Running Status not accurately reflected

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Running Status not accurately reflected

Veeam Logoby sbk » Fri Jan 05, 2018 12:20 pm

Running on Veeam 9.5u3
Case # 02454216

All my Replication jobs show a status of “99% completed”, even though they are not actually at 99% completed. If you select the running job and look at the status in the detail window at the bottom of the screen, it shows its actual status.
I know there has been a bug where you have to manually refresh the screen in order to get an accurate idea of what’s actually running vs. what the screen is saying but this is different. I would also like to note that I am surprised the refresh bug wasn’t addressed in 9.5u3.
Anyone else come across this issue?
sbk
Influencer
 
Posts: 11
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2017 2:03 pm
Full Name: Shawn Krawczyk

Re: Running Status not accurately reflected

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Jan 05, 2018 2:09 pm

Hi Shawn,

Do you possibly have Veeam ONE deployed to compare the jobs states? Just trying to narrow down the issue either to the GUI or wrong status in the database.

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 20360
Liked: 1179 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Running Status not accurately reflected

Veeam Logoby sbk » Mon Jan 08, 2018 2:56 pm

I do have an instance of Veeam ONE running, but I cannot see the running percent completed via. Veeam ONE (not sure if I am supposed to be able too). I can just see that the jobs is running, and the duration / transferred data, etc.
Another noteworthy item is that this only seems to be an issue on the replication jobs. The normal backup to disk jobs report an accurate percentage as expected
sbk
Influencer
 
Posts: 11
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2017 2:03 pm
Full Name: Shawn Krawczyk

Re: Running Status not accurately reflected

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Jan 08, 2018 3:22 pm

Hi Shawn, have you demonstrated this behavior to our support engineers?
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15621
Liked: 1164 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Running Status not accurately reflected

Veeam Logoby sbk » Mon Jan 08, 2018 3:35 pm

Not yet, I provided some logs over the weekend, expecting a follow-up today.
sbk
Influencer
 
Posts: 11
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2017 2:03 pm
Full Name: Shawn Krawczyk

Re: Running Status not accurately reflected

Veeam Logoby sbk » Tue Jan 09, 2018 12:37 pm 1 person likes this post

I am still working with support but essentially it sounds like this is a well known bug that is in the works to be fixed in version 10.
Official response:
"After researching further this appears to be a known issue when sourcing a replica or backup copy from a restore point created by backup from storage snapshot.
Essentially in 9.5 it was changed how the size of the job is calculated; from the restore point rather than the infrastructure. This gives a boost in job performance.
In cases of a backup object created by storage snapshot, the information for "total size" is not included in the restore point's auxiliary data stored by Veeam.
With no data on the total size, the job progress calculation jumps straight to 99% and stays that way to the very end of the job."

My issue with this is that the actual job percentage is being displayed correctly in the job details, you just have to highlight/click each running job to see that detail. So the information IS available, seems like the job status is simply not pulling from the correct location. We typically have 20+ replications running at any given moment so this "bug" makes it difficult to keep track of progress at a glance. At the end of the day this is all the result of upgrading to Enterprise plus as we wanted to utilize the Nimble / Veeam snapshot integration.
sbk
Influencer
 
Posts: 11
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2017 2:03 pm
Full Name: Shawn Krawczyk

Re: Running Status not accurately reflected

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Jan 09, 2018 1:39 pm

Thanks for the update, Shawn, much appreciated.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15621
Liked: 1164 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Running Status not accurately reflected

Veeam Logoby sbk » Mon Jan 22, 2018 11:41 am

Just wanted to provide a follow-up to this post.
Working with Veeam Support, they were able to create a hot-fix that has resolved the issue. The percentage is now updating as expected!
sbk
Influencer
 
Posts: 11
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2017 2:03 pm
Full Name: Shawn Krawczyk


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], hamidou.garba, KevinJ and 1 guest