Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
dennes
Influencer
Posts: 17
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 09, 2009 6:45 am
Contact:

Replication to remote DC

Post by dennes » Dec 16, 2009 10:53 am

Hi,
Am i correct in assuming Veaam can only replicate to another Veeam setup? I'm looking for a way to replicate/backup my current setup (about 600GB worth of VM's) with daily .vrb files of about 12GB over a 10Mbit fiber link to a device (NAS) located in a remote datacenter. This NAS is basically a Linux box, but does not run Veeam ofcourse.

What woule be the ideal or most stable setup to be able to backup to this DC over this link, taking in to account that we can use the full 10Mbit only at night (or i could dedicate eg. 5Mbit at all time and let it run as long as it needs) and thus making sure i have a relatively recent backup (not older than 2 days) offiste.

Dennes

cyburdine
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 07, 2009 7:35 pm
Full Name: Justin burdine
Contact:

Re: Replication to remote DC

Post by cyburdine » Dec 16, 2009 9:52 pm

If I understand right, you can backup to a linux box over the network. I believe it uses scp/ssh/sftp (one of those). Add the server, enter the credentials then you can copy to your hearts content.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24940
Liked: 3622 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Replication to remote DC

Post by Gostev » Dec 16, 2009 11:39 pm

Dennes, you do not need Veeam setup on the target side.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 20 guests