Availability for the Always-On Enterprise
Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
Posts: 3039
Liked: 535 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: @AndyandtheVMs Veeam PM
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: SAP B1 HANA Support?

Post by Andreas Neufert » Mar 15, 2017 8:59 am

Based on
http://help-legacy.sap.com/saphelp_hana ... ontent.htm
you can add "COMPLETE" to the backup catalog delete command to do this.

PURGESQL1="BACKUP CATALOG DELETE ALL BEFORE BACKUP_ID COMPLETE"


BTW. the newest version can be found at github. If you want to participate and add ideas to the script you are welcome.

tdewin
Veeam Software
Posts: 1344
Liked: 443 times
Joined: Mar 02, 2012 1:40 pm
Full Name: Timothy Dewin
Contact:

Re: SAP B1 HANA Support?

Post by tdewin » Mar 15, 2017 9:01 am

Andreas Neufert wrote: BTW. the newest version can be found at github. If you want to participate and add ideas to the script you are welcome.
would be here : https://github.com/VeeamHub/application ... r/sap-hana

Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
Posts: 3039
Liked: 535 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: @AndyandtheVMs Veeam PM
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: SAP B1 HANA Support?

Post by Andreas Neufert » Mar 15, 2017 9:02 am

thanks Timothy I missed to add the link.

PKaufmann
Enthusiast
Posts: 31
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Oct 05, 2016 8:00 am
Contact:

Re: SAP B1 HANA Support?

Post by PKaufmann » Nov 09, 2017 6:49 pm

Hey everyone,

I was just informed that my company is planning to upgrade to HANA 2.0 SPS2

My colleague told me that with HANA 2.0 there is no single-tenant system anymore, all HANA 2.0 Systems are multi-tenant..

As multi-tenant was not supported for storage/vmware snapshots with version 1.0 SPS12 or above,
I am not sure if this script will still work with Hana 2.0 ..

my colleague is setting up a HANA 2.0 test-system, soon, but maybe someone has already some experience with it?

Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
Posts: 3039
Liked: 535 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: @AndyandtheVMs Veeam PM
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: SAP B1 HANA Support?

Post by Andreas Neufert » Nov 09, 2017 7:02 pm

Yes, SAP change even single databases to a multi-tenant system.
Anyway SAP support a single DB per server muti-tenant database for snapshot processing.
Please check the VeeamHub for latest script (above link)

PKaufmann
Enthusiast
Posts: 31
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Oct 05, 2016 8:00 am
Contact:

Re: SAP B1 HANA Support?

Post by PKaufmann » Nov 09, 2017 8:37 pm

thanks for the reply..

checked the link above but everything seems to be a year old or something.
Do I have the current link ?
https://github.com/VeeamHub/application ... r/sap-hana

tsightler
Veeam Software
Posts: 5211
Liked: 2088 times
Joined: Jun 05, 2009 12:57 pm
Full Name: Tom Sightler
Contact:

Re: SAP B1 HANA Support?

Post by tsightler » Nov 09, 2017 9:57 pm

Sorry, I was still squashing bugs in the new version. I'll push it out right now.

tsightler
Veeam Software
Posts: 5211
Liked: 2088 times
Joined: Jun 05, 2009 12:57 pm
Full Name: Tom Sightler
Contact:

Re: SAP B1 HANA Support?

Post by tsightler » Nov 09, 2017 10:17 pm 3 people like this post

OK, new version is pushed. This version has a lot of changes/enhancements from the previous script, including debug/test mode, the ability to use an external configuration file (default in /etc/veeam/hana.conf) which allows you to keep different configs on each server yet use the same script on the Veeam server (also makes script upgrades easier). The script also automatically detects the HANA version and attempts to "do the right thing" for HANA 2.0 SP1 and later. It's been tested by a few customers with a number of HANA instances, but certainly interested in more feedback.

One important note, snapshot backups are still only supported in the case where there is a single tenant, even on multi-tenant databases so, while every databases is technically multi-tenant, only a single tenant is allowed if you want to backup that instance with Veeam.

PKaufmann
Enthusiast
Posts: 31
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Oct 05, 2016 8:00 am
Contact:

Re: SAP B1 HANA Support?

Post by PKaufmann » Nov 10, 2017 12:59 am

big thanks, got it! :)

russell01
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 9
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Oct 28, 2016 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: SAP B1 HANA Support?

Post by russell01 » Dec 13, 2017 10:55 am

Hi TSightler / Veeam,

Can you confirm if this script works correctly in SAP HANA 2.0 SP02?

In this version the SYSTEM Database and HANA Instance Database are split, so you technically have two separate SAP HANA tenant databases to "Backup / Pause / Resume".

Since this is the enforced design in all SAP HANA versions going forward this is critical to support.

Regards,

Russell Wilson

tsightler
Veeam Software
Posts: 5211
Liked: 2088 times
Joined: Jun 05, 2009 12:57 pm
Full Name: Tom Sightler
Contact:

Re: SAP B1 HANA Support?

Post by tsightler » Dec 13, 2017 3:18 pm 1 person likes this post

SAP HANA 2.0 SP02 is supported by the current versions of the script and has been tested, however, it only works in the case where there is a single tenant database, i.e. the SYSTEM database plus a single HANA instance database. If you have more than one tenant database as part of that instance, snapshot backups are not supported by SAP.

The script automatically detects HANA version 2.0 SP01 and higher and makes the correct adjustments to connect to the SYSTEMDB and to include the "FOR FULL SYSTEM" string as part of the snapshot command. This instructs HANA to snap not just the SYSTEM database but the tenant database as well:

https://help.sap.com/viewer/4fe29514fd5 ... 5a4a2.html

The version detection is performed automatically so that systems with a mix of both 1.2 and 2.0 will still "just work". If you decide to use keystore based authentication, be sure to read the comments in the script carefully as you must explicitly specify the user is for the SYSTEMDB and also use a different port number. There is an example command in the comments.

Much thanks to the users who have tested these new versions of the scripts and helped me to flush out various bugs. I believe the scripts is working very well at this point, but feel free to report any issues and I'm happy to pursue them. I just squashed several more bugs last week due to user reports. Github always holds the most current, tested version.

russell01
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 9
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Oct 28, 2016 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: SAP B1 HANA Support?

Post by russell01 » Dec 13, 2017 3:38 pm

Thanks for the confirmation, i will implement this on our test systems and let you know if i have any issues! Do you know if this will be included in Veeam B&R 10?

Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
Posts: 3039
Liked: 535 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: @AndyandtheVMs Veeam PM
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: SAP B1 HANA Support?

Post by Andreas Neufert » Dec 13, 2017 4:05 pm

It is a common feature request and we are looking into this topic overall. We can not comment by design of our release process about any timeline.

kris2fe
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jan 26, 2018 10:17 am
Full Name: Christophe LAMAMY
Contact:

[MERGED] Support of SAP HANA

Post by kris2fe » Jan 26, 2018 10:31 am 1 person likes this post

Hello !!
Do you have a roadmap for SAP HANA support on Veeam ?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17116
Liked: 1399 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: SAP B1 HANA Support?

Post by foggy » Jan 26, 2018 11:45 am 1 person likes this post

Hi Christophe, we do not have a roadmap to share, but this request is on our table. Thanks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 17 guests