the one with 10Tb free.

What is the process for this? The scale out is set for Performance Policy with All extents allowing all backup types and I am using Per-VM Backups.
So on my backup jobs will have the VBKs on one extent and the VIBs on another.

I don't want to evacuate the entire extent that is getting full. I just want to move some things around to balance all extents out a bit more.
Can I simply move the folder with the VBK from one to the other extent and then do a Re-scan Repository or do I need to remove the backup from the configuration and re-map it within the job?

Can someone provide the exact steps for this. Might I suggest this become a KB article, FAQ or something we can search for on the main support site?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22968
Liked: 1555 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Relocate Single Active Full on SOBR

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jun 27, 2016 5:12 pm

nunciate wrote:Can I simply move the folder with the VBK from one to the other extent and then do a Re-scan Repository
These steps should be sufficient according to our QC team.

nunciate
Expert
Posts: 183
Liked: 25 times
Joined: May 21, 2013 9:08 pm
Full Name: Alan Wells
Contact:

Re: Relocate Single Active Full on SOBR

Post by nunciate » Jun 27, 2016 5:15 pm

Great I will give it a try.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22968
Liked: 1555 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Relocate Single Active Full on SOBR

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jun 27, 2016 5:31 pm

Please post back the results for our future readers. Thanks!

nunciate
Expert
Posts: 183
Liked: 25 times
Joined: May 21, 2013 9:08 pm
Full Name: Alan Wells
Contact:

Re: Relocate Single Active Full on SOBR

Post by nunciate » Jun 28, 2016 1:59 pm 1 person likes this post

I can confirm that this did, in fact, work as expected.

I had a 3Tb VBK on the full extent and the same job had about 400Gb of VRB files on the destination extent.
I disabled the backup job.
I renamed the folder with the VBK temporarily and robocopied it over to the destination extent.
Once completed I deleted the folder off of the full extent
I then robocopied the folder with the VRB files from the destination extent over to the other extent just so I can keep them separated like they were.
I renamed the folder with the VBK file back to it's original name and performed a Re-Scan on the Scale-Out Repository.
The job stated that changes were detected and updated the job. I then pulled the properties of the disk backups for the job and all of the files showed the new locations.
I ran an incremental backup which ran successfully and copied the incremental data to the correct/new location.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22968
Liked: 1555 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Relocate Single Active Full on SOBR

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jun 28, 2016 2:33 pm

Thanks for the update!

fraack
Veeam Vanguard
Posts: 47
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Sep 24, 2014 7:44 am
Full Name: Florian Raack
Contact:

[MERGED] rebalance chains between SOBR extends

Post by fraack » Jan 23, 2017 5:13 pm

Hi Folks,

last week we installed a second repository for one of my customers. Both repsoitories are standalone servers with local disks. We created a SOBR to extend the existing capicity. Since we ran every backup job several months before implemeting the new repository all backup chains are created at our first extend. SOBR runs with per VM backup chain and data locality policy. Is there any way or simple workaround to rebalance some of the existing backup chains to the new extend. I do not want to run into a full repsoitory and aditionally take advantage of the extend performance.

Does any of you have some experience with this topic? I thought to evacuate some chains manually and map the jobs to the new repo. Or to set the existing extend to maintanence mode, evacuate the data and interrupt this procedure after a couple of hours. But may some of you know a smoother way.

Thank you

Florian

DaStivi
Service Provider
Posts: 118
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Jun 30, 2015 9:13 am
Full Name: Stephan Lang
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: rebalance chains between SOBR extends

Post by DaStivi » Jan 23, 2017 7:55 pm

Hallo Florian,
i would simply try to move the files with windows explorer and do a rescan on the backup repositories and than on the sobr repo itself..
when using refs than its something more difficult...

lg

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18242
Liked: 1557 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Relocate Single Active Full on SOBR

Post by foggy » Jan 24, 2017 4:34 pm

Stephan is spot on, moving files around with subsequent rescan should work.

rogerdu
Expert
Posts: 144
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Aug 20, 2013 1:16 pm
Full Name: Roger Dufour
Contact:

[MERGED] Rebalancing Storage on a Scale Out Repository

Post by rogerdu » Oct 17, 2017 2:46 pm

Is it possible to re-balance the extent usage on a Scale Out Repository? of 3 extents, I have one that only has 1.5TB, one that has .8TB and one that has 9.5 TB free...

Suggestions?

DonZoomik
Expert
Posts: 126
Liked: 32 times
Joined: Nov 25, 2016 1:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Rebalancing Storage on a Scale Out Repository

Post by DonZoomik » Oct 18, 2017 9:18 am

I can't find the topic but it was mentioned a while back that you can manually move files and then rescan repository so Veeam would register the move.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16867
Liked: 1429 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Relocate Single Active Full on SOBR

Post by veremin » Oct 18, 2017 11:41 am

Manual files' relocation followed by repository rescan should be sufficient in this case. Thanks.

rogerdu
Expert
Posts: 144
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Aug 20, 2013 1:16 pm
Full Name: Roger Dufour
Contact:

Re: Relocate Single Active Full on SOBR

Post by rogerdu » Oct 18, 2017 12:25 pm 1 person likes this post

Feature request!!

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16867
Liked: 1429 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Relocate Single Active Full on SOBR

Post by veremin » Oct 18, 2017 1:56 pm

Migrate backup data from extent X, as soon as it gets filed up to certain threshold? If so, this feature is already on our radar. Thanks.

mkretzer
Expert
Posts: 553
Liked: 124 times
Joined: Dec 17, 2015 7:17 am
Contact:

Re: Relocate Single Active Full on SOBR

Post by mkretzer » Nov 11, 2018 7:45 am

What about the backup metadata? All our repos have files from every backup job and so if we would just move the folder from one to the other scale out extend we would at least have a duplicated vbm file. So should we just leave the vbm, overwrite the vbm or delete both vbm (as we would do with corrupted metadata)

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18242
Liked: 1557 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Relocate Single Active Full on SOBR

Post by foggy » Nov 12, 2018 5:50 pm 1 person likes this post

Metadata for the entire job chain is stored on every extent where there's a part of the chain, so you can leave it or overwrite it, it doesn't matter.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Brad.linch, lmbutault and 53 guests